TravelerReviews

Northern India & Nepal

review_img

RichardSaunders

Dick and Muriel

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

Spectacular experience in every way. A little concerned about the 4-star difficulty level, but even with iffy back, saw everything with no problem. As usual, wonderful accommodations and food, seamless connections and transitions, and wonderful hosts at every stop. Choosing the India trip with visit to Nepal is highly recommended.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Mt. Everest up close; tigers, leopard, and rhinos; and a sense of Indian life were highlights. We lost a couple of game drives due to Holi, the national holiday. But, by far, celebrating Holi with the lodge staff and guides will be remembered most. So ready to return with granddaughters!! Would go next year if they were just a bit older.

review_img

Stuart Mowat

Truly the Trip of a Lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

There is not enough space to describe how great this trip was. (1)memorable sights of Delhi (2)Nepal turned out to be an amazing place, with such a different culture and outlook, and of course rhinos in the national park! (3)Agra, views of the Taj Mahal from our hotel, and visits to the monument at sunrise. (4)monuments at Khajuraho! (5) Mumbai!

Most Memorable Moment:

Of all the many memorable moments, mine is perhaps a personal one. While touring Mumbai on foot, two of us got to join locals in a pickup game of cricket! Did you ever hear of that? But we saw tigers, rhinos, and crocodiles, and did a safari on the back of an elephant! Besides all of that, Nepalese culture was worth the whole trip!

review_img

booter

lost opportunity

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2018

going on safari to see tigers rhino etc was the hook especially tigers. when we arrived for india safari we were supposed to have 5 outings. they scheduled a morning and pm safari on national holiday which closed everything so we lost 2 of them. it's important to have the full 5 to get chance to see the wildlife. they dropped the ball.

Most Memorable Moment:

we did manage to have one close tiger sighting.

review_img

JPope

India Nepal Review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2018

One suggestion on the elephant safari in Nepal, the afternoon safari starts too late, 3:30 and returns at 6:15, dark. We had no time with the elephants after the safari like the AM people did. Suggest start at 2:30 return 5:30 and daylight for 1/2 hour with elephants. Plus more padding on elephants to protect thighs hanging over the edge, painful

Most Memorable Moment:

The trip was awesome, fantastic and an adventure of a lifetime. The Tour Director was wonderful and did a magnificent job. Memorable moments: Everest, sites-sounds-smells and Tigers. Taj Mahal so-so, overcast weather. All accommodations: Wonderful

review_img

Park

Much better than expected

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

The itinerary was fabulous, the tour director excellent and the other members of our Tauch Tour group were great fun. There was an excellent mix of cultural sites, exciting game drives in the national parks, and excellent accommodations. The food and service at every stop was outstanding. We loved the “sundowner” in Chilean National Park as well

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing a tiger in Bandhogarh National Park in Central India was at the top followed by our time at the Taj Mahal, particularly seeing the sun rise over the Taj.

review_img

Gogirl

Northern India and Nepal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2017

Adventurous, fun, exotic, very interesting. Exceeded expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Bengal tiger at watering hole - wonderful photos and experience. The monastery visit, the ancient temples, the contrast between the cities and the parks. Both were great in their own ways. Also very interesting were the drives through the villages enroute to the lodges. People, especially in Nepal, were so gentle and friendly

review_img

2 Farmers

Exotic India and Nepal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2017

This was an adventure of a lifetime. It was filled with action each and every day and each day brought about another memorable moment. Mt Everest was an awesome sight. The Taj Mahal was a location that literally took ones breath away. The safaris were exciting and sighting tigers and leopards was an event to be remembered. Great accommodations also.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many moments that it is really hard to single out just one, from the people that were with us on the tour to sights of cremations and Mt. Everest in Kathmandu to tigers and leopards within a few feet of us and finally the Taj Mahal were all incredible. The Indian people's hospitality was also quite endearing.

review_img

donald waldorf

Nepal/Northern India

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2017

The best of our 10 Tauck tours so far. Great adventure, wonderful hotels and lodges, great Tauck service and most of all, memorable experiences. Himilayan peaks and Everest, rhinos seein a jungle aboard an elephant, Bengal tiger sightings twice in Bandvargahr, the Taj (seen 2 years ago but fresh and wonderful) great hotels and lodges special

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to say one but Everest was special as was elephant safari.

review_img

Shirley brooks

A MUST tour for the inquisitive traveler

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

Tauck is all alone at the very top of tour traveling! They have picked the best things to see and do, stay in the most beautiful hotel and lodges, the food is always delicious with tons is selection even if you are a picky eater, the guides are calm, kind, and informative making the trip hassle free! From now on it is Tauck - no one else 😄😄😄

Most Memorable Moment:

Actually many moments, flying over Everest, seeing the one horned rhino, seeing Dottie the Bengal tiger, Taj Mahal and of course New Delhi & Mumbai 🕌

review_img

Lawrie

India/Nepal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2017

This is a fabulous, quick-paced trip through two amazing cultures and civilizations, including visits to two national parks for safaris and a flyby of Mt. Everest and the Taj Mahal. Of all the tour groups we could have booked for a similar excursion, Tauck stood out as the best. This was our fifth trip with them.

