TravelerReviews

Canadian Maritimes

review_img

Jeremy_B_Jones

Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

It was our first experience with a small tour, and it was wonderful. We had a super guide who was knowledgeable about Canada, and thoughtful of those of us on the tour. We could not have asked for a better guide!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many: the scenery was magnificent!

review_img

GloriaMcKinley

Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

We so enjoyed experiencing the culture, music/arts, history of the area. The people are so proud of their heritage and enjoy sharing it with visitors. What a beautiful country! The tour guide added so much flavor, very knowledgable, especially with including the local music. Great seafood!

Most Memorable Moment:

Experiencing Cape Breton Island

review_img

Alhauser

Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Positives: accommodations, food, tour leader, bus driver. Negatives: 1. 42 people! Did not expect this large a group with Tauck. 2. Not enough time at Lunenburg, Hopewell Rocks and Bell museum. Felt rushed at each location. Trip to Alma was unnnecessary and out of the way just to eat. Should have had more time at Hopewell Rocks Museum instead.

Most Memorable Moment:

1. Stay at Keltic Lodge. Hike there was challenging but fun! 2. Wonderful seafood thruout the trip. A special treat was the fantastic meal at the ‘Windjammer Restaurant’ in Moncton, New Brunswick. 3.The friendly fellow travelers.

review_img

Mike Keohane

Great Time in the Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Learned a great deal more about Canada than I previously knew. Loved the people and the scenery.

Most Memorable Moment:

Enjoyed the complete trip. First class guide and driver.

review_img

Shakerjoan

Too much bus travel

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

It was disappointing. After years of trying to find the right tour, my husband and I chose this tour. We had no idea how much time we would spend on the bus, where there was little to see, except a lot of pine trees. In retrospect, we should have done our sightseeing of this beautiful land by cruise, as the sights were best along the shore and coves.

Most Memorable Moment:

our stay at Liscombe Mills Lodge. Should have been longer, with less time at Keltic Lodge (where we wasted a day).

review_img

SteveD56

Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

The tour director, bus driver, and the bus itself were of a high quality and quite pleasant. Dining opportunities were also very nice and the scenery was amazing. The trip is best for people with limited mobility. Very little opportunity for active events outside of two walking tours that were painfully slow with too much detail.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable event was the hiking trail on the grounds of the Keltic Lodge. It was the only opportunity on the tour for an active outdoor experience. The Tauck tour was great for those with limited physical mobility.

review_img

grodzinskyf

Scenery and Seafood

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

The Canadian Maritimes, from Halifax to Cape Breton Island is a trip filled with wondrous scenery, friendly folk and wonderful food. There is opportunity to hike, explore the Hopewell Rocks and visit Green Gables. PEI is charming and the Cabot Trail filled with vistas. AG Bell Museum and Maude Lewis Gallery round out the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to name one. Great seafood everywhere!

review_img

FriTang

Canadian maritimes a memorable place

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

I just completed the Canadian Maritimes tour and know this is a place I want to return to. The beauty of the coast along the Cabot Trail on Cape Breton Island can't be topped. While it's a long bus ride with lots of forests blocking the view at times, the vistas are spectacular and we were blessed with blue skies, clear weather and lots of mussels.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking along the beach on Prince Edward Island and seeing the sand dunes was spectacular because it was topped off with cliff views and Scottish bagpipes. The hike on middle peninsula trail on Cape Breton Island was well worth it and seeing bald eagles was the best.

review_img

Jack Woz

Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

We really enjoyed our tour and learned a great deal about our neighbor to the North (The True North Strong and Free). The Maritimes are universally beautiful, some parts even more impressive than others. Cape Breton was staggering in both the majestic beauty of the sea and mountains and in the nature that engulfs you. PEI was "Anne" wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

The hike at the Keltic Lodge with Kesti, the naturalist, to the end of Middle Head. It was educational and exhilarating. Honorable mention to Paul Gaudet, local guide at Hopewell Rocks he was both learned and funny. Thanks to Director and Driver. A great team. Loved Halifax City as well. We'll be back to see more.

review_img

Dan S Bohlmann

Canadian Maritimes were fantastic!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

We were fortunate to have perfect weather with only one day of rain. Our director and our driver made our trip much more interesting. They even became entertainers one night by singing with guitar together. Where do you find such great people? They made the trip more fun than ever. Our Tauck Director kept us very informed and our motor coach driver served us well.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to choose from! I guess it would be our stay at the Keltic Lodge because of the incredible scenery and the hike we took there out to the end of the peninsula. What views and pictures I took. Then other outstanding moments close behind were the Cabot Trail, Peggy's Cove, the Hopewell Giants, the farmlands and homes and A.G.Bell Museum.

review_img

EdwinJacobs

CANADIAN MARITIMES

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

The Maritimes are a wonderful mixture of spectacular landscapes and coastlines combined with three centuries of history created by settlers from Scottish, Irish, English and French cultures that migrated here. Our local tour director knew it all! - and made the few long bus rides we made to see it all very entertaining.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cape Breton Highlands Bay of Fundy Anne of Green Gables Halifax

review_img

Meco

A wonderful trip to the Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

I was surprised that our trip had 44 people but was pleasantly surprised how everyone was on time and very friendly. I loved the sights we saw and I especially loved our tour guide and his driver. They were awesome and very funny and kind. They should be commended for being excellent at their jobs. It is not easy corralling 44 people.

