TravelerReviews

A Portrait of India

review_img

MichaelViolante

Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2018

This tour of India was extremely well planned and well executed. Tauck takes care of all the details so we could focus on seeing and learning about India. Our tour co-ordinator was very well organized and provided us with a lot of information that she personally researched and added to our understanding of India.

Most Memorable Moment:

By coincidence we visited the Taj Mahal on my birthday. This made seeing this exquisite monument even more memorable than it would be anyway. The Oberoi hotel also contributed significantly to this memory. While not as happy an event, the other visit that was highly memorable for me was the evening Ganges tour, especially the crematorium ghat.

review_img

AntonioRodriguez

An Amazing Experience

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2018

Many gratifying 'up close and personal' experiences - Witnessing the ceremonies along the Ganges River, walking along the ghats in Varanasi, gliding above villages on a hot air balloon and strolling through colorful markets. Excellent varied itinerary. Amazing accommodations and meals. Go!

Most Memorable Moment:

People. Seeing the vibrant and beautiful colors worn by the warm and friendly people of India.

review_img

TomasOgazon

Awesome vacation!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

Our journey to India was extraordinary, overwhelming, and informative. Highly recommended. A journey of a lifetime. Top hotels. The best part of the trip was our guide, who is the best we’ve had on any of our trips. He was extremely knowledgeable about his country’s history, idiosyncrasies, and character and ensured we had an outstanding time.

Most Memorable Moment:

I’ll mention three: the visit to Varanasi, the visit to a family home in the state of Kerala in southern India, the visit to the Taj Mahal at sunrise when it was quiet and almost empty. And did I mention the Oberoi hotels and the Leela Palace hotel?

review_img

Hansjoerg

Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

This trip was an Adventure and cultural experience we will never forget. We had an outstanding Tour Director who is a native college educated dynamic, well spoken and sympathetic person who made this tour so interesting and enjoyable. The itinerary of the tour was well balanced with guided visits of cities, cultural sites and villages.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the people in their daily life and circumstances shown to us by local guides. Staying in luxury hotels with the choice of excellent Western Cuisine. Kalaripattu martial arts performance

review_img

LOUANNA (ANN)NEPSA

My Trip to India

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

I did not want to go to India but it was my husband's dream. I went under duress and was surprised to find that I loved it. From the very beginning our guide had everything under control. (In spite of her 18 overgrown kids!) Her knowledge of the country was outstanding. Everything flowed perfectly. I highly recommend it!

Most Memorable Moment:

Dancing with the people and seeing the cremations on the Ganges River.

review_img

BruceLevin

A Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

Great trip as long as you can handle the rigorous pace. This is not a trip for someone who wants to be pampered and with only a few leisurely activities. Almost every day is full of activities from morning through evening, so if you're up to it, you'll see more and experience more and be fully satisfied when the trip is over.

Most Memorable Moment:

Without a doubt, it was in Varanasi and the almost mystical sight of cremations occurring along the Ganges River at night.

review_img

GGP

A tough, but memorable trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

A Portrait of India is a long, unforgettable, grueling trip to an exotic, interesting country with one leg in four thousand years ago and a toe in the modern digital age. There is little downtime to enjoy the lavish resorts. We had the best guide and a wonderful group of kind, prompt, friendly, considerate people. You need to be fit to keep up.

Most Memorable Moment:

Varanasi was unusual but chilling. Udaipur was the most beautiful and enjoyable. The cruise on the lake and the walk in the spice market were wonderful. We did the balloon ride in Jaipur and it was excellent. My photos are spectacular. Everywhere we went, young people wanted to include us in photos. They were lively and fun.

review_img

Lori Director

Major Highlights: A Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

Major Highlights: Taj Mahal; Veranasi, tuk-tuks, flights, boats, elephant and camel welcome, outstanding food, accommodations, cultural experiences, surprise events & entertainment, excellent Tour Director & guides, photo ops especially while walking in villages & market areas. Excellent travel experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sunrise at Taj Mahal; Boat to view cremations in Varanasi

review_img

JaySwerdlow

Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

Great tour director, nice friendly group and absolutely fascinating country.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tie between the Taj Mahal and the visit to Varanasi and all that entailed!

review_img

soun80

If I could turn back time...

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

Incredible India for sure! Although this is a longer trip than the Spotlight tour, it's worth the time. It's been a month since I got back, but the memories are still fresh on my mind. If you have a chance to do this tour... DO IT!! Big thanks to our Tauck Director and our local guides as well as the bus driver & bus attendant! Unforgettable!

Most Memorable Moment:

There's too many to count, from the Taj Mahal to the hot air balloon ride. However, the moment that moved me the most was the ceremonies on the Ganges River in Varanasi. Seeing the cremation ceremonies on the ghats and the ritual to put the Ganges to sleep were the highlights for sure. It was also great to spend the holidays in India!

review_img

T and J

Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2017

On this trip the contrast between the northern desert cities and the lush tropical settings of the south is amazing. Ending in Mumbai is great because it is much more accessible to Westerners than Delhi. Tauck's end to end service and the five star hotels were superb, as was our Tour Director.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments. Surreal scenes on the nighttime boat ride on the Ganges at Varanasi, especially the cremations. The Taj Mahal at sunrise. Floating over Jaipur in a hot air balloon as the sun came up. The tuk tuk ride through the streets of Udaipur followed by a walking tour of the market.

review_img

Eljaycee

Wonderful trip through a fascinating country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2017

This superb itinerary allowed us to experience the incredible diversity of India. The hotels were mostly excellent. The food was uniformly great. The experiences we had will stay with us forever. And we had an extraordinarily knowledgable tour director who poured himself into making this trip work for everyone. A true Tauck experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

This is a very hard question, as there were so many. But I would pick the boat ride on the Ganges witnessing the cremation ceremonies and watching the morning bathing rituals. It's unique to India. But landing a balloon in the middle of a village that comes out to greet you was also wonderful. And the Taj at dawn is incomparable!

review_img

Ritters

We would do it all over again!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

The most amazing trip. We couldn’t even choose what we liked best because we loved it all. The hotels were incredible. Tour guide could not have been more knowledgeable and friendly. We never felt unsafe. We were so well taken care of every minute. The itinerary was so well thought out. It was an adventure of a lifetime.

