TravelerReviews

Grand Canadian Rockies

review_img

Debra STL

Grand! Grand Canadian Rockies

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

The extra touches Tauck makes sure to add, were wonderful on this trip: a seaplane trip from Vancouver to Victoria, over the San Juan Islands, was memorable. Everything fun and top drawer: the hotels and meals. Sleeper berth on the overnight train and Tauck provides a high quality duffel. Making sure we get all the way up to Jasper!

Most Memorable Moment:

Jasper

review_img

kayarnold2

Rush rush rush

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Too much crammed in to 9 days Up at 5 or 6 am for 6 out of 9 days Glad I took pictures can't remember much besides the ice fields Should skip Victoria and stay 3 days in Jasper, 3 days at Lake Louise and 3 days at Banff Had you published itinerary with the time of day we would not have gone Itinary available when trip began Terrific guide helped

Most Memorable Moment:

Coming home

review_img

dickandkarendemayo

grand canadian rockies

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

We had a great time. Victoria is beautiful, and Butchart Gardens are amazing. The Canadian train trip overnight was something we had never done as was the float plane trip. Jasper, Lake Louise, and Banff had absolutely gorgeous scenery. We saw Lake Louise one day with beautiful gardens in bloom, and the next day under 3 inches of snow.

Most Memorable Moment:

It was all memorable, but the snow coach ride up to the glacier and then being on the glacier was really special. Our tour guide was terrific. He was so knowledgeable. We learned a great deal. He made sure everything was taken care of. Travel was very organized and seamless. His pride in being from the area showed through. We loved it all!

review_img

Mike Robinson

Grand Canadian Rockies

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Great scenery! Great accommodations! Great weather! Great food! And finally, a great tour director! While the food was great it was plentiful. I would prefer to have had more freedom in selecting venues and size of meals especially at lunch.

Most Memorable Moment:

As much as I enjoyed Chateau Lake Louise and Banff Springs Hotel(bucket list items for me) I think our two night stay at Jasper Park Lodge was most memorable. Our one night railroad stay on The Canadian and a great group of fellow travelers, which Tauck seems to attract, rank very high also.

review_img

Cheryl C Dashiell

Great Canadian Vacation!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Our trip was wonderful. Our guide was incredibly good. She was passionate about the area and transferred her enthusiasm to the tour participants with her dialog and relating her experiences in the mountains. She did a good job of telling us what we would be doing and preparing us for what to expect at each juncture of the trip. Great trip

Most Memorable Moment:

Being at the lodge in Jasper. It was just so beautiful!

review_img

BillW11947

Canadian Rockies

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

It was our 3rd Tauck tour and was excellent overall. The Tour Director and bus driver were outstanding with great comraderie between them. Highlights: Butchart Gardens in Victoria (amazing!); train trip thru the Rockies; all the hotels, resorts more than fulfilled their first class ratings. The beauty of the Rockies was majestic!

Most Memorable Moment:

Basically the overall scenery of the Rockies especially Lake Louise and the gondola ride at Banff.

review_img

Bouchard

Canadian Rockies (going east)

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

The Canadian Rockies are everything I've been told & more. Glorious! Tour Director is fun, extremely knowledgeable regarding the history of Canada & current Canada. He kept us "herded", on time & all with a big smile. Bus drivers were good, also fun. Hotels, meals & excursions were fantastic.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking to Maligne Canyon/Falls. I hope I have the name right. It is a deep canyon formed by swirling water. It was incredibly breathtaking.

review_img

Eichele

Grand Canadian Rockies, 8/27 - 9/6/18

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

This was our second Tauck tour, and consequently we had high expectations for this trip. We were not disappointed. The experiences chosen were spectacular and unique. Our guide was wonderful. He was considerate of all our varied needs. He provided so much background information that added to our appreciation of the experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Lake Louise for the first time. Staying in a cabin lakeside in Jasper.

review_img

Neal Vorchheimer

Great Trip but train ride is not for everyone

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Vancouver and Victoria are excellent places to visit.The Canadian Rockies have beautiful mountains,lakes and waterfalls. However the train from Vancouver to Jasper is a case of over-promising and underdelivering. The train ride is 20 hours and the bedroom is primitive with an airline bathroom. Book the Tauck Canadian Rockies only trip instead.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sea plane from Vancouver to Victoria

review_img

AshvEd

Canadian Rockies Really Rock

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Vancouver was interesting and Butchard Gardens in Victoria was magnificent. The overnight train from Vancouver to Jasper was an “adventure” with ever changing scenery but difficult to get a good nights sleep. The best part was from Jasper to Lake Louise to Banff. We were fortunate that the smoke from the BC wildfires dissipated.