Most Memorable Moment:

Every moment was memorable and the people on our tour really got along well. I think the best time I had was our next to last stop at the Keltic Lodge. I was fortunate to have a porch and a water view and we had plenty to do including a nature walk.

review_img

Journey together

A Long and Winding Road

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Lots of sea ports and quaint fishing towns. Very nice accommodations. The meals were very good, but probably could have been pared down for lunch. On some days, the time on the bus was extensive (sometimes up to one and a half hours) due to the rural area. Overall, a lovely trip but could have been a day or two shorter.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing (or not seeing) Peggy's Cove in the dense fog. The locals deal with this on a daily basis and is definitely something we do not see often where we live in the mid-west.

review_img

JudithCerniglia

canadian maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

hotels and accomodations not to usual Tauck standards. For instance, mini bars in every room, not one with any contents. Not even turned on. Food very average or below average. Worst value vs. cost of all our trips.

Most Memorable Moment:

Bay of Fundy

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry that you were disappointed in this journey. I have passed along your comments to our Guest Relations Department who will be in contact with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

RichardLeaman

Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Beautiful scenery. Trip was well paced. Food and accommodation were very nice. Some of the best sea food ever. Would like to have visited more historical sites such as Grand Pres and Louisbourg. Scenery was gorgeous but got boring after a while

Most Memorable Moment:

Luneberg followed closely by visit to Bay of Fundy

review_img

Artie Tepper

This was not Tauck Quality

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

My wife and I and a second couple recently completed (June 2018) a Tauck tour of the Canadian Maritimes. We were quite excited to try a bus tour of this area after a recent outstanding Tauck tour of Iceland - don’t miss that one. Unfortunately, this past excursion was perhaps the worst of nearly 20 trips that we have taken.

Most Memorable Moment:

After our time spent in Nova Scotia, it was all down hill. There was way too much time spent on the bus with interesting places few and FAR BETWEEN. One day (#7) we spent nearly the entire day traveling with two stops at tourist traps. The Keltic Lodge in Cape Benton was lovely but service was horrendous- “Not enough staff for the summer months”

review_img

SandraMatthews

Expectations met and exceeded !!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

From our arrival in Halifax and Welcome Dinner at The Citadel to our Farewell Feast 10 days later, this trip was outstanding! We learned so much about Canadian history and the development of the Maritime Provinces through our excellent tour guide, experienced breath-taking sights(Bay of Fundy Tidal Change)and beautiful ocean side drives - lovely!

Most Memorable Moment:

Although it's hard to pick out just one moment from this trip, I would have to say that we truly loved going to visit The Anne of Green Gables property, because not only was I a fan of the book, we had just seen the musical production of this the previous evening at the Confederation Center in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island...sweet memories!

review_img

GailMikeS

Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

We traveled through Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island. The scenery was absolutely beautiful in all three Provinces, but different for each. The accommodations and food were excellent and we visited very interesting sites along the way. Our tour guide and driver were terrific. We were informed and entertained.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking along the Bay of Fundy at Hopewell Rocks.

review_img

Bill from Chicago area

Another outstanding experience

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

My wife and I chose this for our 5th Tauck tour. Others have seemed so exotic, we opted this time for quicker travel to a shorter tour and were once again fully pleased. We saw some new fascinating places, had some new experiences, and met some wonderful people. Every stop was worthwhile! While not literally my "best vacation ever," it's up there!

Most Memorable Moment:

My most memorable aspect was the outstanding direction of our tour director, enhanced by the active participation of our driver. We enjoyed them as much as anyone in the group. I especially liked the Halifax waterfront, the architecture of Lunenburg, Hopewell Rocks, Confederation Bridge, the Bell museum, and the greenery of Nova Scotia.

review_img

JMalcolm

Canadian Maritimes - Sept 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Our trip was one of the best we have taken. The tour offered a variety of activities from beautiful views and landscapes to cultural experiences like we've never experienced before. The Canadian Maritimes are spectacular, especially as the autumn leaves are coming into full color. The tour director and the motor coach driver really made the tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

The entire environment of the Canadian Maritimes with the beautiful vistas and landscapes, the cultural experiences of the Gaelic College and the extraordinary artistry on display at the rug hooking museum, and the small features included such as learning about lobster trapping and the history of the Maritimes.

review_img

kadywi1

Picture Postcard Perfect

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Having never visited the Canadian Maritimes, we were not expecting such sublime, gorgeous scenery, including picturesque homes, farms, and seemingly endless natural beauty. The cities and towns were charming, the local people very helpful and friendly. The local guides were very well versed in knowledge of their environs, and I learned a lot.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were too many to choose just one.

review_img

JohnFriedman

Pretty Coastlines, not much else

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Too much bus time. Accommodations were OK but hardly memorable. Had a lovely tour director that helped pass the time. Disappointed that the fall colors were late this year. All in all, I'd pick a different trip for the money.