Most Memorable Moment:

On the Ganges watching the funeral pyres. And the Kumarakom Lake Resort, it did seem like paradise. And the wonderful new friends we made.

review_img

Two Aussies

We're in India!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

It seemed to take forever to finally travel to India, after several tries that didn't eventuate. We were delighted from the first to the last and soaked up the colourful, confronting, contradictory experiences which unfolded over our journey. Tauck's exemplary organisation meant we could immerse ourselves in every amazing day, relax and enjoy.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many memorable moments to mention. The friendliness and warmth of the Indian people are something we'll never forget. The Taj, Varanasi, balloon flight, elephant encounter, the colour, the food, the group...I could go on and on.

review_img

Badmre1

The only Way to see India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

This was my dream trip, seeing India, taking my wife to the Taj Mahal, and doing it all in comfort and luxury. Every sight we saw was one of India's significant treasures with no wasted time in touristy sidelight junk shops. Our meals away from our luxury hotels were meaningful highlights, hotel meals were gourmet quality. Internal travel excellent

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching the night ceremonies on the Ganges in Varanasi then returning for the ceremony waking the river at sunrise was my highlight. The parade to dinner at the Rambagh Palace was the highlight for my wife. I think nearly everyone on our trip had a different most memorable moment.

review_img

Nanos

Portrait of India - best trip ever!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2017

This was the most amazing trip to a unique part of the world. It was an assault on all senses: the vibrant colors, the fragrant smells, the smiles of the children, the frenetic traffic and noisy horns,their sacred rites, the beautiful of the temples and palaces, the magnificent hotels and the pride of the people. India is a must-see country.

Most Memorable Moment:

Everyday! But especially the sacred rites on the Ganges, the Taj Mahal with its elegance and feminine beauty, the vibrant street scenes & the warmth of the people. So many wonderful memories...another great Tauck adventure with the most wonderful tour leader. He was beyond fabulous; he shared his love of India & his knowledge was boundless.

review_img

sewalk07

A Protrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2017

Great trip. The people are warm and friendly and the sights we have seen must be experienced to fully understand the country and people.

Most Memorable Moment:

Taj Mahal at sunrise and the Ganges River.

review_img

PSO

A Trip Like No Other!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

Fabulous! The trip moves quickly and we saw many interesting sites. The frequent early mornings became difficult but some were elective. For example, dawn at the Taj Mahal and the hot air balloon ride were worth the early start times. So glad we went to the south of India, which is unique and different. Most hotels were great, as was the food.

Most Memorable Moment:

The remarkable cultural experience in Varanasi: the Ganges boat ride was unbelievable. Watching the religious bathe and pray and watching the cremations from the river boats are an unforgettable experience. Also, loved the Kumarakom Lake Resort, Kerala. Our Tauck guide knew an incredible amount about India, and we learned a lot!

review_img

Tenaj

The best possible way to experience India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

This was our first group tour ever and it was amazing. The guide was the best we've ever had, the logistics were flawless and the itinerary, special events and exposure to India was beyond our expectations. Can't wait to plan another Tauck Tour!

Most Memorable Moment:

We arrived in Agra and checked into a magnificent hotel. But when we entered our room and saw the Taj Mahal before us from our window it took our breath away. Varanasi, visiting the marketplace and a Hindu temple in Udaipur, enjoying a meal on the backwaters of Kerala were just a few more memorable times.

review_img

Bill Thiederman

Much more than I expected

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

India was challenging and unbelievably rewarding. The tour really let us get a great overview of India, from fabulous palaces to great poverty. We also saw ordinary people going about their lives with no other tourists around. Our tour director had great knowledge of history and customs and was able to make it all understandable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Varanasi and floating on the Ganges River.

review_img

Susiq_34683

A Wild Ride

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

A Portrait of India is the adventure of a lifetime, transporting you to colorful, noisy, dirty, ancient, modern, Hindu, Sikh, Jain, Muslim, Christian, and Jewish spiritual worlds. Cultures, colors, lifestyles, spicy foods, polluted and crowded big cities where you risk your life to cross the street meet backwater resorts surrounded by villages.

