TravelerReviews

Warsaw, Budapest, Vienna & Prague

review_img

VirginiaGravatt

Warsaw and more

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Enjoyed the trip very much seeing the historic cities and all the sights. Was a very intense trip with something doing almost all the time. Needed a bit of down time to keep going.

Most Memorable Moment:

The piano concert in Warsaw

review_img

marvin weiner

Eastern Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Trip went off without a hitch. Everything was on time and in most cases first class. We learned a lot about the history of each country and city we visited. Our guide was great and very knowledgeable. The bus was very comfortable and the driver was fantastic.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many, but I guess the visit to Auschwitz was the most memorable for many reasons. Not happy but unbelievable in the history of that period.

review_img

RogerMeffert

Roger1278

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

We were delighted to be visiting these Cities but disappointed the local sight seeing tours constantly referred to the Jewish situation. The quality of the meals varied considerably particularly the Welcome reception. We were constantly hassled to meet timelines for meals, tours & rest stops. The farewell dinner fell way short of Tauck standards.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Danube night cruise in Budapest. However there were far too many disappointments for a Tauck tour which fell way short of our 2 prior Tauck experiences.

review_img

FShartzer

Connecting to the past

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

We just completed the Warsaw, Budapest,Vienna, Prague trip. It was a wonderful experience to see the beauty, history of Central Europe, countries that lived through so much war and yet seem to celebrate life now in music and art. We had a very knowledgeable tour director and we always enjoy traveling with a Tauck small group.

Most Memorable Moment:

Not one, but many. Auschwitz, Budapest, private concert in Vienna, good food. Word of caution, though. It is a very busy, very strenuous trip with lots of walking on cobblestone and uneven streets.

review_img

Paul Martinet

Warsaw, Cracow, Budapest, Vienna and Prague

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Here are a few suggestions.There are two long bus days. We think that a train on these long trips would be better than the bus. It's easier to move around and you can eat in the train's dining car. The dinner/cruise on the Danube be eliminated. Food not so good. But the cruise was fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

We took three independent Tours: Cooking class in Warsaw, Salt Mine Tour and a Walking food tour in Prague. The food tours we did before and after the Tauck tour. The little things our tour director did were great. The whole tour was great. However the clock not working in Prague was a dissapointment.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Operations Team as they are always looking to enhance our journeys based on feedback from our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Stanley Thurston

Eastern Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Our guide was fantastic. He was an equal to one of our previous Tauck Directors. Overall the food was first rate and the hotels were the best in each city. I especially liked the special events during our visits to Castles and Opera Houses (e.g. small orchestra, opera, dancing, etc.). For the most part the local tour guides were good.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to Auschwitz and Birkenau.

review_img

Linda Godek

Amazing trip for our first Tauck Adventure!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

This trip was first class from beginning to end, from the hotels to the tour director & bus driver, local tour guides and special events. The orientation tour in each city opened the door to confident exploring following our guided tours. Food was delicious and the entertainment was varied and stimulating from Beethoven & Mozart concerts to opera.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was the Mozart & Strauss concert in a Viennese palace with music and dance. The Chamber Music ensemble and the four ballet dancers were extremely professional and top notch.

review_img

Betty B Miller

Warsaw, Budapest,Vienna and Prague

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Very well organized trip with lovely people, experienced travelers. Made the most of each day with no wasted time. Food was outstanding. Our Tauck Director did a good job as tour director....lots of fun! The bus was very comfortable but the best part was the bus rotation system. Just a very good trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Private concert held in the Viennese palace as well as private piano recital of Chopin compositions. Vodka tasting the first evening. And of course Auschwitz. Wonderful opera houses. Visit to the Spanish Riding School in Vienna on our own.

review_img

jeptr1976

Wonder Experiences in Central Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

This trip to Warsaw, Krakow, Budapest, Vienna and Prague exceeded our expectations. It was great to visit all of these places. Glad we were able to take this trip with Tauck, you really know how to make a vacation memorable. Our tour director for all of his expertise and assistance! The hotels were unbelievable.

Most Memorable Moment:

We were surprised how much we liked Poland. Our favorite stop was Krakow/Auschwitz. The town is very charming. The visit to Auschwitz is emotional as expected. But we now have a deeper understanding.

review_img

mbolner

Eastern Europe trip a real treat

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Our two weeks in Eastern Europe with Tauck was spectacular. Each city, hotel, meal and special event was just about as perfect as it could have been. Our Tour Director did an excellent job handling all logistics and issues very efficiently. We left with a much better understanding of the history and challenges of these folks.