Most Memorable Moment:

I'm stumped.

review_img

Explorer08

Canadian Maritimes: Marvelous Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

We did the Canadian Maritimes trip September 19th through the 29th, 2017. It really was a marvelous trip. Tauck took great care of us the whole way. Our tour director was spectacular. He was friendly, attentive to our needs, and knew the area like the back of his hand. He was constantly following up to make sure our needs were met.

Most Memorable Moment:

We enjoyed our time at the Keltic Lodge the most although there were many memorable moments such as The Citadel in Halifax or the Bay of Fundy in New Brunswick. Bus trips were quite long but that's because the sights were so far apart.

review_img

JohnArnold

Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Wonderful trip. Director was informative and full of surprises as we traveled our route. Driver was great in getting us to our destinations despite some road work and weather. Strongly recommend this trip for all travelers looking to explore the Nova Scotia area.

Most Memorable Moment:

All the trip was memorable made even better by all the people on the trip who got along well with one another. Hotels/resorts/lodges and eating establishments were well organized and professionally executed on time. I cannot say enough about how well organized and executed the trip was carried out. Well done all around.

review_img

BarbaraCrossno

Great food - Great weather - Great director!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

It was grand! Started off gloomy, and almost rainy (also a bit nippy). But that all changed. Warm and sunny days, heavenly food, great companions. We were led into several places by a bagpipe (Tauck's done this before) so now I'll never hear a bagpipe without beautiful Tauck memories. Rained the last day (bus day) Our Tauck Director was a jewel!! Keep her!

Most Memorable Moment:

That's hard. Walking on the ocean floor has to be one. The Gaspe Peninsula another. And the lobster dinner at New Glasgow!!! There are no words to describe the feast. And the mussles, and the seafood chowder, and the lobster rolls. And of course the bag pipes. I also liked the visit to the Scottish gaelic college.

review_img

RichardStimson

Remember my tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

The Tauck Tour was one of the best vacation my wife and ever took. The tour director and bus driver were the BEST. The tour director was outstanding and no one could have done a better job. Each day was filled with new and exciting things to do. We saw far more than we expected. Lodging and restaurants were outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

Learning about Maritimes Provinces. Seeing all Canada had to offer and learning about each location. The tour director had far more information to share than anyone else. Her description of events and locations put it over the top.

review_img

PDR

Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Beautiful views and delicious seafood sums it up. Tauck was top notch on most everything. Our tour guide was the best. Our driver was awesome. Loved all the hotels scheduled except for the last one, Liscombe Resort. It was below Tauck standards. Food was scrumptious except for one restaurant. Arduaine Restaurant was disappointing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved the view at the Keltic Lodge!! Cape Briten was beautiful. New Glasgow Lobster dinner was very enjoyable! Titanic cemetery was memorable. Didn't know that history. Loved Charlottetown Main St. Enjoyed the hike and food presentation at the Keltic Lodge.

review_img

George Grant

Exceptional tour guide + remarkable itinerary = wonderful vacation.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Our tour guide was the foundation of a memorable experience. His personal background ( born, raised, and educated in the "Maritimes") enhanced his discourses about the places we visited. He provided a historical perspective that enriched each each stop on the itinerary. As usual the food and accommodations were "Tauck" excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

"Hopewell Rocks" is one of many "memorable moments."

review_img

Beautiful and Friendly Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

We loved this trip. Our guide was the best guide we have ever had. She has a winning smile and personality. She taught us so much. The scenery is breathtaking. The Canadian people are very warm and caring. We had fantastic sunny weather 80% of the time which certainly added to the enjoyment of our trip. Ate lots of lobster.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Titanic victims graves in Halifax. Very sobering experience. We had no idea so many were buried in Halifax.

review_img

DavidSolomon

Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Great trip, nice relaxing pace, beautiful part of Canada.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Keltic Lodge accommodations were very nice and the scenery was impressive.

review_img

Beverly Prohaska

Canadian Maritimes: Another Tauck winner

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

My husband and I honeymooned in the Canadian Maritimes over 20 years ago and always wanted to return. We thought we had "seen it all" but our Tauck tour was even better! From our opening dinner at the Citadel, walking the ocean floor, amazing views along the Cabot Trail, and the majesty of the Keltic Lodge, we made new memories to last a lifetime!