Most Memorable Moment:

Can't pick one: Taj Mahal- iconic; meeting one of the last five Jews of Kochin- thrilling; first balloon ride- fun; gorgeous hotel properties- luxurious; Indian people - modest, ingratiating, interesting, fun loving; architecture- Mughal Empire meets British colonial meets Hindu excess; a dinner parade of camels, elephants and dancers. It's a wow!

review_img

Nancy from Antioch

India - the most exotic place I have ever visited

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

This trip far exceeded my expectations. I was overwhelmed by the colors, smells, sounds, sights and tastes of India. It was a total assault on my senses. I had not expected the warmth and friendliness of the local people. So many people took photographs with me or put their children in front of me for photos. A vibrant, welcoming, beautiful place

Most Memorable Moment:

The evening outdoor crematory rituals and the overwhelming feeling of the pilgrims’ faith and spirituality in Varanasi as I walked with them to the Ganges River in the dark before dawn where many of them would have a once-in-a-lifetime experience of bathing in Mother Ganges, the holiest of rivers in the Hindu faith. Their fervor was palpable.

review_img

Ken C1

Magical India - wonderful Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

We are in Phuket resting and recovering from our mystical and wonderful Portrait of India Tour led by our Tauck Director. An amazing experience of people, colours, smell and diversity. Accommodation as good as it gets. Food and restaurants amazing in every way. Transport using flights and coach very good and guides of highest order.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many from Taj Mahal to Veranasi and stunning Mumbai. But the night we were greeted by a band with elephants, camels etc and marched into dinner, will remain in my mind forever.

review_img

slg/ajg

The Very Good and The Not Quite as Good

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

India was an eye and mind opener. It was beyond our expectations. The people, places,food,colors and experiences all helped make this a trip to be remembered and savored for years to come.I would highly recommend this trip for those who are adventurous and physically fit.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable from a positive side, were the ceremonies on the Ganges.They were magical. The most memorable from a negative side was the lack of control of the vendors by our local guides at the Ganges.Vendors were over whelming and wouldn't leave us alone. This was the only negative in a spectacular 17 days.

review_img

AGreenberg

Some suggestions for improvement

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

Wonderful-good itinerary,tour director,local guides Suggestion.Day #1 really starts at nite;exacerbated if arriving a day early. A "things to do list" is only provided at check-in;this should be sent out in advance.Tauck can/should arrange "packages" with concierge (itineraries, prices.)This would apply to all Tauck trips

Most Memorable Moment:

Varanasi-a unique experience--but-- Walk back from Ganges to tour bus was very unpleasant--buses were too far away(other tours were much closer),guides did nothing to control the situation of professional hawkers (these were not the usual street people!)

review_img

jemma

Amazing India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

My husband and I recently returned from the Tauck Portrait of India tour.For anyone considering travel to this vivid and remarkable country,I would definitely recommend going with Tauck.Our Tour Director was wonderful and set the tone for the entire trip.He helped turn a group of 18 strangers into friends on a wonderful adventure.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many things come to mind,the Taj Mahal,the pink city of Jaipur,the spirituality of Varanasi but it is the welcoming friendliness of the Indian people who remain most memorable to me.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you found the Indian people so welcoming. We agree wholeheartedly!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

asm3844

"A Portrait of India" January 28 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

We as well as many people who have travelled with Tauck are seasoned travelers. This tour to India with Tauck was the best trip we have ever taken. We saw and experienced so much that it was hard to process it all until we returned home and began to go through our photographs. Prepare to be amazed and dazzled.

Most Memorable Moment:

How can one compare the Taj Mahal at sunrise, Life along the Ganges at sunset, glorious Rajasthan and teeming Bombay?...impossible. The journey was made up of glorious moments. We would almost be ready to take the same journey again to confirm what we saw and more importantly what we felt.

review_img

Snookie

Portrait of India 19 Jan 2016 thru 5 Feb 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2016

India was exciting, challenging, and regardless of preconceived ideas , the trip was amazing. The Tauck Tour Director and Guides simply took care of our needs , explained the history, the points of interest in a seemless manner. The trip is one of a lifetime of places to visit, we are thankful we spent the time.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Oberoi hotels are amazing. The Kamardum Lake Resort is one of the most memorable, we enjoyed the opportunity to stay there. Of course, the ancient history that I learned was volumes.

review_img

Linda J Clark

Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

I was so impressed at how many places we were able to see in 18 days. Of course, it sometimes was difficult getting up early , planning packing, etc but it was all worth it. We saw lots. North to south, and such a variety of places. Our guide who was younger than my daughter was so amazing- organized, knowledgeable, funny. Usually we have had older

Most Memorable Moment:

Taj Mahal, Second would be the night at the Ganges River with the cremations, priests putting the river to sleep,pilgrims., etc

review_img

Jfarrauto

portrait of india

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Overall it exceeded our expectation.each day brought amazing new experiences and sites of wonder. Our travel companions were all seasoned travelers,friendly and on time. Our tour director was extremely organized and kept things running smoothly. Our accommodations were "over the top". The food top notch and the travel vehicles comfortable.

Most Memorable Moment:

The cremations at the Ganges, the Amber Palace, the Taj Mahal, the hotel in Udapoir and the bike driven ride to a palace where we were greeted by musicians, elephants and a fabulous dinner outdoors.each day brought new and exciting experiences. The visit to Elephant Island in Mumbai, coping with the roads and driving, the laundry,shopping

review_img

ponyboy614

Extraordinary

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

TAUCK is the only way to travel, they do not miss a beat!!!! "Super Tour Director" and all the miracles that he makes happen can not be beat..India was extraordinary and beyond..Yes, it is a poor country but the people are beautiful inside and out.

Most Memorable Moment:

All our memorable moments were truly memorable..We rate our trip a 10 plus. from Delhi to Mumbai and everything in between.. Tauck you are the BEST and always provide us with the best!! Thank you so very much

review_img

thomast747

India - An incredible country!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

This was perhaps one of the more physically demanding of all the Tauck trips we have taken. The itinerary was filled with so many interesting things to see and do and we did not want to miss any of it. The geography we covered gave us an opportunity to experience a variety of cultures, foods, languages, ethnic groups, beliefs and lifestyles.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments that it is hard to pick just one, however, seeing the grandeur of The Taj Mahal at sunrise and walking around The Lotus Pool and the tomb chamber, was a breathtaking experience.

review_img

Cowboy Greg

It's Not For Everyone

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

It was a very demanding tour, not for the faint of heart. We sometimes were awakened before dawn, and we often spent all day on motorcoachs or hanging around airports. As usual with Tauck, the hotels and food were supurb.