Most Memorable Moment:

Viewing the Mozart rewrite of Handel's Messiah at the Lobkowicz Palace. No idea he took the score, enhanced/translated it for a German audience, and tweaked the woodwind parts slightly. The manuscript with his original notations was on display. Charles Bridge at night in Prague: We got to the Lennon Wall and the 911 Fireman's Memorial.

review_img

Girish Patel

Excellent trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

We have traveled to a number of countries but not to Eastern European countries in the past. We were totally impressed with the history of the region, its beauty and vibrant atmosphere. Hotels were excellent, people friendly. Auschwitz was an eye opening visit. Our Tauck Director was a highly intelligent and impressive guide.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to Warsaw, Poland and Auschwitz - where I learned the extent of Nazi's inhumanities and atrocities. Vienna's beauty and culture was impressive. These people have been oppressed for 1000 years by various rulers, finally by the Nazis and Communists until recently. However their progress is impressive.

review_img

Micki

Our Trip to Eastern Europe (Warsaw, Budapest, Vienna, Prague)

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

We just came home from a wonderful, moving experience to Warsaw, Krakow, Budapest, Vienna and Prague. 10 years ago we visited several of these cities with another tour company, but did not see Poland, and Tauck has that special touch to make this experience much more special. Hotels centrally located, special events unique, guides outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

Poland was unforgettable. My grandfather was from there which made it all the more memorable. Surprisingly Warsaw was lively, beautiful parks, elegant hotel; Krakow was bustling with tourists, attended a Chopin concert. Most moving was a visit to Auschwitz/Birchenow on a rainy, dreary day. It was quite emotional to see where so many Jews died!

review_img

Katharine

Warsaw - Prague

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Terrific itinerary, hotels, and food. Excellent tour director and a great driver. Wonderful group of travelers. All fabulous cities full of history, arts, and architecture. I took this tour five years ago and wanted to repeat it. I enjoyed it just as much this time. There were a few changes and I did some new things in my free time.

Most Memorable Moment:

The local guides' knowledge was excellent. It was clear how much they love their cities and wanted to share them with us. Private Tauck events like the Danube cruise, concerts, Strahov Library, and Municipal Hall were extra special experiences.

review_img

lvbungo

Central Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

My husband and I were really looking forward to this trip and it didn't disappoint! Tauck took care of every detail. The hotel rooms were very luxurious. The tour guides were excellent and we especially liked having 2 guides, each taking half the group when sightseeing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Auschwitz.

review_img

JElfving

Review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

I expected the trip to mirror the itinerary that we had agreed to with Tauck. In my business experience, you do not promise something that you cannot deliver. Specifically, our tour director combined our large group to one local guide on several occasions (Budapest & Prague) which irritated the group. Secondly, it was unprofessional for the tour

Most Memorable Moment:

It was unprofessional for the local guide in Vienna to run us around the back streets of Vienna and then end the tour at a historical church, rivaling Notre Dame in Paris in significance, without a detailed history of the church. In Prague, the architectural tour was cancelled in favor of a Jewish synagogue tour. The architectural tour was impt.

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry that this journey did not live up to your expectations. I have passed along your review to our Guest Relations Department.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

sharmie

Warsaw to Prague

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

This was our first Tauck tour and now I understand why everyone says they are the best! The itinerary on our Eastern/Central Europe trip was ideal. The hotels were all 5 star in the best locations. Our local guides were passionate and very knowledgeable. The Tauck tour director was so fantastic, spoke several languages.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments i.e.: private concert of Mozart and Strauss. Our farewell dinner at a working castle with the castle owner speaking with us and sharing his private art collection before a lovely dinner with a duet playing throughout.

review_img

Scubaman

Central Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Very informative , great tour guide, fabulous local guides and the special activities made the trip memorable. I would like to speak with someone to discuss some issues as it will determine future trips with your organization. Please feel free to contact me so we can discuss

Most Memorable Moment:

The private recitals in Prague, and Vienna were special. Access to areas not available to the public made this trip very special for my wife and I

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your request to our Guest Relations Department, so someone will be in touch with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Robert Siegel

Poland Hungary and Czech Republic

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Beautiful hotels. A tour director who was knowledgeable and helpful. Tour guides who brought the cities to life. Not enough space to say everything.

Most Memorable Moment:

Finding the apartment in Vienna where my Mother lived from 1928-1938

review_img

coloskier

Fabulous hotels-Great food-Wonderful service

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

This was a wonderful trip. The hotels were in great locations and offered superb service and dining. More time should have been spent in Warsaw. The elevators at the Sheraton Krakow were tricky. The sights we saw and the information we processed truly caused sensory overload. The price is my only criticism. Gate1 is exactly the same for less.

Most Memorable Moment:

The dinner cruise on the Danube in Budapest.

review_img

Ann K

Central Europe - Squeezed on two sides

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Warsaw, Cracow, Budapest, Bratislava, Vienna, Prague. Countries with dismal histories. tough people. Magnificent buildings. The music will delight you. Make sure that you try ALL the ice cream! Forget about your cholesterol!

