TravelerReviews

China, the Yangtze River & Hong Kong

review_img

Joanm1126

Great adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

This was a most comprehensive tour of China. The sites visited and tour guides were excellent. The tour director was beyond excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

Terra-cotta warriors.

review_img

june

China, Yangzi River & Hong Kong- September 2018

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

This trip was fantastic. The weather was great no smog at all, the tour guide was the best I ever had. (This is my 8th Tauck trip) and fellow travelers all got along in great harmony. There is a lot of walking and climbing but no pressure to rush. I did throw away a pair of shoes there as I wore them out. So glad I made this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to pick just one. From the Great Wall to the Terra Cotta Warriors to the events on the Yangtze River, to Panda Bears, shopping and the many sights I encountered. Mainland China is clean and the people friendly. Hong Kong hotel memorable. Food was delicious everywhere. Our Tauck Director made this trip fantastic from start to finish! Thank you all!

review_img

Paul Vandette

Very Diverse China

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

A wide ranging trip covering the very ancient to the very modern, rural landscapes to ultra-modern cities.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking the Great Wall.

review_img

Carlicher

Amazing Trip. Far exceeded expectations.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Amazing trip that far exceeded our very high expectations (we have traveled with Tauck before so we knew it was going to be special). We had an excellent tour director, who was well-organized, informed, and has great knowledge of all the little things that make the tour even more special.

Most Memorable Moment:

Show excursion from Yangtze Explorer was beyond words.....truly truly special show directed by director of Beijing Olympics Opening Ceremony. Terra Cotta warriors, Yangtze explorer and the Gorges, and Shanghai were phenomenal.

review_img

JohnGraf

China, Yahtze River, Hong Kong

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Great experience. Also very informative. Shanghai and Hong Kong were beautiful and much to see but not nearly enough time there wish we had spent less time on the Yangtze and more at these cities. Our tour director was also great and took very good care to keep us aware of what was safe to do on our free time. Also very much enjoyed Epi she had a

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring Shanghai and also the evening show we saw while on the Yangtze River. The steps there to get to the show were great exercise and invigorating but some of the guest weren't up for the challenge and didn't get to see it. I think they really missed out.

review_img

Susan J

This really was our best trip ever!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

We truly had a fantastic time on this trip!! The overall itinerary was incredible. Wonderful hotels, wonderful country & the people of China were absolutely charming & so friendly. We always felt extremely safe in China, too. Our tour director was beyond exceptional!!! Extremely knowledgeable & so funny!! He was absolutely amazing!!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many - The Great Wall of China, Terra Cotta Soldiers, the Li River & surrounding countryside, exploring a local market.

review_img

DavidDolan

China, the Yangtze River and Hong Kong

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Succinctly, the terms “superb”, “flawless”, “perfectly executed”, and “outstanding attention to detail” come to mind in describing our first Tauck tour. The very comprehensive, but not overwheliming, itinerary provided a wonderful in-depth appreciation of Chinese culture while still enabling quality interaction with our terrific fellow Tauckers.

Most Memorable Moment:

Shanghai’s visit was truly extraordinary! From the tour of the Old Town Gardens to the fabulous lunch & dinner in exquisite restaurants to the most picturesque The Bund to the incredible acrobatic show to our luxurious Fairmont Peace hotel to the 2 great Shanghai museums and city tour with panoramic observation deck to the terrific local guide!

review_img

RichardSeigel

Review of China

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Fantastic itinerary. Fantastic Tour Manager. A great group of people and the locations exceeded our expectations. Wish it could be done with less flights, but we were able to cover a very big country. I would add one more day in Hong Kong.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to isolate one.

review_img

LAJ

China, Yangtze River, Hong Kong

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

This was a fabulous trip-we had a great group and Les is an excellent Director. The trip was well organized (5 internal flights) in order to visit important cultural sites, natural wonders and see day to day life. A great mix of urban and rural. High marks on a quality itinerary. We feel we really got an excellent overview of China.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too difficult to choose one-Terra Cotta Warriors in XI'an were amazing. Acrobat show in Shanghai. Hong Kong is beautiful. China is a complex and fascinating country, very ancient and also high tech. We had many unexpected experiences, truly a path less traveled...

review_img

WFM

Great Tour of China

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

This tour of China did not disappoint. It was our 7th Tauck Tour and we think it was the best of the best. We saw so many amazing things in just a few weeks - could not have happened without Tauck and Les our great tour director. China is an amazing country which is routinely overwhelming. They will be a superpower soon if not now.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tough choice between the acrobats in Shanghai and the Terra Cotta warriors in Xian

review_img

Susanandfreddy

Incredible China

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Incredible experience from start to finish. Tour guide was exceptional. Can't think of a suggestion for improvement.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to decide, but probably going to Guilin ("smaller" city) which was very different from the huge cities like Beijing, Xi'an, Shanghai and Hong Kong.