Most Memorable Moment:

Pictures of the Taj Mahal do not do it justice. It is more spectacular than I ever imagined.

review_img

lwick

Journey through India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

It was an excellent trip with great hotels and good selection of sights. Wish we had seen more of Delhi and rarely got out of the bus there. The Tour Guide was excellent and did a great job of herding the "cats". There were two groups within the tour who were friends and stuck to themselves to the point of rudeness.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Taj Mahah, Varanasi, Judapur

review_img

MIKEBGAIL

Outstanding

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Our trip to India was wonderful. The people and places were unbelievable. Sights and sounds I cannot put into words. My suggestion to Tauck is not to plan to be in India around their anniversary day celebration. Practice and parade took place over three days w/many disruptions & traffic at a stand still. Planning needs more thought at this time.

Most Memorable Moment:

The trip was marvelous. Most exciting. What it made it more wonderful was the tour director and the daily guides. The staff at each hotel went out their way to be helpful and friendly. The bus drivers and support staff were wonderful as well.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your feedback which is most appreciated and will be shared with management. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and experienced some truly memorable moments. We thank you for your patronage and look forward to you traveling with us again in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

wambli

Indelible India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

India will remain with us in our consciousness and spirit. The people, the chaos of the streets, the colors and flavors of India and the countries many manifestations are all now part of us. Our tour director, Peter, was superb. The hotels, the food, the service of all kinds all made the trip highly enjoyable. We would definitely consider a return.

Most Memorable Moment:

The experience of Varanasi was so different from anything we have experienced that it clearly was our most memorable day not just moment. The Taj is impressive but its just an exquisite building. The whole Varanasi experience left an unforgettable impression.

review_img

Ron Sandler

PAINTED PORTRATI

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

THE TOUR AND TOUR GUIDE WERE OUTSTANDING. LEARNED A GREAT DEAL ABOUT INDIA'S HISTORY AS IT RELATES TO GEOGRAPHY; CULTURE; AND RELIGIONS. THE TRIP WAS WELL STRUCTURED AND WAS FLAWLESS IN EXECUTION. AS AN ASIDE, WE PROBABLY COULD HAVE SKIPPED THE FOUR DAYS IN KARALA, AS THE SIGHTS THERE WERE MINIMALLY INTERESTING.

Most Memorable Moment:

NIGHT TIME CREMATIONS ON THE GANGES.

review_img

Bob B.

India land of contrasts

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

The portrait of india was just that. This trip is was a comprehensive look at the people and culture of this diverse sub continent. Yes it is a dirty in the sense that there is garbage strewn in the streets of the smaller cities and road side areas, but it is vibrant and alive. India is more then the Taj, it is forts, palaces, foods and people.

Most Memorable Moment:

The elephant ride up to the Amjur Fort. Entering through the main gate to the magnificent fort and palace.

review_img

deidraross

Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2014

Truly the trip of a Lifetime. This journey more than exceeded my expectations. The Indian people are fantastically beautiful in so many ways and the itinerary on this trip allowed us to see so many parts of the country. Everyday was an adventure... and, everyday was better than the one before. I would highly recommend this trip!!

Most Memorable Moment:

There are so many! Meeting locals during a stroll through a fishing village, tasting fresh food made with Indian spices during a cooking demonstration, trying on a sari, witnessing spiritual ceremonies in Hindu temples, negotiating purchases with every vendor in India :) And being treated like royalty by the Oberois. LIFE-CHANGING TRIP!!

review_img

cfrancomd

A Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Thanks, TAUCK, for 17 magical days of history, culture and adventure. For spectacular hotels and beautiful palaces. For enriching and moving experiences and incredible activities. For the best tour guide, all the way, Abhi [Employee Name], and for helping us appreciate the charm, kindness and spirituality of the beautiful people of India.

Most Memorable Moment:

The cremation and the bathing rituals in the Ganges River, our visit to the Taj Majal, and to the Mahatma Gandhi house and museum in Dehli and the place of his martyrdom.

review_img

Robsf260

Appreciation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Our Tour Director went well out of the box to make our vacation most memorable. Nothing was too much trouble and his updates and descriptions were superb.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Taj Mahal in the early morning mist.

review_img

ENL

Portrait of India March 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

A fantastic experience - a blend of the ancient and contemporary. I've been to Europe multiple times and compared to India, it now seems a bit benign. The historical and religous sites were awe inspiring. The people, who never seemed to stop smiling, always made for pleasant encounters. The culture, customs, and religions were thought provoking.

Most Memorable Moment:

I'm sure many of my fellow travellers would say the Taj Mahal, but for me it was the evening and daybreak trips on the Ganges. The Hindu ceremony to put the river to sleep was spiritual and moving. The ritual bathing by men and women in the morning was a unique sight to see. The sunlight on the many Ghats could not have been more beautiful.

review_img

debutante dixie

Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

This is a wonderful trip! The Oberoi hotels are magnificent with a level of service beyond compare. The colors, sights, sounds, were all so vivid and enduring. The Indian people were warm and kind. This journey exceeded all our expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many memorable moments.....our night at Rambagh Palace and sunrise at Varanasi on the Ganges were two that come to mind.

review_img

Berth

Portrait of India, 18 days

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

This was one of the best trips that I've ever taken partly because India is such an exotic and fascinating destination and party because of the high level of service that Tauck provided. I did not get sick but was very careful not to eat salads or uncooked food. However I did eat the cut up fresh fruit in the hotels and did fine.