Most Memorable Moment:

I thought the Vienna Fine Arts Museum -- until our PRIVATE concert in a palace in Vienna - left us all speechless. (Auschwitz and Birkenau - something I will always remember, but I cannot praise that visit, too horrifying for words.)

review_img

Renart

Warsaw Budapest Vienna Prague

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

This was my first trip with Tauck. It will not be my last. Our guide was so knowledgeable and pleasant all the time. He had vodka waiting for us after our visit to the concentration camps as he knew we needed that. Every day was a wonderful learning experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our guide took us on a tour of his neighborhood in Prague. That was special

review_img

DavidSheila

Central Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Fascinating trip through five countries of Central Europe. Provided an excellent historical perspective. Trip was well organized with excellent guides at each stop.

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring Auschwitz and the dinner cruise in Budapest.

review_img

Barbara Purcell

Travel without a care in the world

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

Tauck made this trip so lovely and seamless for us. From the moment we arrived at the airport to the morning we departed for home, we were cared for and spoiled completely. Every little detail is handled so that vacationers can focus solely on the experience of the moment.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to pin down one most memorable moment because there were so many. Private tours of opera houses, private concerts, private tours of famous art collections. All of it was incredible. We did love the dinner cruise on the Danube in Budapest.

review_img

atsammy

Tour of Eastern Eurpoe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

This was a fantastic tour through Poland, Hungary, Austria, the Czech Republic, and a bit of Slovakia. This was my first Tauck tour, and I had a great experience, we had a wonderful guide, the weather was perfect, and I loved being back in one of my favorite cities in the world (Prague).

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable part of my trip was standing in the Strahov Monestary in Prague, surrounded by books and manuscripts hundreds of years old. I'm a librarian by degree, and Strahov's collection is one I studied in school, and to actually see it was probably the best new experience I had on the trip!

review_img

AnnL

A look back in time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

Well run/organized trip providing historical insight. Warsaw, rebuilt using old photographs. Holocaust Museum unimaginable!! Budapest, my favorite, Buda & Pest split by the river. Vienna was a treat. Bristol Hotel with old world charm around the corner from the Opera House. Visited Prague after wall came down life appears much better now for people

Most Memorable Moment:

Several. Went to the Vienna Opera on our free night and loved it. Not to be missed if there is something on when you are there. Hotel can get you fabulous seats. On sadder note. I'll never forget Auschwitz trip. Beyond my wildest imagination. I thought Dachau was bad. This was worse. Krakow is a lovely old university city not devastated by war.

review_img

mmark28

ExploringEastern Europe the Tauck Way

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

The itinerary along with the tour director provided an enjoyable and comprehensive experience in a part of the world that was very much a part of our history. There were very emotional times and we came away being grateful to be Americans. We got a new appreciation for what the people in these countries did to help other human beings.

Most Memorable Moment:

Without a doubt, the visit to Auschwich will never be forgotten. The private concerts were also a highlight of the trip.

review_img

MrCross

Warsaw, Budapest, Vienna & Prague with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

We must admit, that Tauck is the best tour company we have ever toured with. It was a delight that all hotels, local guides, restaurants, etc. were all handled behind the scenes by Tauck. We have never been on our a tour that when you arrive at a hotel, all the rooms are ready, all the room keys are ready and you can immediately go to your room.

Most Memorable Moment:

The tour Director was so experienced in how she handles and coordinates all activities. She and Tauck know exactly when to provide the little extra "something" like an afternoon beer, a morning coffee break or https://mrandmrsxblog.wordpress.com/2016/05/06/arrived-in-warsaw/

review_img

RagupathyVeluswamy

A wonderful trip

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

Our trip was a lot of fun, also very touching and very poignant. The countries we visited are beautiful. So full of history and music and wonderful architecture. Had great weather. Took a lot of pictures!! Met a lot of nice people. Everyone connected with each other. Our hotels were very nice and in very convenient locations. Good vacation.

Most Memorable Moment:

The performances. The surprise ones were very enjoyable. Nice to have couple of performances organized by Tauck. The opera houses were fantastic. On the other hand going to Schindlers factory and then to Auschwitz was very memorable. Our tour director gave us each a rose to place at a memorial there. That was very thoughtful. Thank you.

review_img

MGCGKC

Nice Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

We enjoyed this well paced trip and learned a lot about Central Europe. Nice blending of history and current culture. Fascinating how westernized the former Soviet countries have become in such a relatively short period of time. Hotels and food were all good. Excellent tour-mates. There is ample time to explore on your own in each city.

Most Memorable Moment:

We were surprised about how much we liked Warsaw. Very walk-able city with beautiful sites and cordial people. Budapest was a close second.

review_img

Bruce Perreault

Warsaw to Prague

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

The visit for that was most enjoyable was Krakow and the visit to Aschwitz. Even though it was shorten due to a major traffic delay.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our guide as always is the most important part of any trip and she did a superior job.

review_img

reiter79

Best Tour Director!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Our Tour Director was excellent, so the learning experience was great. We loved the tours and learning about the history and culture of the places we visited. Our only negative was that DINING took too much time. Lunches and dinners were delicious, but long dining and I would have preferred exploring or more activity. Hotels were all amazing.