Most Memorable Moment:

Both the sunset and sunrise at Lake Louise were spectacular. The mountains, lakes and experiences from Jasper to Banff were amazing. We had a wonderful Tour Director and an exceptional coach driver. Highly recommend this trip.

review_img

BobBell

Grand Canadian Rockies....wonderful!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

We took this trip in mid-August. The Canadian skies were smoky due to all the late Summer fires in British Columbia, but aside from that, the tour was great! Our guide kept us informed and entertained. He was extremely knowledgeable about Canada's natural history as well as the cultural history of British Columbia and Alberta.

Most Memorable Moment:

The raft trip on the Athabasca River...exciting and fun!

review_img

RWillie

Great Tour Director Horrible Smoke Ruined The View

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Grand Canadian Rockies Tour: Our tour guide was exceptional and a real asset to Tauck. She made the trip a success, however, the smoke from the fires ruined the views in Jasper, Lake Louise and Banff. This really made the trip just so so.

Most Memorable Moment:

We really enjoyed the float plane flight to Victoria BC and the visit to Butchart Gardens

review_img

Sunny Brody

My First Solo Trip in My Long Lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

I feel like I won the lottery. I could not have asked for a better, more congenial group of people. We were 15. I was #15. Everyone was very welcoming, inclusive and solicitous. Our tour director could not have done more. She was a force to be reckoned with. Efficient, thorough and the personality of a leader in a very soft way.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to say. It was all memorable. It all would have been more scenic if the fires were not raging and the air filled with smoke. That's Mother Nature.

review_img

SandraSewell

Lots of good, a little not so good.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

This was our first experience with Tauck. We took the trip to celebrate my husband's birthday and our 40th anniversary. Overal we enjoyed our trip. Our tour director and our bus driver were outstanding. Experiences were unique. I would skip the night on the train. Very uncomfortable. No service on the train. Train was dirty.

Most Memorable Moment:

The flight on the sea plane and the trip to the glacier

review_img

suncitytraveler

Canadian Rockies Rock

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Beautiful scenery and beautiful hotels! The best thing about our trip was our Tauck Director! Very professional, knowledgeable and fun! All in all she was a terrific tour guide.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to name one, but we hiked along the Bow River in Banff, and it was wonderful.

review_img

Betcrest

Canada and the Canadian Rockies

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

To start with Tauck missed the best museum at UBC that showed the First Nation history and present in Vancouver. The scenery during the trip was awesome and the hotels in the Rockies terrific. Our guide was knowledgeable and kept use moving.

Most Memorable Moment:

The float plane from Vancouver to Victoria was memorable as was the raft trip down the Athabaskan River

review_img

TomW50

Grand Canadian Rockies

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Fabulous trip!!! Our tour director was the best. She was organized, informative and was always behind the scenes making sure everything was taken care of. Tauck tours are great!

Most Memorable Moment:

The beauty of Lake Louise

review_img

Frank W Kling

First time group tour experience, Grand Canadian Rockies

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Just fabulous! Every detail was taken care of. Our Tour Director was just fabulous. She is a true credit to the Tauck family and I would love to be on another tour with her. The scenery was just beyond beautiful! Our kids thought we had "photo shopped" our pictures! Also, our group of travelers were just delightful.

Most Memorable Moment:

All moments met the "most memorable" criteria. However, the Fairmount Jasper Park Lodge was our favorite.

review_img

rnbyer

Grand Canadian Rockies - 7/24/2018 - 8/2/2018

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Had a very nice trip on the Grand Canadian Rockies. Hotels were great! Scenery was beautiful. Most people were disappointed in the train - not great scenery. No advantage to being in a small group as another small Tauck group traveled alongside us. Less long formal meals - too much food - prefer more touring time.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved Victoria and Jasper Park Lodge the most but we saw some stunning lakes.

review_img

DavidEaston

Canadian Rockies

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Everything about this trip was spectacular from the opening dinner in Vancouver to the final dinner at Banff. There is not one thing that did not go according to plan. Our tour director did a great job of keeping everyone informed and on schedule.

