TravelerReviews

Spotlight on India

review_img

Indiabound

India spotlight ...January 30, 2018 ...spectacular

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

Great in every way. Never had to worry about anything ...Tauck did all the work. Just great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cremation ceremonies on the Ganges. Taj Mahal, Jaipur,

review_img

Chris201

Wonderful trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

Always on my bucket list,it surpassed my expectations. Wonderful hotels, every day made more memories to be treasured. Looked after from being met at Delhi to being delivered back there for coming home. The tour manager excellent, took good care of us us and had immense knowledge of the areas visited but also very approachable.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Taj Mahal at sunrise, the hotels, Varanasi so different but so special. The tuk-tuk rides walking through the markets, the Indian people and all the little extras that Tauck include making every day special.

review_img

snm31311

Awesome

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

A beautiful, educational trip. Very well organized, wonderful hotels. Our tour director was exceptional and took good care of us. This is a very intensive tour, early mornings, busy and tiring. Well worth it though. Fabulous food but it pays to be sensible about making good choices and pacing yourself.

Most Memorable Moment:

The balloon ride, the Taj Mahal at dawn, the markets of Udaipur. The people, the hotels, the food. The Ganges.

review_img

MGCGKC

Great Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

This is a great, mind expanding trip. Hotels are lavish, but the opportunities to see and learn about all aspects of India are ample. Logistics were very well managed.

Most Memorable Moment:

The iconic sights like the Taj met our high expectations, but the best memories came from wandering the streets and markets.

review_img

Vlasta J

Spotlight on India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2017

This was our 2nd Tauck trip. Fascinating,incredible India experience. On tour flights were well organized, hotels more superb as we proceeded to the next location. Tour director, all guides,drivers did a great job. Icing on the cake was on the last day early morning hot air balloon ride over Udaipur. When you go with Tauck it's travel refined.

Most Memorable Moment:

Evening and again morning experience of Varanasi was fascinating.

review_img

JAgnew

Spotlight on India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

Organised and delivered with the usual Tauck efficiency and attention to detail, this trip met all my expectations and more. India is an extraordinary country; a challenging but deeply rewarding destination. Travelling with my 4 sisters, we had our once in a lifetime experience together, and Tauck ensured it was the best time for us all. Go there!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many; observing the evening cremation ceremonies on the banks of the Ganges was probably the most significant. But the Taj Mahal, the red fort and the amber palace are truly great buildings with a rich history. And,on a lighter note,'Bus shopping' is a unique retail experience. The hotels are superb.

review_img

dekkr

Spotlight on India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

This was an excellent tour which my wife and I truly enjoyed. This is a great country to visit on a Tauck tour because we were able to see so much but on a comfortable, safe journey due to the excellent organization, experienced and knowledgable guides and director, and choice of the best hotels. Good balance of tour and free time.

Most Memorable Moment:

Varanasi with the evening boat ride and the early morning walk through the streets for another viewing of the River Ganges by boat. The Amber fort and the Taj Mahal were spectacular to see along with everything else on the tour. The Tuck tuck rides and walks through the streets and food markets were excellent as well.

review_img

Grandpa3

Spotlight on India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

Expertly run trip with excellent guides especially the tour director. Unique experience combining the extremes of India including a level of poverty with some of the most luxurious hotels in the world. The trip was well organized,efficiently run with great care for the tour guests from arrival to departure.

Most Memorable Moment:

The beauty of the Taj Mahal and the singular experience of cremations in Varanasi

review_img

klgubler

Wonderful Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

The trip covered all of the must sees in northern India. As usual with Tauck, everything was handled which made the trip truly enjoyable.

Most Memorable Moment:

The religious ceremonies on the Ganges were extremely moving and seeing the Taj Mahal was once in a lifetime.

review_img

TRE

Spotlight on India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2016

This trip offered a fabulous learning experience. This is a complex country with a complex culture emanating from a complex and diverse history - from the Mughals to the English to their ultimate independence. If you are a tourist, their focus is to to make you feel like you are the most important person anywhere. They did that. India is a must see

Most Memorable Moment:

Varanasi ceremonies.

review_img

Mustang

Spotlight on India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2016

Absolutely LOVED this trip!! Tauck really outdid themselves on the hotels!! The most amazing accommodations possible. The tour guide did an wonderful job and took great care of all of us. India is like nowhere else and the Taj Mahal was INCREDIBLE!! Even with all the poverty, everyone was very friendly and wanted pictures taken with us!