Most Memorable Moment:

My most memorable moment was when our tour director gave us each one rose before we got to Aushwitz and told us to leave it wherever we felt compelled to leave it. It was very moving and gave us an opportunity to say "I was here and I remember".

review_img

Miriam Kulick

There and back and worth it…….

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

This was my first tour ever and Tauck has always been recommended to me for overall excellence. It certainly lived up to its high quality reputation. A whirlwind trip, with so much to see and do, yet all of it was informative and done tastefully. The comardarie of the group and our wonderful director made it a long lasting memorable trip, thanks!

Most Memorable Moment:

Cities of Budapest and Vienna in general, great group connection, Auschwitz, Mozart & Strauss concert in Vienna, St. Mary's Basilica in Krakow.

review_img

CindyB123

Warsaw, Budapest, Vienna & Prague

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Terrific! Elegant!Learned a lot. Enjoyed a lot. Luxurious.

Most Memorable Moment:

The concert at the Vienna Residence Orchestra; seeing Mozart's Don Giovanni in Prague; seeing the 40 gypsy violinists playing "The Emperor's Walts" at the Crazy Castle in Hungary....

review_img

SuzieA

Warsaw, Cracow, Budapest, Vienna & Prague.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Loved all the sights & information. Great local guides and the tour director was pleasant, helpful & very knowledgeable. Would have liked a longer stay in several cities, to allow the body to rest & recharge. It would make the trip long, but I feel it would be a worthwhile change. People were dropping out of tours to rest near the end of the trip

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Auschwitz. It was haunting and evocative.

review_img

nhgy

Another Good Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

We have nothing to worry about down to the most minute detail arrangements - all been taken care of. Tour director and guides, and bus driver are the best. We learned so much about history, political changes and what are the best restaurants in town! Hotel locations are well picked and received the best service all around.

Most Memorable Moment:

dinner cruise on the Danube tasting local food

review_img

KennethStufko

Land of our forefathers ….

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We were most impressed with how this "unloved" part of the world has repaired itself from the ravages of WW2 and the following Communist domination. All the cities including Bratislava, were charming, welcoming and easy to travel thru. English is abundant. We loved Budapest, the Danube cruise, the Vienna concert and bustling Prague. This was a Gem!

Most Memorable Moment:

Impossible to restrict to just One Memorable Moment so: … Warsaw Old Town; Krakow history w/Auschwitz; Budapest Parliament building at night while on the Danube river cruise; Bratislava old town; Vienna Mozart-Strauss concert; Prague city walks and Lobkowicz Palace. ….. and the great food throughout!!!

review_img

bobbyj

Rich Historic Discovery in Eastern Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

A Magnificent journey into the wonders of Eastern Europe. From the priceless art collections, walking through the historic streets once hiked by Roman soldiers, to the breathtaking architecture of new Warsaw and ancient Vienna, this trip had it all!

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring the private art collection of the Hapsburg family was beyond anything I have ever experienced. Room after room in this one of a kind museum was filled from ceiling to floor with amazing works of art.

review_img

Susan and Martin Goodfriend

What an experience

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Our trip to Eastern Europe was a quite memorable. We expect Tauck to take care of the mechanics of the trip (transfers, hotels, most meals, transportation, guides, and tour director)and they never disappoint us. What we didn't expect was the history that came alive and made an era from the past more meaningful for us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Actually, there are two standout moments. The first was the opportunity to pray at a Heritage site in Prague that we only read about growing up. And the second was the private concert in Vienna featuring Mozart and Strauss with a chamber orchestra in a light and varied presentation. Delightful. Everyone left smiling.

review_img

Lynton

Fascinating Eastern Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Our Tour Director really brought a wealth of experience and insights to our journey. His knowledge is truely amazing. He was always at the right spot at the right time no matter where we were with a local guide. We feel we have now a very complete understanding of the historical background of the region.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our private concert in Vienna takes the cake for us. Beautiful music in a delightful venue with wonderful artists who related to us in a very personal manner. One of the most enjoyable musical experiences we have ever had.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you learned so much on this tour. We enjoyed sharing our exclusive concert in Vienna with you! Thank you for choosing Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

UPSRON

A LOT TO SEE AND LEARN IN 2 WEEKS!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

A VERY INTERESTING AND SURPRISINGLY VIBRANT PART OF THE WORLD MADE EXTRA SPECIAL BY TAUCK. WONDERFUL ACCOMMODATIONS AND TRANSPORTATION. A WORLD CLASS TOUR DIRECTOR WHO, IN ADDITION TO FLAWLESS ATTENTION TO DETAIL, PROVIDED UNBELIEVABLE INSIGHT, UNDERSTANDING AND KNOWLEDGE EVERYWHERE WE VISITED.