review_img

Judi Ciasulli

Wonderful China trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

I had been nervous about this trip on many levels. My husband and I always have traveled independently. Turns out all my worries were unfounded. The tour Directior was very good, as were the local guides. The itinerary was comprehensive, pace was very good, hotels were excellent. Only suggestion - more time in Shanghai museum.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to Terracotta Warriors.

review_img

Bill in NC

Strongly recommended

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Sometimes physically challenging, but well worth it. At the farewell dinner, several people got quite emotional in their effusive praise of the experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Yangtze river cruise. Bring your binoculars!

review_img

Aaron from TX

Good Introduction to China

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

The tour director was well-organized and managed the local guides really well. My only disappointment was that only 1.5 hours was allocated for the Great Wall of China, even though I could have spent all day hiking it. The dinners provided thorough samples of Chinese cuisine but were sometimes very long and tiring, exceeding 2 hours.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Hutong ride in Beijing and the balmy sunny weather during the transfer to my international flight home made me contemplate the charms of possibly living in Asia.

review_img

Sandra S

China - Highlights and More

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

My husband and I very much appreciated how seamless the entire travel experience in China was; from taking care of our luggage, trouble free check in to our hotels and of course visiting the tourist sites without having to wait in lines. We enjoyed the local guides at each location sharing stories of their lives and experiences in China.

Most Memorable Moment:

I enjoyed visiting the city of Guilin, River Li and the "Gumdrop mountains." I also enjoyed the antics of the juvenile pandas at the Chongqing zoo. And of course, the massiveness of China really resonates when you are visiting very large cities with thousands of high rise buildings. The Great Wall and Terra Cotta Soldiers were impressive.

review_img

Cary Lichtenstein

China-very disappointing

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

I've been a big fan of Tauck. I believe this was our 6th trip, the best so far was Eastern Europe and the only disappointing one up to now was South America. Well, I hated China for a lot of reasons. First, I thought our tour director was very weak, disorganized, disinterested and unqualified. I say that because I wanted to learn about China and

Most Memorable Moment:

the tour guides speak so fast, their verbals presentations rambled all over the place, they were hard to understand and they told us a bunch of stupid personal stuff. Our first visit to Tinamen Square was awful. From 9 am till 11:30 we walked 6 miles in the heat, with the tour guide rambling in and out. I'm 74 and walking 6 miles I was not forewarn

review_img

Marianne Bruni

China The Yangtse & Hong Kong Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

An amazing insight into the history, government, economy & culture of China mixing the large experiences - Great Wall/Terra Cotta Army/Tiananmen Sq with the small - Rickshaw ride/Tai Chi lesson/Sampan cruise. Tauck's directors & local guides make it easy to navigate the country's tours,exhibits, airports & hotels.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is impossible to describe the awe of the Terracotta Army in situ at the underground archeological site near Xi'an. The ride on the Shanghai Maglev Train is a technologically exhilarating experience.

review_img

Tim G

A 10 out of 10! An amazing trip.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Our tour director was absolutely wonderful; a great sense of humor, very knowledgeable, and very attentive to guest needs and requests. The itinerary was amazing. For us, the highlights were the Great Wall, the Terracotta Warriors, Tiananmen Square, and the Forbidden City. Also among the highlights was a surprise gem: Guilin.

Most Memorable Moment:

For me, the hike on the Great Wall and the stroll through Tiananmen Square were the most memorable moments. There is so much history in both sites.

review_img

Happy Travelers

China, Yangtze River, and Hong Kong

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This was a fantastic trip. The tour guide was excellent. He was very knowledgeable and had a terrific sense of humor. He did so much for everyone and made the trip so enjoyable. We covered so much ground and saw so much-the Great Wall of China, the terra cotta warriors, the Yangtze Explorer, the hotels were fantastic.

Most Memorable Moment:

That's hard to find the most memorable moment-the entire trip was filled with so many activities, but seeing the terra cotta warriors was breathtaking. The Great Wall of China was also unbelievable to think we were actually climbing such a masterpiece.

review_img

jeff weiss

China East

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Wonderful trip from the moment we arrived in Beijing. Organization was fantastic. All the sites we visited were well organized Our Tauck Director made the trip the best it could possibly be. He is tremendously knowledgeable about China sites and the people He also has a great sense of humor - The local guides used were wonderful and added much

Most Memorable Moment:

Shanghai most memorable The Yangtze cruise was great, however, seemed a lot of our group caught a cough on the cruise. The rooms were a little musty. I felt that too much time was spent for lunch. I understand that some people need three meals a day, but not everyone. I would have preferred touring more and eating less

review_img

SWR

China & Hong Kong

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Outstanding hotels and meals. Excursions and activities that other groups do not experience. Yangtze, Li, and Pearl Rivers fascinating. Every local guide was excellent. We have traveled with Oceania, Holland, Viking, OAT, and independent small groups. Our Tauck Director was the best tour director ever encountered.