Most Memorable Moment:

The dinner and show at Rambaugh Palace in Jaipur was very memorable and special.

review_img

winegal51

An amazing Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

This trip was beyond my expectations. From our fabulous and knowledgeable TD, Abhijat, to the spectacular hotels, noise, chaotic streets, colors, smells, and smiling people, it is an assault on your senses. A bit more time in Jaipur & Udaipur would have been great. Service is stellar and the food was outstanding! I would go back in a heartbeat

Most Memorable Moment:

The morning boat on the Ganges at Varanasi (and the Ayurvedic massage at Kumarakom Lake Resort!).

review_img

BDixon

Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

On Jan.22,2014 we left for a what turned out to be an amazing trip to India. Having traveled to many parts of the world and seeing many a wonder of the world this trip exceeded our expectations. Our tour director Peter,the fabulous hotels.as well as their service,and seeing India from North to south was an experience one will never forget.

Most Memorable Moment:

This trip had so many memorable moments that it is impossible for me to select one. The only thing I can say is experience this trip yourself and you will understand exactly what I'm talking about.

review_img

Ronald

Over The Top !!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

The 1/24/14 Portrait of India Trip was definitely over the top. Our Tour Director, [Employee Name], was by far, the BEST we have ever had. Peter was on top of everything and his knowledge of India could qualiy him to be the U.S. AMBASSADOR TO INDIA!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

The country was very special and very diverse. The people were the kindest and sweetest you could ever hope to encounter. The sites were breathtaking and, of course, the Taj Mahal was truly a wonder of the world. Our accommodation's were Outstanding. Every stop was a new treat. I must say that the trip EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS !!

review_img

Cruzing23

Constant Bus and Air Travel

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

The trip is as described by Tauck, but the description underplays the very early mornings and the fatiguing travel by bus, air and train. The Oberoi's are fantastic and would have been wonderful if we had had more time to enjoy the resorts. By the time we got to Agra by train, we were having dinner in our room at 11:00 pm. This is a whirlwind trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being in Mumbai and walking on the Queen's Necklace. Cool breezes and relaxing walks.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry that some aspects of this journey fell below your expectations. We are continually trying to balance the amount of time spent traveling as opposed to sight seeing and spending time at the wonderful hotels on this specific itinerary. Rest assured that we will immediately look into your comments and take any and all corrective actions. Thank you for your patronage and we do hope you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

David and Gene Anne Smith

A Portrait of India

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

This was a fabulous trip. The pace was demanding, but we would not have missed a moment of it. India is endlessly fascinating, the tour is well planned and the Oberoi hotels are incredibly luxurious and fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

The sunrise cruise on the Ganges at Varanasi has to take the prize as the most moving and beautiful experience.

review_img

Jenifer Blum

Whirlwind India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Tauck's 18 day India trip provides a good overview of this multifacited country. I especially enjoyed the evening cruise on the Ganges where we observed the Putting the River to Sleep ceremony. Other highlights were visits to Khajuraho and the Taj Mahal. The palaces in Jaipur and Udaipur are splendid as are the hotels in both cities.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the Taj Mahal.

review_img

Dick Knodt

Incredible India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Witnessing India with all its diversity, poverty, over population, chaotic traffic side by side with ancient palaces, forts and the Taj Mahal was a once in a lifetime experience. To escape what most would consider the mayhem of the streets by staying at some of the best hotels in the world, The Oberoi chain, was very special. The food and service were first class. The knowledge of India displayed by our Tauck tour director was unsurpassed.

Most Memorable Moment:

Veranasi, possibly the oldest city in the civilized world, the Burning Ghats at night and the bathing and washing of clothes in the Gangue River in the morning was the most memorable experience.

review_img

BCollum

A Difficult Country; A Difficult Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

Any India tour will be tough: Supreme highs (lovely people, great monuments, abounding life) and astonishing lows (squalor-beyond-reckoning, chaos, brutality to women and the poor). But Tauck's itinerary made it more difficult - too many intra-country flights and early mornings, not enough time at the Oberoi hotels, the unnecessary southern part.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking up the ghats from the Ganges in Varanasi and then through the middle of that fetid town - like stepping back 5,000 years, walking on 5,000-year-old filth.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your overall trip and experienced some many truly memorable moments. In order to see both Northern and Southern India and to capture the beauty and diversity, it is necessary to fly between areas as the distances are just too great to accomplish by any other transportation. Unfortunately, given the demise of several airlines within India we are at the mercy of the few airlines that do operate and their schedules which change constantly without forewarning. We thank you for your patronage and do hope you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

LFine

Appreciation of What We Have---A Magnificent Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

Annie [Employee Name], our guide was very competent and caring, and there were instances where her expertise was invaluable. Rasheed (?) was excellent in expeditiong our departure from Mumbai, and made us feel safe. Criticism of the tour was the inordinate amoint of travel time: I wish Tauck was more forthcoming in its information packet *