Most Memorable Moment:

We traveled in January. However, I recommend to others they consider a warmer month such as March. It is quite chilly and several meals are outside at night. Some hotel lobbies are not heated.

review_img

Mike_Judy_B

Fantastic New Itinerary

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

The new itinerary with extended time in Nepal,including a jungle safari is fantastic. Getting to do a safari on an elephant was a great experience. All of the accommodations were outstanding and the meals were an excellent variety of local cuisine and quite interesting. The devastation and rebuilding after the 2016 earthquake were enlightening.

Most Memorable Moment:

Experiencing the people and their culture was the big WOW for me. Even more so than Mt. Everest,the Taj Mahal or three tiger sightings. But every day brought memorable moments. A big thank you to our Tauck tour guide and all the local guides.

review_img

KathrynH

Be Prepared for the Cremations So You Can Enjoy the Other Experiences More Fully

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2015

Reading travel forum forewarns travelers that this trip has primitive aspects. The accommodations and service are great. The thrill of following tigers around parks is enormous. There is less walking than for the Russia tour (but some of the rides we took rivaled an amusement park for their thrill factor). It's India/ Nepal which means less comfort

Most Memorable Moment:

We went on all of the safari trips (and missed the village tour) to see the elusive tigers and were rewarded for our persistence. Tigers are sneaky. Bamboo jungles are dense. Tigers are much harder to spot than are the animals in Africa (but that is part of their allure). We also enjoyed the flight-seeing of Mount Everest. "Bucket list" is shorter!

review_img

rogermcnair

Northern India and Kathmandu

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

This is a long trip that covers lots of territory. The people, food and accommodations are excellent. Several days are spent traveling both by air and by private car which makes the trip onerous. And walking on the rough surfaces in Nepal can be trying. DO NOT take this trip unless you are physically fit! Am I glad we did it? Absolutely!

Most Memorable Moment:

It is difficult to pick just one; however, the most unexpected and pleasant was being rushed by the Indian teenagers in New Delhi and Agra to have their pictures taken with us. Their enthusiasm is contagious; and no they are not trying to pick your pocket.

review_img

jim0947

Northern India and Nepal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

A memorable albeit demanding trip. Lots of firsts. Great people met and lots of sights seen. Biggest negative about the trip is the area covered is reasonably large so there is a fair amount of time spent traveling either by air, rail or or suv. Not much way around this, though if you want to see the sights!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing a tiger in the wild, the Taj Majal, Nepal (and the Himalayas), and the people we met.

review_img

RayFFoster

India and Nepal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Outstanding trip, although not for the faint of heart or culturally chalenged! It was physically challenging with early mornings and long distances to reach the national parks. After 4 days on safari, managed to see only one tiger. Some in the group saw two. They are very elusive animals! Hotels second to none. Oberoi in Agra is a palace!

Most Memorable Moment:

Flight seeing the Himalayas. Taj Mahal and the Oberoi Amervalis in Agra. That hotel is a destination unto itself!

review_img

GigiJeanne

Northern India and Nepal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

OMG what can I say. It was all so exciting and wonderful from cold Delhi to warm Nepal to flying over Mt. Everest and listening to a Sherpa tell us bout her scaling the mountain TWICE! Tigers on the safari and a python too. A first for our driver too!! Lunch Box brigade in Mombai and "Bus Bazaars" all so much fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting a home and school and seeing the happy children who have practically nothing but eager to learn. And of course the cows all over. Holy Cow now I know where that phrase came from.

review_img

raj32254

Best India trip I have ever taken as Indian origin

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Abhi was wonderful in answering question everyone of us had. We had best time in Kanha national park as most of us in our group spotted tigers. Health was major concern for our group as many of us got sick on our way back from Nepal. I had bad experience with another client as he had bad attitude towards me & my wife. Made us fill like he hated us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Kahna National Park & Taj Mahal in Agra & Mt Everest in Nepal. Wish we would have been able to see Mt Everest closer than we saw from plane. Excellent trip overall.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We are very pleased you enjoyed your overall trip. We are sorry you had a poor experience with another guest but still experienced some truly memorable moments. Once again, thank you for your patronage and we do hope you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

LSchwartz

India and Nepal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

This is a rigorous trip, and quite an awakening to another culture. Our tour guide Abi made the trip extraordinary. He was knowledgable, compassionate, and handled difficult situations with grace and humor. Too much time was spent getting to the national parks and looking for the elusive tiger. The rest of the trip was brilliant!