Most Memorable Moment:

Great Wall, Terra Cota soldiers, Pandas, river watching- cannot decide.

review_img

BRIEF

The China trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

This was our second Tauck trip, following immediately the Japan tour. The itinerary was very well chosen. It combined the urban centers of the new China, historic sites, and beautiful nature spots. Lodgings, meals, staff support were excellent. The group was congenial. Great experience!

Most Memorable Moment:

The row boat trip on the Yang Tse tributary followed next day by arrival to majestic Shanghai.

review_img

Arlyss Burkett

Good Way to See China, the Yangtze River & Hong Kong

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

Wonderful experience. To see seven cities required air travel, which consumed most of those days. Traveling on Boeing or AirBus planes, I felt safe in this developing country. Tauck-selected restaurants had high sanitary standards and great chefs. Enjoyed the sight seeing and cruise in this exotic land, thanks to our well-informed tour guides.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cruising down the Li River with its limestone mountains formed into unusual shapes and covered by mist and floating clouds was more beautiful and exotic than any history book ever conveyed and offered a spiritual moment in time.

review_img

mlgibbons

So Much History; So Many Smiles

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

We returned from the Yangtze & Hong Kong-Eastbound tour on November 5, and we're still pinching ourselves. We can't believe all the sites and experiences we shared in just 16 days with 20 wonderful people and newfound friends. Our tour director was fabulous and the local guides were awesome. All with Tauck's unequaled, first-class touches.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many....the Great Wall framed by the fall foliage, the trike-shaw ride through the hutong neighborhood, the beautiful Li River, the amazing light shows at night on the buildings and bridges throughout the country. Perhaps the most heartwarming was our encounter with young school children at the zoo who were so eager to practice their English.

review_img

MQuack

Great Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful time on this Tauck trip. It certainly was not a 'vacation', as it has many days up early and home late! But, we saw all of the wonders in China that we had hoped to see. We climbed the Great Wall and marveled at the Terra Cotta warriors. We traveled through some fascinating countrysides and saw some of the farm

Most Memorable Moment:

The Terra Cotta Warriors!

review_img

aqua

Do Not Travel to China the First Week in October

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

I have to say, that I'm beyond upset that neither our travel agent or Tauck bothered to tell us that the first week of October was a national holiday. During this week the Chinese people gather from all over and travel to all the historic sites that you'll be visiting. The amount of people pushing and shoveling was unbelievable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved Shanghai, the Three Gorges, Guilin, The Great Wall & The Terra Cotta Warriors

review_img

PegKay

Wonderful adventure!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

We had a fabulous trip! Our tour director was instrumental in making the tour seamless and fun. Our small group was great, the Waldorf Astorias in Beijing and especially the one in Shanghai with the fabulous view from our room were stunning. Yangtze Explorer tired, but great staff. The Eastbound pace was perfect. China was amazing beyond words!

Most Memorable Moment:

SO many! The Great Wall, Terracotta Army, Forbidden City, pandas at the zoo, kindergarten tour in Fengdu, our fun tai chi lesson, and beautiful Shanghai were top of the list. Also ALL of our interactions with the Chinese people, and especially the children with their proud parents and grandparents.

review_img

soun80

Excellent and Well Paced Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

What an excellent tour! The places and monuments we saw were so great and awe inspiring that I still couldn't believe that I saw them all in one tour. Our tour director and our local tour guides are what made this tour even more unforgettable for me. I wish I can go again!

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to count, but our tour director and our local tour guides are what I remember most from the trip. They gave such good insights into the places and things we saw while in China. They also gave good insights into the life of Chinese citizens in the cities we visited.

review_img

Spotter

China , the Yangtze River & Hong Kong

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

What an amazing experience! l. Every day had a WOW factor that took our breath away. Our Tour Director made a potentially complex travel experience (had we tried to do it alone) run so smoothly we were able to enjoy every minute. She helped us celebrate our 50th anniversary in grand style with so many special surprises. Heartfelt thanks!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were too many incredible moments that we will cherish for years to come that it is impossible to choose just one.

review_img

pjh1

A once in a lifetime trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

This was my first trip with Tauck. I went solo. Made lifelong friends! Now spoiled and won't travel with anyone else! Comprehensive educational trip and so fun! These people know how to travel!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hmmmm....terra-cotta warriors and the PANDA's!

review_img

JannEllen

Wonderful Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Our Tauck trip to China was wonderful. Our tour guide was the best tour guide we have had. We have been on many Tauck Tours. The trip was fascinating and went off without a hitch. Tauck made sure we saw everything important to see in China and the pace was perfect. The hotels we stayed in were out of this world and the food was exquisite

Most Memorable Moment:

We had so many memorable moments. Each city and site we went to will always be in our memories. Thank you Tauck!

review_img

fred1102

Fabulous comprehensive trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

We returned 2 weeks ago from the westbound China trip. This was our 9th trip with Tauck. It was excellent in every respect. Our tour director was as good as we have ever had. The itinerary was very comprehensive. A few early morning starts that got us to sightseeing before any crowds. I would highly recommend this trip. Tauck is the best.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to mention any single thing. The entire trip was filled with memorable moments.

review_img

welander

Trip of a lifetime-China, the Yangtze River & Hong Kong - Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

A very active, informative and fun trip ! We learned more about China than we ever dreamed. Our Tour Director was the absolute best. Every detail was covered and every possible stressful situation resolved. The very best accommodations and food were provided. It is a real journey with 5 flights inside China. Take this trip !