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Varanasi was extrordinary The amount of poverty and yet devotion to religion waas a tribute to "hope".. *THE ENTIRE ITINERARY was excellent, except not enough time was allotted to enjoying the hotels in Jaipur and Udaipur. These were the top of the line. Itinerary needs to be adjusted; perhaps less time in the South.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and returned with some truly memorable moments. We are continually trying to balance the frequent requests for free time on tour versus on tour sightseeing. Rest assured your comments will be shared for consideration. We thank you for your patronage and do hope that you'll travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JeanDugan

India - Portrait

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2013

India has amazing sights both the well known like the Taj Mahal as well as surprises like the Khajuraho and Akshardham Temples. The Indian people are gracious and welcoming. Tauck's hotels and restaurant choices are excellent. India is a huge country and requires lots of traveling between sites. Wealth disparity could be troubling.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Taj Mahal for the first time and the Amber Fort with elephant ride.

review_img

katG

Fascinating India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

My first trip with Tauck was absolutely fantastic and a great introduction to extraordinary India. While not for the squeamish, it's not strenuous. Only caveat: with so much bus and plane travel, the packing list needs revising. See my comments elsewhere. Kudos to Tauck for the wonderful tour director and great guides.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable impression was not a single moment, but the overall impact of a rich, colorful, diverse, land of indescribable contrast: so much unbelievable beauty, incredible density and unimaginable poverty. And the greatest pleasure was in meeting delightful people.

review_img

judyspivak

portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

India is a country of deep contrasts. Severe poverty, soaring monuments and sincere, friendly people. Our local guides helped us make sense of the sites their unfamiliar design and history. I can't say enough about Steve [Employee Name] our tour director. He was efficient, on top of all details, smart, funny and always available.

Most Memorable Moment:

Riding on a boat on the ganges in the morning

review_img

mlcling

India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The trip was amazing. We learned so much about the people, their faith, and the hotels were fabulous. Lots of garage in the streets and beggars. It is a very hard trip as you are moving almost everyday. So glad we went but would not go back to India again. Without being on a tour, I would find this country unsafe for any woman.

Most Memorable Moment:

The knowledge of the country that our tour director, Peter had.

review_img

Mgt O'D

Grand Canadian Pockies

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2013

Well organized, wonderful director, beautiful scenery,exceptional hotels. What more could we ask for. It was one of our best Tauck tours.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking on the iceberg. The sea plane to Vancover. The raftering on the river in Banff. Just to name a few!

review_img

btoohill

A Fabulous Feast for the Senses

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2013

I had heard from others who had traveled to India that it would be like nothing else. They were absolutely right and Tauck provided a comfortable, knowledgeable, and thoughtful itinerary through this amazing country. Our tour director had a wealth of knowledge. The food and accommodations were superb.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were two. First the time spent at Varanasi being a witness to the incredible scene on the Ganges with a beautiful backdrop of the city. Second, seeing the Taj Mahal at daybreak. It was even more wonderful than I imagined.

review_img

CCdriver811

Once In A Lifetime Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

This was the first vacation I'd taken since'99. After my mom and husband passed away a little over a year ago I felt the need to get away. Wow,what an experience I had. The tour guides along the way were excellent. Our "CHACHA" was so well organized, he dispensed info on a daily/as needed basis, he was very well organized.

Most Memorable Moment:

My main focus was to see the Taj Mahal.I can't describe the feelings I had when I saw it! Varanasi,was a very moving experience,in a spiritual way. The Oberoi hotels we stayed at were incredible in every way, from service to accomodations and restaurants.Tauck always handled our lugguage, that was great too!

review_img

SusanRS

A Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

A memorable trip, from beautiful Khajuraho to horrifying poverty and cremations at the Ganges. Hotels are gorgeous with superb service. Simon Alderson, our OUTSTANDING tour director, ensured that everything went smoothly for the group at all times. His knowledge, sense of humor, and caring attitude made the trip a great time for us.

Most Memorable Moment:

The southern part of the trip is not to be missed, a contrast to the chaotic North. Tropical, lovely Cochin stands out with exotic backwaters and picturesque town. The lake resort in Kerala has beautiful views and grounds, a good place to relax. Mumbai is a must, huge and unexpectedly beautiful in places.

review_img

albertina

Last time in India was 35 years ago

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

W//e were very pleased with this trip. Each wonderful place that we stayed would have been better for three nights to appreaciate the fabulous stay. We could have not stayed in Southern India and put that time in Northern India, which was more interesting. We loved the way you took care of us. FABULOUS!!!!!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Th dagerous trip in the south when the driver of the bus killed the young child and eveyone Wanted to distroy the bus and ran after the the driver who disapeared into the jungle. The police ahowed up and our driver got off of the bus and brived the police so that we could drive on to our destination. I had read about this in the book "Antaraman"

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thanks for sharing your experience in India. I'm glad that you and our guests were fortunately not involved in that incident and were never in any danger. Yes, the fictional novel "Shantaram" has a similar scenario in beginning. We're also glad that you really enjoyed your trip overall and hope that you'll travel with us again in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

scrumpy

Awe inspiring

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

Travelling to India alone, female and of a certain age? Want to be totally looked after, with every little bit of organization skilfully planned to provide you with an amazing, awe inspiring, thought provoking, wonderful experience of India? No problem, Tauck met all my hopes and expectations, providing first class comfort in superb hotels .