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking the Ocean Floor at Hopewell Rocks! Truly amazing!

review_img

Lora Bonds

All good

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Canada is lovely. Our Tauck Director did a wonderful job making our trip special. The last night accommodations were not great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Keltic lodge stay

review_img

kfarber

Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

This trip was outstanding, in every way! The scenery is gorgeous, and we had the best tour director ever! He made the bus rides fun, there were always surprises on our seats, and he always had little contests, with prizes. The hotels, except for the last one, Liscombe Lodge, were all top notch. I had lobster so many nights.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our Tauck Director dressing up as Anne of Green Gables was a riot. Riding the golf cart in Keltic Lodge through their course was another.

review_img

JGRANT

Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This 11-day trip began in Halifax Nova Scotia (New Scotland.) Visited New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Cape Breton Island. 18th century artillery exhibitions, Cajun music, Alex Graham Bell, Keltic Lodge, Bay of Fundy at low tide; Anne of Green Gables, Charlottestown, Gaelic College, Lobster fishing (and eating.)

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many memorable moments. But I'm going to pick our coming into close views of Ospreys and being able to see them catching fish and returning to their nests. I saw Osprey nests atop utility poles, such locations being the highest point available for them. A surprise was that Nova Scotia was the home of Alexander Graham Bell.

review_img

TexasMacs

Canadian Maritimes first timeers

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

First time on Tauck and first time in the Maritimes--a FABULOUS combination. Our Tour Director made each day fun and an adventure, even the rainy ones. Food was too good and at each stop we felt very welcomed. Our driver was great especially navigating roads with twists and turns. Trip was well planned and we are planning our next one

Most Memorable Moment:

Getting to walk on ocean floor at Hopewell Rocks knowing how deep the water would be in a couple hours

review_img

helenemw

Lovely Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

We arrived in Halifax a day in advance of our start day. Halifax was easily walkable and it gave us an opportunity to see the sights on foot. The hotel is lovely. We met our Tour Guide and the rest of the Tauck Guests at the opening dinner. It was evident from that point on that this was going to be a wonderful trip. Everyone was so friendly.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were several; I can't say there was just one The Bay of Fundy...The Bagpipe solo as we threw petals into the wind on the coast...the beauty and serenity of Cape Breton...seeing Mamma Mia in a theater in Charlottetown...listening to our Tauck Director and driver sing on our bus...seeing our Tauck Director and driver dressed up as Anne of Green Gables...Best Lobster ever

review_img

pcizik

Beautiful scenery

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Trip was very scenic, all the coast line of the Maritimes. In general there was too much time spent on the bus for us -- due to the long distances to get to new places, and limited amount of places to visit I suspect.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Hopewell Rocks, and the time lapse imaging of the tide coming in and then going out again.

review_img

redraider1976

Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

This was our 4th Tauck Tour. It was exceptional in all respects. Our tour guide was wonderful, the food was abundant and delicious, the weather was perfect, and the scenery was amazing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching the water come in at The Bay of Fundy

review_img

Sir Rapvk

A Celtic Blessing (7/31-8/10/2016 tour)

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

There's a traditional Celtic blessing that includes the lines, "May the sun always shine upon your window pane. May a rainbow be certain to follow each rain." This was that kind of a blessed trip, only all sun and rainbow, barely a drop of rain. The weather was perfect, so was our Tauck Director and driver. Every hour was well spent.

Most Memorable Moment:

A surprise stop at a Heritage Society 1940's "Memory Lane" village on the way back to the airport the last day was the kind of "bonus" our Tauck Director and driver added that made the trip definitely exceed expectations. I also loved the Keltic Lodge, and every minute of our sightseeing on Prince Edward Island. The Cabot Trail was spectacular too.

review_img

JohnDan

Fantastistic cultural and nature experience. Great people everywhere.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

This trip was better than the description. For those never experiencing the Maritimes this was fantastic. We enjoyed our guide and driver as they added to the experiences during the trip. Fantastic stops in Hopewell Rocks with Ranger Rick. Halifax was great to walk along the piers.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sing along and company with our Tauck Director and motor coach driver. They enhanced the trip and were funny and caring. Hopewell Rocks walk was the most enjoyable nature part.

review_img

DeepFreeze63

Nicely Done Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Superb Tour Director; very well organized and responsive; beautiful scenery (we were lucky with great weather and very little fog);lots of welcome "surprises"; full bus with 43 travelers; long rides but lots of potty/photo op breaks. Reminded my wife and I why we like Canada and Canadians - charming people. Halifax was a very pleasant surprise.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hearing and seeing (at mid-night) the Tidal Bore in Moncton as the Bay of Fundy tide reversed the flow of the river.

review_img

V J MAIDA

Canadian Rockies

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Our tour guide was always well prepared, extremely knowledgeable about the areas we toured, willing to answer questions, very personable and was a very positive attribute to this tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Time spent at the Keltic Lodge

review_img

lynniepin

Travels with Eric

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Hi This was my first Tauck vacation. I loved traveling through the Maritimes with the Tauck Director and motor coach driver. Highlights were dressing up as Anne of Green Gables, eating lobster at the lobster feed, and the Keltic Lodge nature walk in the rain! The Tauck Director's flexibility was evident; commentary full of insight and showed joy in his work and enthusiasm for life.