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything we wanted to see was seen.

review_img

Greenwood

China and Hong Kong

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Wonderful trip, everything we expected and more. Only negatives was the weather was warmer and rainier than we anticipated. Also two of the in-country flights were significantly delayed which impacted planned sight seeing. The tour guide did an excellent job of adjusting the schedule to compensate. Surprised only 9 on the tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

The great wall of China, terra cotta warriors and the city of Shanghai. Excellent hotels, local guides and good variety of food. Tauck tour guide was excellent. Wish we had more time to tour Shanghai on our own.

review_img

travelpold

China 6/2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Fantastic trip! Ended up with only 9 guests which made it almost a private tour. The Tauck Director did an outstanding job. Local guides were great. Hotels were top of the line and in the best locations. Can't beat the Waldorf in Shanghai. We highly recommend this tour. You can do China for less money, but you get what you pay for.

Most Memorable Moment:

Great Wall and Terra Cotta Warriors

TAUCK RESPONSE

thank you so much for taking the time to write a Trip Review. At Tauck we believe in always providing our guests with the best possible value, and we are glad you feel that you got that value! We look forward to hosting you on another Tauck journey.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Allan Watson

China on Fast Forward

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

It was a great trip and we are glad that we did it. Accommodations were outstanding. Dinning arrangements were excellent. Pace is brutal with many very early risings due to timing of luggage pick up in your room. Needed more time in Shanghai (bad weather, cancelled flight) and Hong Kong. Yangtze Explorer needs to be replaced.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Terra Cotta soldiers in Xi'an were worth the trip.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your comments. I have shared them with our Operations team who is always striving to improve and enhance our tours. Thank you for travelling with Tauck, and we hope you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

paulabo

Our first Tauck Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Overall the trip was very enjoyable. The Tour Director was superb and is a real asset to Tauck. She handled unexpected changes calmly and professionally. This is our first Tauck tour and indeed only our second organized tour of any kind.We felt it was as well done as could be expected although missed individual travel experiences.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Great Wall and the Terra Cotta Warriors. Almost surreal when first seeing both. Right behind these is the visit to an artist home in Beijing as part of the hutong venture.

review_img

AHeltsley

China and the Yangtze River -- Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

The trip exceeded our expectations. The itinerary hit the highlights such as the Great Wall, Terra Cotta warriors, Guilin, Forbidden City, and also included memorable visits to a tea plantation, the museum outside the airport in Xian, the kindergarten and more. Loved it all. Excellent tour guides, great hotels (Waldorf Astoria the favorite).

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to list--loved first sighting of the Great Wall. Visited Mutianyu on our own, and it was great to compare it with Badaling. Amazing Terra Cotta warriors. Really loved Li river cruise, and nighttime cruise when we watched cormorants fishing. Inspired by retirees who gather regularly at the park to sing, practice Tai Chi and have fun.

review_img

RafaelAlfonso

An Unforgettable Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

Tauck has this trip very well balanced! We got to see SO MUCH of China and yet it was always relaxed and well paced. The only way to go.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the pandas just a few feet away.

review_img

NPauly

Great Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

The China, the Yangtze River & Hong Kong – Eastbound tour was an eye-opening experience. Each local guide gave her personal interpretation of the history and culture of her region. The lodging and dining were topnotch. Our tour director brought it all together. Another GOLD in Goldilocks Tauck tour – not too much, not too little, just right.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too numerous to mention. The Great Wall, the relocated village tour, and the Shanghai acrobats stood out.

review_img

Trip Talk-Jim

A Fascinating Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Our trip to China (China, Yangtze & Hong Kong-East)was a truly fascinating experience. It gave us an inside basic understanding of China and its cultural, social, political, and economic character. The excursion to five cities, and our cruise on the Yantgze with our excellent tour director and well informed local guides was amazing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking on the Great Wall was the most memorable moment. The Great Wall is an incredible example of human accomplishment.

review_img

Steve

China - Exceptional and Memorable

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Tauck did a fantastic jog with this trip. It was led by the incomparable tour director, who was knowledgeable, energetic, witty and willing to do anything to please the group. The city guides were also great. There were five flights in China and Tauck made it easy, especially with the luggage (and don't worry about the 44 lb. limit). What a trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Every day was special, but there were some moments that stood out: incredible breakfast buffets; excellent hotels with amazing views in the most desirable areas; Chinese foot massage; Chinese acrobat show with front row seats; the bullet train to Shanghai's airport; the Trishaw ride; Panda Bears at the zoo; Terra Cotta Warriors; and Shanghai views.

review_img

Diana Sue

An Amazing Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Traveling through China was a most amazing experience both in terms of actually climbing The Great Wall and seeing the Terra Cotta Warriors and as an opportunity to learn about this fast-changing country. We are very glad we went Eastbound, with the crowds, traffic and squat toilets of Beijing & Xi'an moving to the comfort of Shanghai & Hong Kong.