Most Memorable Moment:

Words cannot describe the sights, sounds and smells of India ... An assault on the senses! Varnasi at night, driving into the Ramblah Palace at night to be met with ...not telling, it was amazing.Gentle, peaceful Kerala ..the massage a new experience! Back to bustling Mumbai and goodbye to lovely, interesting travelling companions. Thank you Tauck

TAUCK RESPONSE

So glad you had a wonderful trip and it was our please to be your hosts. We think India is amazing too!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

jshuchart

India...where the dirt has dirt...not a trip for everyone

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

The roughest trip, both emotionally and physically. Some eight hotels, seven different domestic flights, long train and bus rides. Up early (one day at 4:30 am). A country of immeasurable, almost incomprehensible contradictions. Beggars...billionaires...cows...more cows...stray dogs...stray monkeys. Tauck was great. India? Beyond description.

Most Memorable Moment:

Not memorable, but rather, impactful...seeing Varanasi where Indians bath in the Ganges...amongst the sludge and human ashes from cremations on the ghats. Witnessing the incomprehensible contradictions...the wealth and the enormous poverty. The impact Hinduism/Castes have on society. Accepting one's fate rather than struggling to improve.

review_img

ewold

The way to see India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

Tauck did a superb job of putting together and running a trip to India. Our tour leader was the ultimate professional and made touring a difficult country seem easy. The group was interesting and the country amazing.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Taj Mahal is better than could be imagined.

review_img

LeslieBayer

India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

Our first trip with Tauck and we will be back. We have traveled with many outfitters and Tauck is by far the best. Our tour directer could NOT have been better - he is simply a pro as is the entire organization. We were a little afraid of the large number of people on the tour (29) but it never seemed like a large group.

Most Memorable Moment:

Two places stand out - The Taj Mahal and Varanassi - the high and low of India - both memorable. Beyond the fabulous sights and the divine bubble of our fabulous hotels; we did see the real India and except for the terrible air - India is indeed incredible. A highly memorable trip. We recommend this trip without hesitation and Tauck the same. We

review_img

Portrait of India

A Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

Our trip was both disturbing and wonderful. Peter was a great guide. He was very organized, exceptionally knowledgeable and able to provide a lot of information while we were on our bus trips which made them pass quickly. This is not an easy trip. We covered quite a bit of territory. Loved the Oberoi Hotels.

Most Memorable Moment:

Agra through Udaipur were our favorite places.

review_img

candlev

A trip to remember

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

This trip exceeded our expectations. We were exposed to all the sights, sounds,smells and contrasts that India has to offer. We never experienced "delhi belly" which was our fear. The hotels were beyond amazing and our tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and organized. We would definitely take another Tauck trip!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Taj Mahal and experiencing the cremations at Varanasi.

review_img

Aspen

Excellent Introduction to Northern India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2012

Loved my recent trip to Northern India primarily because our guide, Peter, was so well informed about the Country, culture and people. His love and genuine interest of the history and progress of India was contagious. The hotels, sites and of course, the fellow travelers were all great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Saying good night to the Ganges in Varanasi and releasing our own candles on the river. Could also be having rose petals floating down as we entered the hotel in Udaipur.

review_img

Anne Marsh

A Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2012

If there is one trip that travellers MUST make in their lifetime, it should be to India. It goes from Amazing to Enthralling to Astonishing and all points inbetween. No tour I have taken with Tauck (and there have been seven) has come anywhere close to the magnificence of this trip. It should be Number One on everyone's Bucket List. Book today!

Most Memorable Moment:

The Taj Mahal (of course), Kerela, Mumbai, Varanasi, the palaces, the food, the superb organization, the lovely, smiling, willing people, the colours everywhere, the traffic (!), the vast contrasts, the hospitality, the bartering (once you got into the swing of it), the speed at which a designer outfit can be sewn and delivered to your hotel, etc.

review_img

ScorpioS

Spotlight on India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2012

Tauck did it again. They took a hard trip and lightened the load. The hotels were, except for one, magnificent, giving one the chance to relax for the next day. The sights to see are most interesting and not like any other part of the World. The Tour Director and local guides were outstanding. The staff at the hotels were very courteous.

Most Memorable Moment:

Needless to say, the Taj is a magnificent edifice to view. The happenings on the Ganges River are not as bad as you might have been led to believe. Once the guide explains it, you understand the reason why and look at it in another light. We are not fond of Indian food but were thrilled to find out that Italian food is available almost everywhere

TAUCK RESPONSE

So glad you had a wonderful trip and thanks for sharing your experience!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

liviaw

Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2012

Annie is the Best tour director EVER! She made the trip a wonderful experience. Funny, smart, and fully qualified. India is an exciting place, different than anything I have ever experienced. Going alone on the special singles tour was a bit scary, but Annie made all the difference.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching the sunrise over the lake at the Oberoi Resort in Udaipur, was my favorite. Also Watching the filming of the "Amazing Race" at the Agura Palace and Seeing Princess Caroline at the Amber Palace, were both exciting. Everything was special in its own way.

review_img

Jill Licata

Fascinating, Fabulous, and Shocking India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2012

Our India trip with Tauck was the most fascinating tour we have ever experienced. Although we stayed in opulent "palace" type hotels, we still were able to view and experience the culture and conditions of life that are unlike any we have seen anywhere, and these images will remain with us forever. Our tour director, Annie was fabulous.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was floating in a boat on the Ganges River after dark, coming upon throngs of people gathered on the river banks surrounding about twenty blazing funeral pyres. The cremation scene was surreal, and our tour group lit floating candles, setting them adrift on the river, adding to the atmosphere.

review_img

AlanGetz

Contrasts in Living

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2011

My initial reaction to my wife's suggestion to visit India was NOT ME. After many conversations I agreed to go. I'm pleased to tell you it was a revelationary experience. The history and culture of this magnificent country can only be understood by spending time there. It should be on every travelers Must Do list.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Taj is rightfully named one of the 7 wonders of the world but most memorable to me was traveling from region to region and learning about the multiple cultures living within this one country called India.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience and we hope to see you again soon!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Tphoffman

Portrait of India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2011

Excellent tour director, excellent itinerary, excellent accommodations wherever available. Mostly excellent local guides. The size of the group - 34- was much too large for me. The group consisted of lovely, interesting people, but still I felt it distracted me from opportunities to experience India. I did feel herded from time to time and I did not like that. In the future, I will be looking for very small group travel, no more than 12 people, and continue on our independent travels.