Most Memorable Moment:

One among many was watching the Tauck Director flying a kite on the lawn the Alexander Graham Bell museum as we listened to Donna our guide at the museum. He loves being a tour guide!

review_img

ThomasMessina

Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Best trip yet. The Tauck Director did a great job adding to every day's explorations. The scenic views, the Atlantic, Halifax, PEI, and the lodging. We had a great time.

Most Memorable Moment:

The educational side of the trip, Canadian History and Gaelic College was my wife favorite. My was the Citadel first nite and the cookie recipe Eric got us for oat cakes. My wife is on her 5 batch, family is enjoying the cookies like they had been on the trip.,

review_img

GGDec

Beautiful Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

This was a great trip but not up to our expectations based on our first two Tauck trips we didn't experience the "Wow Factor". The tour Director and the Driver were excellent!!! The lower rating is due to the some of the lodging and dining experiences.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were numerous memorable experiences during the trip. Peggy's cove, Mahone Bay, and Cape Breton Island were filled with memorable experiences. We had a great group of fellow travelers that made the trip enjoyable.

review_img

Dennis O'

You Can't Help the Weather

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

The Canadian Maritimes were beautiful, the green lush forests, the rocky ocean cliffs, the lakes, the lobster traps and boats, the friendly people were all and more than expected. You can't count on the weather, expecting to have mild weather, we had hot humid days with the flies and mosquitoes that come with the humidity.

Most Memorable Moment:

We enjoyed our time at the Gaelic College learning about NS Scottish Gaelic culture. There was a lesson on the language. We learned a song. We took part in an old tradition on tightening the wool weaving. We listened to traditional fiddle music and learned about slap dancing. We saw how to dress in a kilt. Fascinating, interesting, and fun!

review_img

Broadway 421

Is Tauck cutting back?

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

First, let me qualify: If Tauck had the reputation (and pricing to go along with it) that were much less than its high rep and prices, I would have given this tour 3-4 stars. But for this pricing, I expected a lot more in terms of high-quality food/service and better hotel rooms. BIG PLUS: Tour Director and Driver were the very best.

Most Memorable Moment:

Many highlights on this trip! The public gardens in Halifax, picturesque Lunenburg, more beautiful seascapes than you can imagine, the tides coming in at Hopewell Rocks, the Cape Breton coastline. Put it all together for one great memorable moment. Supporting cast: Met some great people, and all possible via excellent Tour Director and Driver!

review_img

JC

The Beaurtiful Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

The weather in July in the Canadian Maritimes is just about perfect. We had complete days of sunshine, but also days of clouds, rain and fog - which only added to the allure of the entire area! And the different topographical features were unique - from the rolling hills and fields of PEI, to the craggy coastline of Cape Breton Island.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had the opportunity of being on Cape Breton Island when the fog, rain and mist enshrouded the rugged coast. The action of the wind and waves made for some wonderful photos!

review_img

jdonkelly

Canadian maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Tour director and driver did a great job. Thought trip was a much slower pace than we are use to after 14 other tours. Perhaps it is location. Enjoyed scenery, Celtic lodge, Bay of Fundy, but felt there was not any WOW on trip as there usually is. Also felt we were given too much free time on our own, without suggestions of what to see and do.

Most Memorable Moment:

Naturalist at Bay of Fundy, seeing it and his explanation was excellent.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry that this specific tour fell below your expectations and will immediately look into your comments. We are pleased that you experienced many truly memorable moments. We thank you for your patronage and hope that you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

ChuckHvala

Canadian Maritimes - Awesome!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We toured the Canadian Maritimes with Tauck in September 2014. It was an absolutely delightful and awesome experience. We made some new friends, saw a part of the world that we had not seen before. The weather was cooperative most days. Our tour director and driver were excellent - knowledgeable and informative. Absolutely Beautiful Place!

Most Memorable Moment:

A beautiful Sunday at the Keltic Lodge and Inn on Cape Breton!

review_img

J of Grey Cottage

Scenery, Dining, and More

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Blessed with great weather, our group of 23 enjoyed the beauties of three maritime provinces. Most lunches and nearly all dinners were three-course and fine in quality. Superb tour director, bus driver! The only hitch was our assigned rooms. Though Tauck uses the best hotels available, those hotels often treat tour groups as second-class customers.

Most Memorable Moment:

As always, it's too hard to pick one. I loved walking among the Hopewell Rocks with a knowledgeable naturalist and walking out to Orby Head with our own bagpiper. The visit to the Gaelic School was both enlightening and entertaining. Strolling through Halifax's public gardens in our free time was relaxing and a great opportunity for photos.

review_img

Susan M Touscany

Canadian Maritime trip

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Dear Mr. Maher We did enjoy our recent trip to the Canadian Maritimes. Our experience with Tauck has always valued the professional experience and competence of the tour director and the tour values which meant for us education, planning,great food, outstanding lodging and comfortable transportation. The Maritime trip contained everything.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Celtic College and the Heritage Village experience

review_img

Happy in Amelia

The Canadian Maritimes are stunning!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Tour Director, Tom, and driver, George, ensured that this tour of beautiful Atlantic Canada was a memorable one (I'll never forget seeing them portraying Anne of Green Gables while on PEI!) The Canadian Maritimes are worth visiting and Tauck makes sure you see them in a first class way.