Most Memorable Moment:

The palatial hotel accommodations and of course seeing the BEAUTIFUL Taj Mahal was worth the trip!

review_img

Counselor

Spotlight on India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2016

It was a great trip. India is a wonderful country to visit, a different culture indeed. Although it is vastly overpopulated and there were crowds everywhere, we never had any fear being among the Indian people. Our tour director was great, he made a difficult trip (physically) very easy. We did not have to worry about a detail. Highly recommend.

Most Memorable Moment:

The people peaceful and nonviolent.

review_img

Mileg

Magical!!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

This tour is like a fairy tale... The country is amazing, the people are super friendly & helpful,the monuments & history are fascinating. The way the tour is put together makes it very pleasant & easy to do. The hotels are amazing you feel like a Royal. The Leela Palace is amazing!love the hotel and the Oberoi are incredible as well. Unforgettable

Most Memorable Moment:

Varanasi!it was amazing.. Love the Sadhus, the crazy cows..the spirituality of the place everything.Overall the entire trip is memorable,this is a fascinating country that everyone most visit. The morning at the Taj was magical, it was clear and the sunrise gave it a romantic look. The visit to the Ghandi museum was thought provoking ,The forts.

review_img

Amazing trip- Eye opening experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

Tauck did it again! Excellent tour, great hotels , well planned schedule, amazing culture and locals very friendly and helpful. We felt save at all times and Yes! there is cows @ the rural towns and yes! traffic is crazy.. but exiting! makes you feel alive. A most do. The Leela Palace hotel is like Heaven! we were treated like Royals.

Most Memorable Moment:

The entire trip. I had the chance to appreciate this great culture and their friendly people.

review_img

dneuser

More than we expected

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

Spotlight to India was our first Tauck trip and it definitely lived up to all our expectations. Our guide gave us tremendous insight into the culture and the fascination that India offers.

Most Memorable Moment:

We thought celebrating our 50th wedding anniv. at the Taj would be the highlight, but it was just one of many, many amazing experiences. Thanks, Tauck! We arrived to cake and flowers and rose petals in our bath. The staff at all the hotels could not have been better. But the surprise highlight was sunrise on the Ganges, an experience we treasure.

review_img

smilindia

Surpassed all expectations......

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2016

Spotlight On India truly exceeded all expectations. The scope and pace of the itinerary provided as comprehensive an experience as one could hope for. Stunning accommodations. The exceptional ongoing narrative by the tour director and his colleagues provided a unique perspective within which to frame the complexities of this extraordinary culture

Most Memorable Moment:

Difficult to choose...This itinerary is one of the few that includes Varanasi, frequently described as the spiritual center of India on the Ganges. Viewing the funeral pyres on the ghats at sunset and returning pre-dawn to witness the sunrise salutations was a profoundly impactful experience. No words or photos could do it justice. Pure magic.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your wonderful review. Glad you enjoyed your trip.India is truly an extraordinary destination.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

PegKay

Breathtaking trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

I have wanted to travel to India for some time. The people of India, the sights, the colors, all so amazing! The Oberoi hotels are all fabulous. Our Tour Director was incredible. This was my first Tauck experience, and definitely not my last!

Most Memorable Moment:

Interactions with the delightful children of India, the sunset and sunrise ceremonies in Varanasi, the Taj Mahal, Diwali festival in Jaipur, elephant ride at Amber Fort and the monkeys everywhere, impromptu tuk tuk ride in Udaipur, the Red Fort, the Agra Fort, the walk through the temples and market in Orchha, camaraderie with fellow guests.

review_img

Doctorjeffboston

Wonderful Exotic trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

My wife and I took the Spotlight on India trip in November 2015. Like everyone on the group we were a bit nervous about going to India. It turned out to be the best trip that we have ever taken. India is a county of multiple contrasts which assaults all your senses everyday. The trip was very well organized and well run. The hotels were wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking around Udaipur in the evening with my wife (without the group) with our guide and getting a feel for the real India outside the bubble of the trip.

review_img

judy hecht

spotlight on India trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2015

Quite comprehensive, covering a lot of ground. The experiences were varied and I got an idea of the culture of India first hand. Local guides and Tauck director were excellent, well informed and fun, but some more work could be done to keep group together at all times, since a few people somehow got disconnected and had to manage themselves.