Most Memorable Moment:

THIS TRIP PROVIDES MOMENTS THAT WILL TEST ONE'S FULL RANGE OF EMOTIONS; HIGH TO LOW. WITH SO MANY MEMORABLE MOMENTS, IT'S DIFFICULT TO PICK THE MOST MEMORABLE. SO, WE'LL PICK A "HIGH": JUST WHEN WE THOUGHT IT COULDN'T GET ANY BETTER, THE FAREWELL DINNER AT LOBKOWICZ PALACE WAS OVER-THE-TOP ELEGANT. IT WAS PERFECT. WE WILL NOT SOON FORGET THAT.

review_img

dianecypser

Eastern Euope

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Land tours are hectic, up early every morning and sightseeing for hours. Hotels were wonderful, food was great and it was such a learning experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

The dinner cruise in Budapest was lovely but I liked the private Mozart and Beethoven concert in Vienna.

review_img

Marilyn Burman

Pleasures of the unexpected

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

The Auschwitz and Birkenau sites were extremely emotional; the inhumanity was unimaginable but unfortunately quite real. The contrast of seeing today's Budapest, Vienna and Prague, with their beautiful buildings, synagogues and churches and charming streets, was wonderful. The hotel rooms were spectacular and the musical performances great.

Most Memorable Moment:

A tenor from the Budapest Opera Company sang arias to us on the steps inside the Opera House- a surprise after our tour. This led me and one of the other guests to see if opera tickets could be obtained for that night's performance. We were able to see 'Faust' and had aisle seats. The singers were fabulous and acoustics great!

review_img

suemiesnik

Loved this trip. Would highly recommend it!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

Had a wonderful time. The cities were all unique and beautiful. We loved the orientation walking tours of each city on the day of arrival. It provided us with an overview to strike out on our own. The hotels were lovely and the food was delicious. We had a wonderful tour director. She managed every detail of everyone's trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Several memorable moments: Private Mozart/Strauss concert, tour of Strahov Monastery library and farewell dinner in Lobkowicz palace. All were private events for our tour. Excellent.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for choosing Tauck for this incredible destination!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

norm dito

Talkin & Walkin the Balkan

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

perfect itinerary albiet too many really early morning treks, a couple of late start days, i.e. 10a.m. really need mid trip

Most Memorable Moment:

Aushwitz

review_img

JudithFudge

In one word

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Auschwitz!

Most Memorable Moment:

Auschwitz

review_img

Beach67

A Trip Steeped in History

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Tauck managed all the details of the trip perfectly, from arranging hotels, meals, events, motorcoaches and, most importantly, a well conceived itinerary. Not mentioned in the title of the trip is the lovely old city of Krakow...it certainly was worth seeing. This was our first trip with Tauck but we're anxious to plan another one...well done!

Most Memorable Moment:

Not one moment, but many...seeing the beauty and significance of the historic cathedrals throughout our trip...breathtaking!

review_img

Interesting, informative and enjoyable

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We'd visited Vienna, Prague, and Budapest on our own in the past, but this tour provided us with a better learning experience. Our Tour Director, [Employee Name], was organized, helpful and a wealth of information. All of the local guides provided by Tauck were outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moment were the included concerts (Chopin, Mozart & Strauss) and especially the private tour at the Lobkowitz Palace in Prague as that was a special treat. Aususchwitz was moving and once is enough! Not to be missed though.

review_img

HOTFOOTER

WARSAW - PRAGUE SEPTEMBER 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Wonderful tour, definately recommend it. A lot of walking so be prepared especially in Prague where it is mostly cobblestones. Our tour director Sabina was marvellous The only reason I did not give 5 stars was that is not "the best tour ever"..I have been on at least 14 Tauck Tours and everyone was outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable moments were the Chopin Recital, the Mozart and Strauss concert, the dinner cruise on the Danube and the farewell dinner at Lobkowicz Palace. Also the Hotels especially the Mark Luxury in Praque

review_img

Jim Naylor

Central Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Fantastic itinerary that covered the history of all the countries. Excellent local guides. The private tours and musical events were superb.

Most Memorable Moment:

The tour of Auschwitz.

review_img

dariushowlia

Perfect Vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This was our first trip with Tauck,as well as first group trip. From arrival to departure everything was planned just right. We got to find new friends which we hope to travel together in the future.Selected places to visit and other functions were superb. We were extremely impressed with tour director Susan [Employee Name].She made this trip special.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting palaces,opera house.

review_img

RacoonRoy

A Crescendo of Culture

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Starting with Warsaw and climaxing with Prague it just kept on getting better. Just the right balance of architectural, cultural and free time. A knowledgable and helpful tour director made the trip both fulfilling and stress free.We are looking forward to our next Tauck tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

The view from the Charles bridge in Prague.

review_img

orgdevpro

WOW!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

the special private performances are spectacular. The hotels 5 star and the guides also 5 star.