Most Memorable Moment:

Making a stop at the Little Boreal Forest on Cape Breton Island was an unexpected surprise. How nice to know that such a stunning, undisturbed forest still exists. The special Tauck touches that Tour Director Tom McCarron provided, ex. provincial tartan samples, were much appreciated.

review_img

Grandma Joan

Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

There are not enough wonderful adjectives to describe the trip we just took. Our guide was Tom McCarron and driver George Green who together made it a trip of a lifetime. The thoughtfulness and knowledge that Tom shared were appreciated and the scenery, friendliness and cleanliness of the country were very appealing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Keltic Lodge view

review_img

pepperink

Exactly what I had hoped for

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

I was hoping for lots of greenery and lots of water. I also was hoping for a relaxing, refreshing vacation where someone else took care of all the details. In the months before the tour, I often imagined how I would like it to go. Everything I had imagined and hoped for turned out just the way I wanted.

Most Memorable Moment:

My wife and I went into a Japanese restaurant in Moncton, New Brunswick. We sat down for a Teppanyaki-style dinner around a griddle. We were joined by nine local folks who all worked together in an office. Although they spoke mostly French, they made sure we were included. It was a wonderful evening with laughs, good food and new friends.

review_img

Cayucosnana

12 Day Maritime Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

We covered almost 1400 miles, and we enjoyed it all. After spending the end of the trip in Cape Breton, we were grateful to have taken the longer Maritime tour. Wow! TAUCK kept the best for last! This was our 5th TAUCK tour, and the group chemistry was wonderful . . . in no small part to Barbara Anne, our illustrious Canadian Director! Thanks!

Most Memorable Moment:

The Keltic Lodge stay

review_img

frieddo

Canadian Maritimes August 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

The sights that we saw were very interesting but the trip was made extremely interesting by the knowledge and friendliness of our tour guide Tom McCarron who had more stories and background then any previous Tauck Tour guides (we have been on 6 of your trips). I was also very happy and comfortable with the other 39 great guests who toured with us.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many but being fitted with and wearing a kilt and walking on the floor of the Atlantic Ocean at low tide standout.

review_img

Wrennbird

Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

I really enjoyed the beautiful green fields, the forests, the varying ocean scenes and the great seafood. TD Tom and driver George helped make the trip enjoyable. Especially when they each shared their singing and guitar talents, wearing their kilts and their humor (as exemplified by their Green Gables attire).

Most Memorable Moment:

I was on the trip with Doug McDonald who noted below the haunting sounds from the piper on the shore of PEI was most memorable. I agree with him. TD Tom told us to think of a loved one when we tossed rose petals to the wind. I thought of my late wife who had been gone 22 months at the time. The experience stirred emotions for me.

review_img

KarenSSkel

Traveling the Maritimes w/Tauck Tom and George

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

Tom McCaron, tour guide, and George the coach driver, always provided information about the day's events whether it was in the form of maps, post cards, brochures, or simply their experiences.

Most Memorable Moment:

Discovering that the Martimes are filled with gluten-free menus and delicious things to eat. I was ready to become Canadian!

review_img

Doug McDonald

A Great Two Weeks in Canada

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

We had a wonderful experience with Tauck in the Canadian Maritimes. The scenery and experiences were outstanding, as were the lodging and meals. We had an easy-going group of travelers and enjoyed getting to know them. Our guide and driver were both outstanding personalities, thoughtful and thorough. We made great memories and photos!

Most Memorable Moment:

The haunting sounds of the bagpipes on the wind-blown, sandy dunes of the PEI shores is a memory that will stay with us. It was a quiet afternoon, and the moment the bus stopped we were surprised to hear the piper begin to play. I wondered why my Scots ancestors ever left PEI. Of course, we weren't there in the winter!

review_img

WCates

Canadian Maritime Provinces

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

It was our first Tauck trip, and we enjoyed it so much we are planning another. The scenery was beautiful, and the food was great. Service was top notch. Our only complaint was we had 2-3 days of light showers and overcast skies. So on those days we missed the sunshine that would have made for better photos. Our tour director did very well.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Cabot Trail was very pretty. The ride was long but the views were outstanding. It is hard to select only one moment or only one feature to say was the best. Overall, the trip was well planned and well run.

review_img

FAndrews

Maritime Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Everything was excellent except the Moncton part. That should be eliminated and replaced with a more interesting location. Moncton was boring.... The lunch at St Johns was not up to Tauck standards. The Whale presentation was "interesting" and only barely acceptable. The Hotel was DEFINITELY not up to Tauck standards.....