Most Memorable Moment:

Finally seeing the bengal tiger! Watching the guide and spotter get so excited when she finally appeared. And we got to see 2….the male and the female. And Mumbai and the lunch boxes was just like the movie. What a treat! And spending time with the sherpa who did the first ascent on Mount Everest…India was an awakening of what is possible!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed you overall journey and experineced so many memorable moments. We are sorry that some of the traveling arrangements fell below your expectations and rest assured your comments will be shared with management.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

lizbettyn

Trip of a Lifetime!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2015

Firstly,Abi, our excellent leader, set the standard for an amazing trip. He was professional and super organised allowing the trip to run very smoothly. Our accommodation and the service we received was beyond first class and the itinerary was varied with some wonderful surprises along the way. All of these features created a trip of a lifetime.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many wonderful memories but when we were finally given the "all clear" to board our flight to Mt Everest and a huge cheer erupted in the airport, is something I will never forget! So much joy! Smiles and colour! These will always be my memories when I think of my trip to India and Nepal.

review_img

Jeff Jefferson

A trip that's hard to describe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

This adventure is truly an adventure. My wife and I have traveled through out Asia in the past but traveling through India and Nepal was a true life changing experience. This is not an easy trip but I don't know how else we could have experienced the culture and people of India and Nepal without traveling by bus, SUV, train and plane.

Most Memorable Moment:

Traveling by SUV caravan from one village to the next and seeing every day Indian life and culture

review_img

Salwitz

The trip "lacking nothing"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Why "lacking nothing": because the experience was just that varied. It was a complicated trip and planned and handled very well. From the animal conservation park to the opulent hotels of Delhi and Mumbai it was a joy. Details were handled with great care and we were left to enjoy much of what India has to offer

Most Memorable Moment:

We were in a small town early in the trip at a first class inn and we walked over to the river and observed the funeral/cremation that is customary in this culture. Obviously Everest was notable as well as the many grand meals.

review_img

oziekev

This trip needs a lot of re working!!!!!!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

People need to be aware that this trip is not as advertised.There are several long travel days.Some more than 7.5hrs in small suv's.The Tauck hand out that was given on tour states"each of these vehicles seats 4 people comfortably" This would only be true if your were small in size or had no driver.WHAT HAPPENED TO THE COACH AS STATED.

Most Memorable Moment:

The sights were very good as was the quality of hotels.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We would like to apologize for the delay in response and we are happy to learn that you are currently working with our Guest Relations Department on a resolution.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

BillWest66

An Adventure to Remember

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: March 2014

The Northern & Nepal trip is a demanding, wondrous adventure from the teaming cities of Delhi and Mumbai to the quiet of two beautiful, remote National Parks. You need to be ready for a little discomfort during long rides over awful roads and some very early wake up calls but the rewards are worth it. Accommodations and Tour Director were superb.

Most Memorable Moment:

Morning flight over the Himalayas. Taj Mahal. Visits to the small villages near the national parks.

review_img

Henri

Too much to do, too little time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2014

Northern India and Nepal is a very strenuous trip. Too many activities are crammed in. Drives in SUVs are too long. Need to drop 2nd game park and add 1 more day in Nepal and Mumbai instead. Tauck arrangements and admin are outstanding. Hotels are the best. Tour Director was excellent. But I needed some real "down time" along the way

Most Memorable Moment:

Nepal -- visits to cremation site, temples and Himalayas were the highlight of the trip. Seeing a tiger in the wild would have been the memorable moment, but we didn't! Taj Mahal was spectacular too.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are very pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and experienced some truly memorable moments. We are continually trying to balance the frequent requests for free time on tour vs. more on-tour sight-seeing so rest assured your comments will be looked into immediately. Again we thank you for your patronage and look forward to hosting you on a future adventure.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

tcastanias

Words cannot describe the experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

This is a very unique trip. It encompasses so many aspects of India and Nepal-cities, antiquities, history, culture, safari, small towns, countryside, and so much about the people. We had the world's best tour director who is passionate about his country, and went above and beyond the whole trip. It was a wonderful experience, and we would go back!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the female tiger drinking at a stream 15 feet from our safari vehicle! They are very elusive and to see one is special. Second was seeing the Taj Mahal from our bedroom window!! Third was seeing Mt Everest from the air. Our tour director, Abijat [Employee Name], was nothing short of stupendous! He made the trip successful in every respect.