Most Memorable Moment:

Vienna string performance, Prague from the city tower and the prince art/castle tour.

review_img

jimrich

Cental Europe, Warsaw Budapest Vienna Prague

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

Simply outstanding. We appreciate Tauck. Will be back again

Most Memorable Moment:

Promptness, food, tours

review_img

Andrea Roitman

Wonderful in every way

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2014

Everything was wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Auschwitz

review_img

Wilcoxm

Eastern European Trip (Warsaw, Budapest, Vienna & Prague

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

Wonderful, but somewhat poignant trip. Visited Auschwitz & former Jewish settlements in several Eastern European cities. Enjoyed outstanding music & art. Local guides were marvelous, as was our Tauck tour director. Hotels were 'top shelf' as was the food. So delighted our mid 20's daughter was able to experience this trip of a lifetime with with us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Auschwitz.

review_img

Travel 808

Wealth of History, Culture & Beauty

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

A most enriching experience, this itinerary was superbly executed by Tauck. Our director, both personable & professional, possessed a wealth of knowledge regarding each country. The sites visited were historically significant, architecturally stunning, & aesthetically appealing. The art, music, and the stories of their peoples were unforgettable.

Most Memorable Moment:

Witnessing my children's wonder as they experienced the following - Warsaw: private Chopin piano recital; Cracow: Auschwitz; Budapest: cruise & music on the Danube, Jewish tour; Vienna: Kunsthistorisches Museum, private Mozart/Strauss concert; Prague: private tour of Strahov Monastery library, Beethoven's original scores at the Lobkowicz Palace.

review_img

dranreb

Don't miss this experience!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

This tour was wonderful, and I'm glad we took it. My major issue on the trip was our guide trying to talk us out of taking the Jewish tour of Vienna. He said there wasn't much to see and wanted all of us to take the architectural tour instead. Three of us insisted, however, so we went and had a WONDERFUL local guide for that part.

Most Memorable Moment:

Saying Kaddish (the Jewish prayer for the dead) before leaving Auschwitz.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the timee to share your comments with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey and take the Jewish Tour of Vienna. We thank yo for your patronage and look forward to hosting you on a future trip.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

GStein

Eastern Europe late October

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Just the right pace between bus riding, free time, and socializing. The guide was exceptionally prepared with the history of the six countries that we visited and it gave us all a good grounding to prepare us for the local guides in each city.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Auchswitz had the largest effect on me but walking around Warsaw, Kracow, Budapest, Vienna, and Prague was when I bonded the most with the Eastern Europeans.

review_img

TMagee

Warsaw to Prague with Dominic d'Orazi

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We had an incredible trip thanks in large measure to the efforts of our tour director, Dom d'Orazi. He was on top of all arrangements and special requests. I had the misfortune of falling and sustaining a serious fracture of my R arm. Dom took charge immediately and made sure I received the medical care I needed in Vienna.

Most Memorable Moment:

The ambulance would't take me to the hospital until they were paid in cash. We didn't have 282 Euro, so Dom dashed to an ATM to get the funds. He was my ombudsman, and my wife and I were so reassured to know that we had him looking after us.

review_img

AStich

WOWOWOWOWOWOWOWOW

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We travelled to Warsaw, Budapest, Vienna and Prague and without a doubt it was an A+++++ experience. Tauck knows how to do it the right way. Fabulous hotels, amazing guides, comfortable bus and enough history and sightseeing to make it a memorable trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Without a doubt the most memorable moment was our private classical music concert of Mozart and Strauss with opera and ballet!

review_img

IWarren

warsaw to prague

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Great trip. Lots of history which I loved. Stop using Bristol Hotel in Vienna. It needs major work,like getting rid of the mold in all the rooms. Very informative tour guide. Took good care of any little problems.

review_img

jequinn

Eastern Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Super trip - saw all that we wanted and more Great guides and tour director The special concerts etc were a real treat

Most Memorable Moment:

The wonderful concert at the Chopin house

review_img

LBall

Warsaw to Prague

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This was our first Tauck adventure but not our last. The couple we travel with, Tauck veterans, had been after us for years to join them on a Tauck tour but we had never gone. We are hooked. Our director summed it up. Yes it may be exciting to travel unassisted but you will spend much of your time on logistics. Tauck takes care of that and you.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many......Auschwitz, Budapest by day and night, Vienna and the majestic hotel, the concert in Prague....every single day had many memories

review_img

JShaffery

"It's good to be King"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We went through 5 countries that at one time or another were part of the Austrian Empire. The music, the art and the architecture were presented to us daily by truly sharp local guides and the history was presented by our tour guide, Dominic who was a fountain of information and delivered it beautifully. The royals lived in opulence hard to imagine