Most Memorable Moment:

The beauty and calm of the Li River. It was a welcome relief after the hustle and bustle of Beijing, Xi'an and Guilin to hear birds and crickets, and see the "old" rural China that is fast disappearing.

review_img

Irenen

Another Tauck success

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We recently returned from the China,the Yangtze River & Hong Kong Eastbound trip. Our Tour Director, Annie, made everything seamless, and made sure that all we had to think about was our own enjoyment. The small group of 19 bonded beautifully and it was like being on holiday with close friends. Tauck always comes up trumps.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to mention but the Terracotta warriors and the Shanghai acrobats stand out. Not to mention the computerised toilets at the Waldorf Astoria hotels. I miss the warmed seats and automatic flush and dry.

review_img

Ken from Vegas

Another Wonderful Tauck Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Awesome trip - our 6th. A varied and fascinating experience put into clear perspective by our Tauck director and local guides. The hotels for the 2014 trip are all top drawer. The food was generally excellent, with frequent non-Chinese options. Food on the boat was sometimes just OK. April weather averaged just right.

Most Memorable Moment:

Terra cotta warriors. Atmospheric boat ride on the Li River. Visiting the major sights (Great Wall, Forbidden City, Terra Cotta Warriors) with 50 or 60 thousand new Chinese friends. Chinese tourists taking photos of us. Humorous local guides.

review_img

DGolick

An Amazing China Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

This trip is an excellent introduction to China. It covers the major attractions including Beijing, Shanghai, the terracotta warriors, the Yangzee River and the Li River. These attractions are balanced by visits to small town public markets, a farmer's mud house, & old traditional neighborhoods. Add 5 star hotels & restaurants to the itinerary.

Most Memorable Moment:

The opportunity to walk on the Great Wall was truly a memorable moment. The wall is long & accommodates tourists with ease. By far most tourists were Chinese citizens. Walking on the wall was like being part of history. It was a smog free, clear & cool day which made it even more spectacular. Our local Tauck guide was so proud of her history.

review_img

mrxrooter

Wonderful First Experience in China

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Effortless trip! The companions and our tour guide, Tod, were amazing. We loved every moment of our trip. We travel extensively and this is our 2nd Tauck tour. We are now believers and will book only with Tauck!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Shanghai and the view of the Bund! Being in Tiananmen Square in our Panda Hats taking a group photo. priceless!! The night market in Beijing, doing Tai Chi in the park on Sunday, visiting the hutongs. Of course wallking on the Great Wall snd seeing the Terra Cotta warriors were the highlights, but the unexpected things made the trip!

review_img

dcrs2

China, Yangtze River & Hong Kong - Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

This was probably the best & most interesting trip we've ever taken, full of varied and unique experiences each day. We learned so much, met a fun group of new friends, stayed in wonderful hotels & ate delicious food. Our guide, Tod Griswold, had the perfect combination to lead us through China - a great personality & good organizational skills.

Most Memorable Moment:

Each day was the best: walking on the Great Wall & throughout the Forbidden City, seeing the actual Terra Cotta Warriors, talking with the people of China up close & personal, experiencing the magnificent gorges on the Yangtze, watching a panda go through bamboo shoots in just seconds, enjoying the stunning views from our hotels in Shanghai & HK.

review_img

whiteshoes

The best of China

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Have forwarded this to my wife who is the writer in this family. Her 6th trip with you and my 5th and this WAS THE BEST ever. Tour director, Chuck Olmstead (sp?), was fabulous and the China locals were great. Saw everything that I wanted to and MORE which was a bonus. We will be on other Tauck tours.

review_img

EHantman

Trip to China

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Trip was certainly amoung top three trips we have ever taken. Tour leader fantastic and very well organized. Group a little large at 37 and other than Waldorf and Regent, hotels could have been slightly upgraded. Would definately take another Tauck tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the Great Wall of China.

review_img

Jerry P

Essence of China

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

"Life Changing" is an overworked phrase- but so aptly describes the Tauck China trip. Friendships were made that have lasted several years after the trip. So many memories come back to me at odd moments of the day- of course there are several "Wonders of the World" to see. The Chinese people are welcoming, friendly and apparently love Americans.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Summer Palace in Beijing - The tour guides cut through the crowds of visitors and took us right on a small boat in the lake to see the sights - then dropped us off where it was not crowded- very pleasant day. The local tour guides were very informative and added greatly to the trip.

review_img

SilverQuarry

The Best Tour of China!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This trip is well worth it! We saw everything that we had heard about in China and Hong Kong, with a great group of new friends and an outstanding tour guide (Annie [Employee Name]). We were not sure if we would ever get back to China, so this trip was perfect since it gave us a wonderful glimpse of the country and its culture.