Most Memorable Moment:

Cape Breton and Halifax.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are pleased you enjoyed your overall journey. Thank you so much for your feedback and suggestions which we will share with our Product Team.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

RWilliams

Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Our tour director, Rob White was OUTSTANDING! He knew all of us by our first names by the second day. He was caring, understanding, available 24/7 and went above and beyond in providing us with "treats" and information about our trip and Canada. We missed having in room safes.More meals should have been provided- considering the price.

Most Memorable Moment:

Bay of Fundy

review_img

Audrey

Tour Directors another bonus!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The changes in scenery in the Maritime Provinces were a main attraction for me. So different from home (Chicago area). The cultural differences and the reasons for the lifestyle, plus the historical significance, were of great interest. Most of this would have escaped me if not for the intellectual and personal revelations of Rob White. Great!

Most Memorable Moment:

For our farewell dinner, Rob had prepared a slide show made up of photos of each of us taken all along the way. This was a lot of work. Then he presented each of us with a DVD of the show. This is way beyond his responsibilities and showed his warmth and love for his work and people. A true winner and keeper!

review_img

RShadid

Canadian Maritimes Journey

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Our Tour Director (TD), Allison Stoyles, was courteous, very well organized and knowledgeable. She made the trip very enjoyable and rewarding. Our time on the bus seemed to be short because our TD planned activities for us on a daily basis. An excellent tour for anyone wanting to learn about the Canadian Maritimes culture and its people.

Most Memorable Moment:

Discovering that Halifax, Nova Scotia was the equivalent of Ellis Island for immigrants coming to the Maritime Provinces from Europe.

review_img

MMartin

Canadian Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Great adventure. We did so many things, learned so many things about a part of the country that we knew little about. Tour director was outstanding and shared the history and culture of the Maritimes. Bus driver was good and very accommodating. Hotels were very nice. Can't think of a thing I would change.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the largest bull moose I have ever seen on the #4 hole on the Highlands golf course at the Keltic Lodge on Cape Breton in Nova Scotia. It was enormous and allowed us to get close enough for some magnificent photos.

review_img

NMichaud

Maritime trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Planning was not particularly good--no historical or geographical insights or visits to Halifax museums: Immigration,Nautical,Maude Lewis exhibit,provincial governor's home.(all 0f which we visited by going a day early.) We didn't visit Sydney or Lewisburg Fort or Sherbrooks Village. We spent too much time in Ingonish(returned there unnecessarily.

Most Memorable Moment:

We left the tour at Hopewell Rocks(interesting) to visit the Acadian Museums in Moncton and in Memremcook. Halifax harbor tour may have been interesting if the public address system was better. Presentations on the bus were good but bus trips lengthy. Hotel in Halifax could have been better situated but hotels & food generally good.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that this journey fell below your expectations. One of our Guest Relations Specialists will contact you to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Waskom

Canadian Maritime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

We really liked Prince Edward Island and the Keltic Lodge. What beautiful scenery. We enjoyed the Raven Wildlife Presentation and the Guided Nature Walk. We thought that Lunenburg was such a cute town. Our feeling is Peggy's Cover is overrated. We also really liked Charlottetown. Oh, yes, Halifax and dinner at the Citadel..excellent!

Most Memorable Moment:

It is difficult to say as there were so many special places. The Bay of Fundy was so interesting and beautiful. The local guide was excellent. Again, Prince Edward Island was special too. My husband is part Scottish, so the bag pipes were special to him. Overall, a wonderful trip. Tour director and bus driver were great.

review_img

tnbeachbumr

A Scenic Wonderland

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Having never been to the northeast, the shorelines and mountains were an incredible sight. You're never any great distance from populous areas, but it felt so remote. Our tour guide and bus driver could not have done a better job with the travel or presentation. This was a lobster feast beyond belief.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mine was to see Hopewell Rocks at low tide and walk among the red sandstone monoliths on the beach. For my wife it was touring "The House of Green Gables". Of course seeing the 2 yearling moose on the road was right up there. And the views from the Keltic Lodge in the morning mist cannot be described without photos.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your feedback and we are so pleased you enjoyed your journey to this great region of the country.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Skoo

Review of the Canadian Maritimes~July 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

I already completed the eval form and gave to Tom. Your form does not accurately measure the satisfaction of the "individual" events/hotels/meals. May I suggest its revision to measure these indicators separately to avoid generalizations? Handing the form to the Tour Director does not ensure confidentially or get a accurate response.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Hopewell Rocks, Gaelic College and Farewell dinner. Expected a whale watching event and more "Regional" cultural experiences. The Mi-Careme was amateurish and a waste of time when we could have enjoyed French cuisine and culture in that region. Providing a cooking demonstration AFTER lunch was timed poorly. Need more space to write more.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your feedback. I will be sure to share your suggestion with our management.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

fulham

Canadian Maritimes 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

I selected this trip so I could go to Prince Edward Island, being a fan of Anne of Green Gables. The Scottish aspects and the scenery of Nova Scotia were wonderful as well. The Federation Museum in Charlottetown was extremely interesting. Not a fan of seafood, that was not special to me.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Bay of Fundy and history of the explosion in Halifax.