Most Memorable Moment:

After a tour of the amazing Prague Opera House, we were able to secure tickets to see Don Giovanni presented in the very theater where Mozart prepared its debut 2 centuries ago. Unforgettable!

review_img

Steppiemum

Warsaw to Prague September 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We just returned from our small group tour. We learned so much about the history of the region from our incredible tour director Dominic--a walking encyclopedia! The small group was split into two groups of 12 with our own city guides as we toured. The cultural, musical surprises were awesome! Lots of walking and early mornings, but worth it!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many! Each of our musical experiences was memorable. On a free evening, we had booked a night at the opera to see Tosca. Wow! Our visit to Auschwitz was absolutely mind-bending. So necessary to see.

review_img

PGregory

"YOU've Done It Again"

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Our trip was nothing less than spectacular. We had been on two previous tours with Tauck, all great, but they just get better and better. Your Tour Directors and Coach drivers are the best. We know we've been on other tours. None can compare with Tauck. We cannot say enough wonderful things about Dominic D'Orazi.

Most Memorable Moment:

In Vienna we had the opportunity to attend a Mozart and Strauss concert performed where Mozart at the age of six gave his very first performance. It was wonderful.

review_img

jimhorn

Central Europe, Warsaw to Prague, Sept. 4-17, 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This tour is sensational. I think I would have liked it a few weeks earlier since we had some cold rain in Vienna and Prague. I have written an extensive summary of the trip with photos and posted it on my blog, https://jimhornnews.wordpress.com. It is in the section Travel Talk. My only quibble is to pay more attention to single travelers.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Danube River dinner cruise in Budapest.

review_img

Leigh

Lots of History

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

The first week in Poland was a little exhausting. A lot of history and not much downtime. Well worth it, though, and we were able to relax a little more the second week. Really enjoyed all of the cities we visited.

Most Memorable Moment:

A tie between the Danube river cruise in Budapest and the Mozart & Strauss concert in Vienna! Both absolutely incredible!

review_img

J&B

A Six Star Tour!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

A Chopin concert in Warsaw, an evening cruise on the Danube to view the beautifully illuminated architecture of Budapest, and a visit to Bratislava were only the beginning. Wonderful tour director Blake had an astounding knowledge of history that contributed immensely to our understanding and enjoyment of the people and culture of Central Europe.

Most Memorable Moment:

Just one? Not possible! Warsaw was a revelation, Auschwitz beyond description, and the synagogues and cemeteries of central Europe were both beautiful and heart-rending. Standing in the libraries of the Strahov Monastery was truly a privilege, and our dinner and tour of the Lobkowicz Palace gave us a glimpse of how the "other half" lives.

review_img

tuk tuk

Central Europe: Outstanding Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

This was our first trip with Tauck and we were very pleased. We felt we received excellent value for the cost of the trip. My wife and I are experienced world travelers, have been with other tour companies and have done some trips on our own. As a total experience this was the best. Personal attention was first class from everyone.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most emotional was the visit to Auschwitz. Photos, film, books do not convey the evil that existed there. Learning about the history of this area of Europe and seeing the countries, gained us new insight into our heritage, very powerful stuff. Meeting new people whom became friends was wonderful.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey and hope it will be the first of many!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Ellenb

Great on the ground

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Once we arrived, our trip was fabulous. Mark, the tour director, was well informed, articulate, witty, kind. However, Tauck arranged our air so we had connecting flights both ways. We discovered that there were direct flights available. We tried multiple times to email Tauck to explore a change, NEVER EVEN GOT A RESPONSE! This is unconscionable.

Most Memorable Moment:

The private Mozart concert.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your overall journey. We are most apologetic that you did not get a response to your requests to change your flights. One of our Guest Service Specialists will contact you shortly to discuss this matter in more detail.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MKutner

Central Europe Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Overall an outstanding trip. Our guide and those who assisted him were very knowledgeable and informative. The hotels were excellent with the exception of the Sheraton in Krakow. While we had a very homogeneous group, I would prefer a slightly smaller group, i.e. 20-25 people. The motor coach was comfortable. Meals in general were excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

The private Mozart concert in Vienna, and the private dinner at the Palace in Prague.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your over journey and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

RafaelAlfonso

A Great Tour of Central Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by Poland. Warsaw and Krakow were quite enjoyable. Budapest, Prague and especially Vienna more than lived up to our expectations. I would recommend a small group tour. It was quite difficult to understand the local guides with thick accents and no audio equipment, so perhaps standing very close to the guide could help.