Most Memorable Moment:

The day that we went to The Great Wall was fantastic. Everyone hears about this majestic feat, but to stand at the top of one of the towers and realize the expanse of this wonder was fabulous!

review_img

Dee Jones

China, Yangtze and Hong Kong

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

It was fantastic from the first moment we arrived. One of the things that made our trip so great was Annie [Employee Name], our travel director. She is very well organized and has a great sense of humor even with the arrival of typhoon rains!!!! This is our 2nd Tauck trip and we will surely be taking another.

Most Memorable Moment:

Each of the local guides were so enjoyable with their wisdom and input about the area they were covering. Two things memorable are the Great Wall, Tai O fishing village and a fresh meat and vegetable open market!..and going through the Three Gorges. I could go on and on!

review_img

rxgale

CHINA AND YANGTZE RIVER WESTBOUND 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The trip was very well organized and the Tour Director first rate. They delivered everything that was promised and even a bit more. We will be doing our second trip abroad with Tauck in 2014 (Paradors of Northern Spain). We were in Beijjing in October for the Chinese National Holiday commemorating the revolution and all went smoothly.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many such moments including walking a portion of the Great Wall, meeting with the Houtong family, seeing the Terra Cotta army and experiencing the Beijing night market.

review_img

Wissner

China is Amazing

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The tour was amazing except for a problem with food poisoning on the Yangzi Explorer with three to four of us getting sick. In addition, Tauck's air department failed to enter all the required information into our airline reservations such as birthdates, passport numbers, etc.(all required info). Airline complaint to Tauck never acknowledged.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Shanghai and Xi'an's Terra Cotta Warriors.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy that despite your illnes you still had a great experience.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Phil V

China, Yangtze River and Hong Kong

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

All the expected highlights - Great Wall, Forbidden City, Terra Cotta Warriors were great, but it was the unexpected that were most memorable. Going to the Hutong neighborhood in Beijing and talking with a local, meeting a farmer displaced by the 3 Gorges Dam and meeting the artist at the zoo were the types of experiences you only get with Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many. This was my 32nd tour with Tauck and definitely one of the best. The most memorable was the one that exceeded expectations - the Li River cruise.

review_img

WWasserman

China, the Yangtze River and Hong Kong

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

It was the most interesting and educational trip we have ever taken. Every day was an adventure.

Most Memorable Moment:

I was mesmerized by the terra cotta warriors.

review_img

JObligen

China, Yangtze & Hong Kong East

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

My husband and I had a fabulous experience traveling to China with Tauck. Your tour guide Annie [Employee Name] did an outstanding job with a smile and a wonderful attitude. She kept us all informed about China's history and up to date on todays living conditions. She certainly is a credit to Tauck and the high standards of travel you are known for.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to pinpoint one in particular, each and every day held a special moment. I found going to the park at the Temple of Heaven and seeing the local people with their own groups of friends sharing in various activities very uplifting, but Since childhood I had always wanted to see the Great Wall, so I guess that was my most memorable moment.

review_img

Dee Vandercook

Eastbound Yangtze

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

China is a land of contrasts - rich in history yet stunningly modern mega-cities. The beauty along the Li River was unexpected and breathtaking. I have never seen lush greenery like this with the possible exception of Ireland. We glided the iconic Karst range on a misty day - making the landscape ready for the artist's brush!

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking the Great Wall will never be forgotten. How many others have climbed these same steps centuries ago?

TAUCK RESPONSE

What a truly amazing country China is! We are so pleased to hosted you on this journey and that you returned with so many wonderful memories.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

PRogers

China the Yangtze River & Hong Kong

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Trip was overwhelming with a spectacular itinerary. The weather cooperated most generously. Another day wouldn't hurt to spend in Guilin and you need more than one day in Hong Kong to do it any kind of justice; it has so much to offer first-time visitors. The tour should be at least 20 days.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Great Wall, the Li River cruise and the Terra Cotta Warriors.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are thrilled you enjoyed your journey to this magnificent area and returned with many wonderful memories!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Norman D Goldman

China Charms

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

You truly have to be fit to walk and walk and walk to see all the beauty and historic sites. We had a wonderful tour manager who just took care of everything with such ease and professional care that if we had Anne with us on all the trips we would be going all over. Tauck truly knows how to treat their guests, including hotels...and places to eat.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going on a sandpan and seeing the people and culture of the mountains. Having a foot massage was an outstanding joy as well as seeing all the places that we read about in China's history. Having my husband's suit made in Hong Kong and we were able to take it home with us.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Dear Mr. Goldman, Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very happy you enjoyed your journey and look forward to hosting you on many more. Edel K.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

rbrown

China, the Yangtze River & Hong Kong - Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Terrific trip; only superseded by South Africa. Itinerary was great and flights made the transitions go smoothly.