Most Memorable Moment:

Lake Louise is certainly one of the most beautiful spots on earth and while not easily accessible it is well worth the trip.

review_img

Marilyn BaramHarris

Grand Canadian Rockies

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

The trip was great for the most part. The tour guide was unbelievably knowledgeable. Last year, we were on the Grand Teton trip and thought we wouldn't be impressed with these mountains. Wrong! We never thought we'd walk on a glacier, but we did. The only downside of the trip was the food at the Hotel Grand Pacific was not up to Tauck standards.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing sunrise on Lake Louise.

review_img

abbdpt

Sights Galore

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Most everything one sees on this trip is memorable and often breathtaking. Victoria, Flightseeing, Lake Louise and Banff are tops on our list. VIA Rail did not perform up to expectations due to late start and arrival together with high speeds through best scenery areas (VIA's Prestige class is better). Other than superb Banff, the food was just OK.

Most Memorable Moment:

This is a toss up between the accommodations and room views of early morning sun rises at Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise and Fairmont Banff Springs.

review_img

SuilanChoy

Grand Canadian Rockies

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Thanks to our wonderful Tour Director and our coach drivers, my mum myself and our friends had a most incredible time from the beginning to the end The night on VIA was an experience as we were probably not too used to the small accommodations on the train but other than that we survived the night Food was good.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable was Jasper Park Lodge and Butchart Gardens at Vancouver island plus the lovely lunch at The Post Hotel .

review_img

Carol Semonsky

Grand Canadian Rockies July 2018

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Wonderful from start to finish. Beautiful scenery with a variety of experiences: ferry, float plane, overnight train, bus, glacier explorer, raft float. Top notch hotels and food. Everything went like clockwork. Great guide gave informative commentary without overdoing and handled everything perfectly. Loved our trip mates, too.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved Butchart Gardens, but really, everything was memorable. We enjoyed seeing the bear and her 2 cubs.

review_img

Christenson

Vancouver to Calgary trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Excellent accommodations, meals and site seeing. Train lodging ... not so great. Perhaps train idea OK if a stop half way at comfortable lodging instead of sleeping on train. We feel that the Tauck tours should be “all inclusive” which means charge us for gratitudes in the front end not a private cash transaction at end of tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Great scenery ... fun group however 40 travelers way too many ... cruise director has trouble providing service to every traveler.

review_img

Stanley Allen

Grand Canadian Rockes

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Vancouver and Victoria are steeped in old world charm! It was like a mini vacation in Europe! The train ride across the Rockies was a new experience and one to write home about. And then there was Jasper and Banff: absolutely gorgeous! Similar to the Alps, with the most gorgeous lakes, lush lodges, and food fit for royalty!

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking on the icefield at Athabasca Glacier! Or maybe to seeing the newlyweds from the top of the "rock pile" at Moraine Lake! Hard to choose!

review_img

Carol Perry

Canadian Rockies by train

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

The trip was fantastic. Accommodations were first class. Our trip overnight on the VIA train was a fun first time experience--one night was fine!! The meals at all the hotels were wonderful--big breakfasts and 3 course dinners!! Side trips were also fun--ferry ride, Butchart Gardens, high tea, seaplane, ice explorer and float trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved the sea plane experience and the float trip was great also. Appreciate the extra touches that Tauck provides--cookies, souvenirs and Irish Cream given on the bus. Great tour guide and bus drivers.

review_img

Stephen Hartman

Grand Canadian Rockies

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

We loved everything about it - the accommodations, the food, the people, and the sightseeing. We had a great tour director. The biggest negative was hearing how all this beauty was formed millions of years ago. I believe in creation but I have no problems if it was stated that this is a theory or even that many people believe.

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved everything about the trip! We especially enjoyed the people on the tour with us. They made it even better.

review_img

CharlottePoole

First Tauck Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Canadian Rockies trip is wonderful! Never had to touch our luggage through many different kinds of transportation and moves. Accommodations were superior, food was excellent and small group tour exceeded my expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Jaspar National Park and Lodge

review_img

Marcar05

Rockies at their best

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

We were blessed with perfect weather to enjoy the magnificence of God’s perfect creation. Ferry, float plane, train, ice explorer,raft and bus all incredible! Tour director was interesting and informative. He and the driver were more than helpful, gracious and friendly. Every room had lovely view, some had small bathrooms. Excellent!

Most Memorable Moment:

Jasper Lake Park after two cities and the train ride,it was sooo peaceful and beautiful to enjoy the soul restoration lakeside.

review_img

RayYager

Grand Canadian Rockies tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

scenery at every location was awesome The hotels were 5 star the views from our rooms was fantastic Tour director was knowledgeable,helpful and very personable We had a great group Butchart Gardens was wonderful We loved the high tea Jasper Park was tranquil Lunch at the Post Hotel was lovely Walk on the icefields unique experience Great meals

Most Memorable Moment:

The seaplane was our most memorable moment! Exceeded our expectations Waking up each morning to such beauty was indescribable

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button