review_img

David NYC

Northern India and Nepal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

This was the best trip from all 19 trips we have taken with Tauck. The itinerary was well structured. We stopped in Delhi and toured the TAJ mahal in Agra. We had several safari TIGER games and video taped a TIGER walking along our path. Abhijat, the tour director, provided information for topology & history. He was always available & ready to help

Most Memorable Moment:

It is always better to visit and admire TAJ mahal the second time. The Tiger Kanha Games drives were great. Watching a Tiger walking in front of us was unbelievable. The private flight to see and admire the snow covered mountains of Everest,Lhote, Shisha Pangma and others was excellent. The Tour Director, Abhijat, made this trip memorable.

review_img

RBerliner

Northern India and Nepal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: December 2013

This trip, our eleventh Tauck tour, ranks among the best. No other tour we have taken provided such diversity - - Nepal and seeing Mt. Everest from a private airplane, the Tag Mahal and many other UNESCO world heritage monuments in India, the two major Indian cities, and the safaris in two Indian national parks.

Most Memorable Moment:

Difficult to choose. Seeing tigers in the wild, viewing the Himalayas from the air, Taj Mahal, and the Indian countryside are all contenders.

review_img

RW TRAVELER

India and Nepal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: November 2013

Wonderful trip. A very gruling trip, Say Mt Everest and tigers on all trips on safari, Wonderful accomidations and the people we had as guides and hotels were the best. Deli had nothing to offer and could have been cut short! This trip is not a vacation but a expedition always on the go fron sun up to sun down. Glad we have done the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seing Mt Everest, Taj Mahal, Tigers, Nepal was great and could have spent more time enjoying this country

review_img

Larryd

Northern India/Nepal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

this trip provides visits to sights to behold (Everest, Taj Mahal, tigers in natural setting) as well as a perspective on life/religion/history in India/Nepal that is eye-opening. Driving to/from state parks is on poor roads and ride is bumpy at times. Accomodations first-rate, food choice very good and excellent tour director. Small group great.

Most Memorable Moment:

we had a chance to see a tiger stalking a deer as well as 2 cubs playing in a pond and chasing each other. Tauck group has exclusive park rights at times so we were only group that saw tigers. We were only ones on plane to see Everest and got to visit cockpit while near Everest. Taj Mahal a must see in person. Khajuraho Temple was fascinating!

review_img

Aadler9427

Great destination. Poorly planned out.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

After a dozen trips with Tauck we were used to a certain pace of a trip and this one was just not thought out well. You don;t tell your customers that they have 15 minutes to freshen up to get to a temple that is closing in an hour after an 9 hour SUV drive over the worst possible roads. Poor layout of many aspects of the trip left 16 people total

Most Memorable Moment:

ly exhausted. Someone needs to reconfigure some things because you are one of my favorite companies. You rely on word of mouth and the word from this trip will not be as positive as you would like. Saying that the morning flight over Mt. Everest, sunrise at the Taj and the amazingly happy people in rural India will be my best memories.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry that some aspects of the trip fell below your expectations, but are still happy that you returned with some truly memorable moments. We will immediately look into your comments and take any and all corrective actions where necessary.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

EFWoodhouse

Experience of a lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: February 2013

In 17 days we saw Delhi, Mt Everest, Buddist and Hindu temples, Taj Mahal, monkeys and tigers. Finished up in Mumbai. Great hotels great food. Outstanding tour leader who got us going early to late with great charm and humor. The pace is fast - as the leader said "this is not a holiday". You need to be ready for 7 hours in an SUV over bumpy roads.

Most Memorable Moment:

Talking with a Buddist monk. Seeing a Hindu river side cremation. Flying near Mt Everest. Watching the sun rise over the Taj Mahal. Tracking tigers.Seeing a typical Indian rural village. Too difficult to choose one.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Truly an incredible experience. Thank you so much for sharing your memories.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Darline

India and nepal

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: January 2013

Oh my gosh ... Talk about visiting another world! Truck orchestrated a journey that is spectacular. A life changing trip. Nepal was a treat. If you cannot get to Mount Everest the flight seeing tour is the next best thing. The Taj Mahal visit was excellent. The smells, the sounds, and the sights grow on you. Unforgettable.

Most Memorable Moment:

We particularly choose this journey for the game drives in the two parks. We were not disappointed. This trip changed our taste buds as we learned about how to use spices and the difference between spices and one or two chilies.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button