Most Memorable Moment:

Shanghai is amazing.

review_img

VPicarelli

China, Yangtze & Hong Kong - East

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

My wife and I we loved the China experience. We think that Tauck did a very good job. Great cities and beautiful places. Excelent hotels and tasteful meals. The combination between the new and the old was perfect! At most we find a good fellows and a friend and competent tour director. Congratulations for the all Tauck team!

Most Memorable Moment:

We could say we have four memorable moments: The Great Wall, The city of Guilin, The Shennong Stream (Cruising the Three Gorges) and Shanghai.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your overall journey with us and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JPieroni

Fascinating China

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

My wife and I are seasoned travelers and have been to just about all the important venues in the world. China was on our bucket list and when we reviewed all the comparable itineraries, Tauck's was the best. The trip exceeded our expectations. Tauck and the tour director were great.

Most Memorable Moment:

All the classic sites; the Great Wall, Forbidden City, Terracotta Army, Yangzi River were as spectacular as we thought they would be. Shanghai was really fascinating and the progress that has been made there very impressive.

review_img

entpar

China

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

Squalor and Splendor. Amazing, modern cities and mud huts. Warm welcomes and great service. Pollution everywhere.Unexpected and surprising at every turn. A must see, but read "Understanding China", and "Wild Swans", as we did before the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

The beauty of the Li river.

review_img

Florida Traveler

Amazing vacation.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

I traveled solo and the trip was outstanding. The others on the tour were exceptionally friendly and interesting. The destinations were fascinating. The Chinese food was unbeatable. The weather was perfect. The tour guide was funny and very helpful. The accommodations were top notch. I did not want to go home.

Most Memorable Moment:

Beijing during the National Holiday. We had Southern California (ie perfect) weather the whole time in Beijing and the crowds celebrating the National Holiday were awesome.

review_img

Ausnewji

Not an easy trip, but well worth the time, effort and expense.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We still talk about this trip and how interesting and memorable it was. The negative was the many internal flights-tiring, but a necessary evil. We also suffered from breathing in the pollution. Nevertheless, we will always be glad we did this tour. Finally seeing so many places we had only read about was worth every discomfort.

Most Memorable Moment:

Can't pick just one-too many to choose from. Had expected it to be seeing the Great Wall, but the fog was so bad we couldn't see much. However, we will never forget seeing the Terra Cotta Warriors, Forbidden City, and Tiananmen Square.

review_img

ctyank

Our Fascinating Trip to China!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

What a wonderful way to visit an extremely interesting, friendly country! The tour was a complete success - from the informative, personable and very efficient tour guide, to the sites we visited, to the hotel accomodations - this trip will live in our memories for a long time. Don't even think of another tour company for your visit to China!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Terracotta Warriors in Xi'an during a Tauck-arranged exclusive, early morning tour with no other tourists around! We even met the site's friendly curator who answered all of our questions about this fascinating treasure.

review_img

David NYC

China, Yangtze & Hong Kong - East Dates from 8/22 to 9/7 2012.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

This journey started from Beijing and ended in Hong Kong including a three day cruise in the Yangtze River. This is our first review although we have traveled with Tauck more than 15 times since July 2002. Excellent tour director. We recommend their trip to any and all persons. David NYC

Most Memorable Moment:

It was a pleasant experience traveling thru various cities in China. The weather was excellent and we had only two days of rain. The group consisted of 28 persons coming from around the Globe. We listened to the local guides who shared their experiences with local history, work ethics, housing, economics and certainly current political events.

review_img

ravw

best trip ever

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

best ever. Individual guides great especially Jessica in BeJing Fellow guests were great. Makes an enormous difference. Director was very strong. No really weak spot. One more day in awful Chongqing might have been worth it but that is a guess.

Most Memorable Moment:

Bejing duck by ourselves in Bejing

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your journey to this facinating country and thank you for your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Mark L

China the right way

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

This was our third Tauck Tour and may have been the best. We started in Beijing, which from what I can tell is the right way to go. That side of the tour is the more grueling days, up early and out late, but well worth it. We arrived a day early which is highly recommended. The facilities and the people were over the top. Charge your batteries & GO

Most Memorable Moment:

The Terracotta Warriors, The Great Wall, Tianamen Square, Yangtze River, Three Gorges, Shanghai, Maglev High Speed Train, were All equally amazing. The Shanghai Acrobats were right up there as well. Always great entertainment.

review_img

mones

Yangtse how i love ya

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Overall wonderful and informative trip. Our tour guide was attentive and made sure all went smoothely. The groups of people we traveled with were intersting,fun and friendly. The local guides were excellent. What I missed most was exposure to music.Music has been a part of other Tauck tours and is an importanrt part of the culture.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Great Wall.The food.The Chinese people.