review_img

scoopdave

Canadian Maritimes June 30, 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Great trip with 38 people--- hotels varied somewhat, from excellent to good, food very good , bus and driver outstanding-- tour director Dale exceptional, knowledgeable and handled the few issues that arose with sensitivity Back to hotels--- expected better, but those selected were the best in the cities we visited

Most Memorable Moment:

Cabot Trail and Prince Edward Island ---

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are very pleased you enjoyed your overall journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

DBalzarini

Canadian Maritimes 002

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Outstanding group leader, [Employee Name], bus driver Graham Fralic and student TD Allison Stoyles. Superb first evening dinner and tour made up for a bad one in Hawaii a few years ago. Bus rides were a little long. Another day at Keltic lodge would help us to "rest" up. Chefs demo at lodge was excellent as was Gaelic College. Need more time there.

Most Memorable Moment:

Enjoyed the whole trip, beautiful scenery, great travel companions and excellent food. Ate a lot of lobster, haddock and delicious desserts. A spectacular sunset at Keltic Lodge was truly memorable as was being piped in to some of the places.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey and experienced so many memorable moments!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

sfox41

Fantastic, Amazing, Fun

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

One of the best yet! Outstanding Tour Director in every aspect. Loved every single moment of this trip. Fun, awe inspiring, fantastic food and accommodations. Would do it again!

Most Memorable Moment:

Almost every one..but our stop at Brackley Beach, PEI on a misty morning, as we walked towards the cliffs, a bagpiper walked out of the mist playing for us. Beautifully eery and perfectly timed. Only wish was for more time at the Bay of Funday. What an amazing place.

review_img

Les and Barb

my bucket list

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

3 main reasons for selecting this trip. 1st, was to see the Bay of Fundy. We got there at low tide. Playing on the beach was fun. Sad we did not return to see the bay at high tide. 2nd was the fall color of the leaves -- they were beautiful. 3rd, we had never been to that region and we heard how beautiful it was, esp. the Cabot Trail -- and it was!

Most Memorable Moment:

Rob, our tour guide was fabulous and the group was compatible.Cape Breton Island, the Cabot Trail and of course the Bay of Fundy were the favorites . It is hard to separate the most memorable moment.

review_img

Michael HHI

Saved by the BEST Tour Director ever!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

The weather was perfect with beautiful color ... And most importantly Rob a native of the area. This part of Canada though interesting, lacked the "wow factor" of the Canadian Rockies Trip. The trip was saved by Rob's first hand accounts of the area, his amazing energy level and his store house of history and folk lore of the area.

Most Memorable Moment:

Forty foot tides in the Bay of Fundy were amazing and the sea food was terrific. Rob's knowledge was the high point.

review_img

elgabber

Marvelous maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

Sights are outstanding.Bay of Fundy inspiring.Good locations. The natural beauty is outstanding.Lakes,bays,oceans all beautiful.People extremely pleasant. The sea food wonderful.The only drawback from 5 stars was the long bus rides but the locations are spread out. Some side trips not worth the hassle suh as ice cream factory-waste of time! 4star

Most Memorable Moment:

Bay of Fundy-spectacular

review_img

FrankP

Super Canadian Experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We first took the Canadian Maritimes tour in 1999 and fortunately chose to redo the tour. We have taken many tours and cruises over the last 25 years and our guide, Rob, made his heritage real and personal with his humor and tales of his personal experiences in Atlantic Canada. It's no exaggeration that Rob went beyound the extra mile for us

Most Memorable Moment:

Certainly Lunenborg and Peggy's Cove are iconic Atlantic Canada.

review_img

Paul Pinneo

Great Time in the Maritimes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

We have been many places around the world but this was our first time on a Tauck tour. It is one we will remember forever. There were many surprises along the way making it very special. Our tour director was outstanding -- being a native of the area made his stories and commentary great. Small groups are the best, made 22 new friends in 11 days!

Most Memorable Moment:

We do not have one memorable moment and if we did, we would consider the trip a bust. We had 11 days of memorable moments. Things that we will talk about for years. We spent an hour the other day telling our best friends about our memorable moments.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience and we hope to see you again soon! -The Tauck Guest Relations Team

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

devondml

Fundy Fun; Maritime Merrytime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

The trip exceeded our expectations which were already high. The scenery was gorgeous without being overwhelming. The side trips were fun as well as educational. Our fellow travelers were all genial and considerate. The Tauck Tour Director was observant, conscientious, friendly, knowledgeable and generous.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching the tide advance at Hopewell Rocks on the Bay of Fundy. I only wish we could have stayed through a whole cycle from low to high.

review_img

glomar

Maritime Provinses

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

The scenery was wonderful. Our tour director was well informed and shared much info with us. Since he was a tour dir. on another of our trips made our trip that much more special. He is the best.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to describe. Each area had its own special moments. The mountains and water. Too beautiful to break down and name one particular spot.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button