Most Memorable Moment:

The night on the Ganges.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Appreciate your taking the time to write us a review and give your feedback. Tauck does offer small group departures on many tours to accommodate those with that preference. Our Culturious trips are also organized into smaller groups. Hope this helps and we would love to travel with you again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Sharon Kates

A trip never to be forgotten.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2011

It was an amazing experience! To further describe it would be to just use more of the same superlatives. It was also an education, for though I knew much about the north - and nothing about the south - our master tour director was so knowledgeable and passionate about the entire country...it's history, culture and people...that he was able to pass on the information he knew as well as the love he felt for this country to the rest of us.

Most Memorable Moment:

There was not just one memorable moment....there were many and I would find it very difficult to pick out just one. However, I can mention the wonder of the overall bombardment of the senses which I felt so much of the time.

review_img

Winnie

Beautiful India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2011

Firstly, the arrival & departure transfer arrangement was perfect, giving the assurance that we were in good hand. Secondly, our Tour Director was courteous, efficient and considerate, especially to tour members (like me with a weak right knee)with some problems in movement. At times, he had to swallow unreasonable complaints & demands from some tour members. Thirdly, the itinerary was VERY well-planned. Lastly, hotel rooms & service, and meals could not have been better. Bravo!

Most Memorable Moment:

The ceremonial rituals along the banks of the sacred Ganges --- the purifying dip in the "holy waters" in the morning; the cremation of the dead at night were memorable moments. The only drawback was that after Day 11 in Udaipur when more than half of the tour members would go their separate ways, there was no get-together party for us to bid farewell to each other, so unlike the send-off dinner party in Autumn 2008 in my 7-day Tauck tour of Spain.

review_img

BrendaBoulton

Amazing India!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2011

Diversity! So many different experiences! Never a dull moment, from mind boggling Ganges River to the beauty of the Taj! Hotels were awesome!

Most Memorable Moment:

Favorite Hotel - Oberoi in Agra! Most memorial moment - this is tough! The bus ride, never to be forgotten, the Ganges River, truly eye opening, the Raumburg Palace, cool! Got to go see for yourself! Will bring my granddaughter to experience India. My grandson would hate the poverty.

review_img

Malcolm Jennings

A land of wonderful surprises.

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2011

India has progressed so much over the past decade, and Tauck has done a wonderful job in ensuring that if you travel with them you experience all that is possible. Be it the magnificent hotels, the vibrant colors, the unbelievable hospitality, the cities and towns visited, you will be surprised on just how wonderful a country India is. Peter who was our Tour Director ensured that our journey through India was memorable, he is wealth of information that went out of his way for each of us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Taj Mahal up close and personal was truly unbelievable. Pictures and videos of this mausoleum does not do justice to the grandeur of the structure both from the outside and on the inside too. Tauck will ask you to get up very early to see the Taj at dawn, worth it, even if it is to take pictures and enjoy the serenity of a mans tribute to his wife.

review_img

kevros

Spotlight on India!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2011

What an experience! Yes it was a world of contrast in India. Life is pretty tough for the Indians from our viewpoint but they seem happy people. After full days of colorful sightseeing how nice it was to go back to the beautiful Oberoi hotels to relax and then enjoy Indian food at its best. Our guide Peter was 'tops'! His knowledge, his attention to detail meant that each day flowed well. When we were deciding to go to India I knew it could be a challenge and Tauck came through for us indeed!

Most Memorable Moment:

I fulfilled my long held dream of sitting where Princess Di sat at the Taj Mahal! Think that might be a female thing! However, there was certainly a long queue of those that wanted to do the same. The Taj Mahal is breathtaking! Go see it! Don't think I have had the 'wow' factor like that before!

review_img

rragan

ONCE IN A LIFETIME

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2011

"A Portrait of India" is truly a once-in-a-lifetime journey/ exploration. Fortunately, I have had the experience twice -18 years ago - and it's still exciting, if not more so. India holds a fascination all its own. Friends and family ask why I wanted to return. Because its one of the most fascinating destinations on earth - poverty and opulence, sights, smells, colors, historical values and religions so different from our own, friendly people, incredible food. Not a boring minute. Great guide.

Most Memorable Moment:

There are so many: The scenes at the Varanasi ghats, the great palaces and ancient historical sights, the indescribable beauty of the Taj Mahal (of course), the beautiful hotels and absolutely fantastic swimming pools. All that said, my one most thrilling moment was a "surprise" extravaganza at the Rambagh Palace in Jaipur, which shall remain a secret for upcoming travelers.

review_img

dulim52

Very Impressive!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2011

Everything about this trip is fantastic. Varanasi is definitely an experience, but once is enough. I am not a religious fanatic. All the Oberoi hotels (except for Varanasi) are simply wonderful. Food is fantastic. The guides and Tauck tour director are exceptional.

Most Memorable Moment:

I don't know where to begin! Every place is marvelous!

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button