review_img

Irwin Wechsler

China, Yangtze, Hong Kong- Eastbound

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

My wife and I were astounded at the number of historic sites,local areas, rivers and cities we were able to tour in such a short time. The trip and guide (Larry) were extremely well organized and the accomodations were exceptinal. If you want to see, explore and understand China, this is the trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Climbing the Great Wall

review_img

jbattistoni

China

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

People can tell you they don't want to go on a "guided tour" but we would have miss so much without Tauck Tours. There is no way you could have planned all the sites the wonderful meals without their help.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visits to private homes and an art collector's private home was just wondeful. To see how ordinary people live and New Englanders think they have antiques, nothing compared to China

review_img

Rett

China

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

Starting in Beijing was a perfect way to start the trip. Seeing the Great Wall & Forbidden City etc right away are the things you have always heard about and I was anxious to see them. The boat cruises let you see things you perhaps have not heard about and a great bonding experience with other travelers. Then Shanghai, we all loved it.

Most Memorable Moment:

Great Wall, Terra Cotta Soldiers, Shanghai, Shanghai tourist tunnel, The park in Beijing, walking through the town of Chongqing, panda bears.

review_img

Bob Young

China--Spring 2012

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

A really good trip. I keep telling family and friends of the experience and of all the China information from the many excellent city guides. We be Tauck customers again.

Most Memorable Moment:

EVERY EXPERIENCE WAS MEMORABLE. WE LOVED IT ALL.

review_img

Darline

China

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

We have so many great memories of our journey through China. We enjoyed walking the streets of Hong Kong in search of the goldfish market, the flower market, and the bird market. The Yangzte river cruise and shore excursions were excellent. I learned to appreciate the paintings of the Gorges and the mountains along the Lee river.

Most Memorable Moment:

The pandas were a treat. I acquired a taste for dumplings. Shaing Hai is full of eye candy (the lights along the bund). Tierra cotta soldiers!. Do not miss out on Peking Duck in Beijing. Shopping is not for the feint of heart. The Chinese drive a hard bargain. We got really wet on the Great Wall. Oh well into each life some rain must fall.

review_img

teddif

one of our best Tauck tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

the trip was very exciting. We arrived a day early and explored Beijing on our own. Navigating the traffic was challenging. Visiting the Great Wall was a highlight. actually the entire trip was one we will never forget. the hotels were first rate. The people were very friendly, we even had a school class of young children sing ABC to us at the zoo

Most Memorable Moment:

seeing the Terracotta Warriors was a sight we will never forget. We even had one of the professors working on the project talk to us.

review_img

MLBH

China

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2011

My trip started with a bang. When I arrived at Dayton Ohio airport, my flight was just then cancelled due to "no pilot". After much run around and security, I finally got off the ground. Tauck was great once I got to Hong Kong. Yangtze River cruise was relaxing but yet extremely educational. Being a single traveler, the group was wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

The villages on the Yangtze River and being an animal lover, the Panda bears.

review_img

bj

A B C's of South America

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2011

We had a good trip with lots of wonderful, friendly enjoyable tour companions. Sorry to say our tour director was lacking when it came to being creative. This trip had none if the "pleasant and wonderful surprises" of our other Tauck tours...The hotels were great! Food good, again not quite up to Tauck's standard.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Tango lessons, the Iguazu Falls were so amazing, with the beauty and sound that just takes your breath away!! Of course Tauck can't take credit for the beautiful snowfall in the Andes, and all of us getting to play in it. All of our hotel rooms with beautiful views!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey but disappointed that some aspects fell below expectations. We will look into your comments immediately and all and any actions needed will be taken. Thank you for traveling with us and we looking forward to hosting in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

AOrtiz

Excellent

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2011

Since we first landed in Beijing to our departure from Hong Kongthe trip was just out of this world, mainly because of our Tour Director.

Most Memorable Moment:

All moments were memorable.

review_img

KenH

One of the best trips ever

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2011

From Hong Kong to Bejing this was a first class trip. Our tour guide was well informed and very capable.The hotels were 5 star all the way. The boat on tbe Yanzte river was old but we had fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Terra Cotta Warriors and a spur of the moment foot massage.

review_img

runred

China

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2011

An incredible trip. It lived up to Tauck's reputation. Larry, our tour director was incredible in every way. There was nothing that he would not do. Shanghai was beyond our expectations. We requested a special tour during our free time and Larry had a guide and our bus within 15 minutes. Where else do you get that kind of treatment.

Most Memorable Moment:

No one thing stands out. We loved the entire trip. This trip if not for someone who wants to relax

review_img

dwkrueger

China the Tauck way

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2011

This was a trip that only Tauck could orchestrate. Annie [Employee Name] was our tour director and not only kept everything moving but made it fun as well. This was a very educational tour and we are very glad that we did it with Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Terra Cota Warriers. This was fabulous. Next was the great wall.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are delighted you enjoyed your overall journey with us!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button