Most Memorable Moment:

Stay in Varanasi and viewing the museum in Sarnath

review_img

Wuestski

Fascinating India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2015

This was our first land trip with Tauck. We have taken 3 previous river cruises with the company and this, like the other trips exceeded our expectations. Our Tour Director Jennifer was invaluable. Her knowledge of the country was astounding for a non-native. All of the cities and hotels on the trip were amazing. Tauck made India easy.

Most Memorable Moment:

The morning sunrise cruise on the Ganges in Varanasi was very special.

review_img

Felicia

Perfection

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2015

Everything from reservations and being greeted at the airport through the last minute of being escorted to the airport was sheer perfection. I was a bit nervous about going to India as a solo female, but I felt completely safe the entire time. The tour was laid out so there was luxury intermingled with seeing the real India.

Most Memorable Moment:

All of it was great; however, seeing Varanasi at night and then in the early morning was by far the memory I will carry with me forever.

review_img

Diana gould

Truck trip to India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

The most glorious, colorful, exciting trip ever...hotels incredible, food wonderful, guides care and kindness, warmth and charm beyond compare...best too, included the wonderful people we traveled with....they were all so warm and bright....I learned so much from people with us which helped to make it that much more wonderful....

Most Memorable Moment:

Varanasi experience was life changing

review_img

MARLENE P

OUT OF THIS WORLD

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2014

I HAVE TRAVELLED TO SOME OF THE BEST PLACES IN THE WORLD, BUT TRAVELLING WITH TAUCK HAS SURPASSED ALL MY EXPECTATIONS. THIS WAS NOT A GROUP TOUR, BUT SHARING NEW AND INCREDIBLE EXPERIENCES. THIS WAS WAY BEYOND JUST SEEING THE SIGHTS, WE GOT TO PARTAKE IN DINING IN THE MAHARAJAHS PALACE, BEING WELCOMED BY DANCERS, ELEPHANTS AND CAMELS. BEST TRIP!!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

TOO MANY TO NAME- RIDING THE BOAT ON THE GANGES AND SEEING THE CREMATORIUM, BATHERS AND ANOTHER SIDE OF LIFE I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED. THE TAJ MAHAL- MAGNIFICENT

review_img

Spotlight on India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Our tour exceeded all of our expectations. We had confidence that the tour director knew the environment thoroughly and that he was in complete control at all times. Abijat demonstrated the perfect balance between professional execution of the tour while still being personable and approachable. He made our trip memorable.

Most Memorable Moment:

We can't identify one memorable moment. Every day was amazing, often jaw-dropping. Abijat impressed us with his ability to respond to individual special interests while not inconviencing other guests e.g. a private visit to an artist's studio. "ChaCha" made every moment enjoyable and memorable. It was an unforgetable trip.

review_img

bobgailw

Fascinating trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

We loved this trip toIndia! Every city had something unique to offer, and even the Taj Mahal didn't disappoint! Aby, our guide, was an excellent companion ( more like a friend ) - extremely knowledgeable and he worked diligently to make sure all our needs were met. The hotels and meals were wonderful. Don't hesitate to go.....

Most Memorable Moment:

There are so many - among them, seeing the ceremonies on the Ganges would rank very high, as would our first glimpse of the fabulous Taj Mahal.

review_img

Phil in McLean

Experience of a lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2014

Tauck did an excellent job of helping tour members balance the grandeur of the Mughal forts and temples and the majesty of Indian palaces and tombs with the poverty, chaos and debris that are fundamental parts of India. The immersion into India's culture was both gentle and deep.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moment was not an individual, real-time experience, but rather an after-the-fact processing of two contrasting memorable moments: an unanticipated walk through Varanasi on the way to the Ganges and the fulfillment of a dream of standing before the Taj Mahal.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button