Most Memorable Moment:

Enjoying cognac and chocolate cake at a Vienna sidewalk cafe.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback. We have improved the trip since you took this in 2013 by using audio listening devices for our local tours so that everyone can clearly hear the guide.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Beulah1

Incredible from beginning to end

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Tauck is very well organized and the hotels mostly wonderful. Did not like the Bristol in Vienna quite as much but it was also pretty good. We had a tour group that really interacted well with each other and the people we met were certainly part of the experience. I was sorry when it ended.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many - Budapest on a river boat - . Great food and music. Tour of a Budapest restored synagogue. Walking across the Charles bridge in Prague - both by day and by night. Shopping in all the places we visisted

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and thank you for sharing your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

CGreenberg

Rainy Central Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

The trip was a wonderful experience. I got to see where my Mother and her family lived before WW II tore it apart. I saw the places they lived, worshipped and ate. Strudel, Sacher Torte, goulash, Weiner Schnitzel, Tauck supplied it all. Learned a semester worth of Central European History.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Vienna

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased you had such a wonderful experience and look forward to hosting you on a future trip.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

PGoodblatt

fabulous trip......................

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

it was all that I expected and more. tauck did not miss a trick. the pace was perfect lots of doing and enough time to catch you breath. I felt safe, but independent at all times--being single for the fir5swt time in 24 yrs. this was so important.

Most Memorable Moment:

seeing Budapest again--especially the synagogue I was there when hungary was under communist control.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and we are so pleased you enjoyed your journey so much.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

TRuby

weather be dammed

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

One would think that two weeks of constant rain would dampen the travel experience but not with Tauck! Our guide, our destinations, and our creative spirit made this adventure even more memorable than the world-wide weather concerns. Congratulations to Blake, our tour director, for managing every nuance of my new found awareness of central Europe

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased that in spite of the poor weather you had a memorable journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

shescha

in search of our past

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Wonderful experience in beautiful, historic, cultural cities. Great hotels in great locations, wonderful local guides who were personable, knowlegeable and willing to share. Lucked out with weather too, finished our trip and returned home before the floods that cancelled many subsequent trips.

Most Memorable Moment:

Aida at the Prague Opera House

review_img

nritter

A view into Eastern Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

this trip provided insight into the cultural and historical history of Eastern Europe. Our guide provided excellent backgrounds for each country using maps, handouts and lectures. The local guides provided well prepared insights into the region. The hotels and food were top notch and the group was friendly and welcoming. Special events a real treat

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Jewish memorial square in Cracow with metal chairs symbolizing where deportees waited before being deported to the camps was effecting. This is where my mother-in-law, a girl of 14, waited alone to be deported to Auschwitz. Visiting Auschwitz was also a highlight and personal journey of the spirit. I understood what shaped her life.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Dear Ms. Ritter, We are so happy to learn you enjoyed your overall journey and thank you for your feedback. Edel K

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

SCohn

Surprising Eastern Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Constantly learning about the history of these resilient people and countries as they struggle with their past and embrace their future. Our group bonded exceeding well and many times it was mentioned as we received our surprises "This is why we chose Tauck." The Jewish history and culture was a key element in our taking this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many-highlighted by the trip on the Danube, the private Mozart-Strauss Concert in Vienna, monastery library and roses and vodka at Auschwitz-Berkenau, a personal touch added by our tour director.

review_img

Packman Ann

trip to eastern europe Warsaw Krakow Budapest Vienna Prague

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

We had a marvelous time touring these countries with excellent local guides in each destination. Our group leader thought of every detail we needed to know to make the trip more enjoyable. The hotels were top notch and the concierges were very helpful in planning our free time.We covered a lot of ground with many steps so you must be physically fit

Most Memorable Moment:

The museum in Prague which had drawings by children in the camps

review_img

Marsh NJ

Home After an Incredible Vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

Our trip was all we hoped it would be. Guide Ann Marie was incredible- very knowlegable, helpful & full of surprises. Our local guides were superb. Hotels were the best and conveniently located. Meals in the hotels were very good but "included" meals in other restaurants were fair - menu choices were very limited. We highly recommend this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

How can we select the most memorable moment? We went to concerts and tours of palaces, opera houses, churches & synagogues, a dinner cruise on the Danube, dinner at a palace -all just for us. The most meaningful - a visit to Auschwitz and Birkenau, and, on our own, we went to a Sabbath service in the largest European synagogue in Budapest.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Dear Ms. Messer, So glad you enjoyed your journey. We will share all of your wonderful feedback with management. Guest Relations

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Lavidareal

Wonderful trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

The Central European trip in mid October 2012, was a great experience: informative, beautiful hotels, lovely geography with interesting, wonderful new friends. The guides were knowledgeable and explained their cities and topics in an energetic, comprehensive manner.

Most Memorable Moment:

One of the most memorable moments was visiting the synagogue in Budapest. Absolutely amazing!

review_img

runnin Dave

The Best of the European Cities

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2012

IT WAS GREAT !!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Going to Aushweitz (sp?)

review_img

danreinhar

great trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2012

We covered a lot of territory at a very fast clip. This trip is higly difficult to keep up at the pace that Tauck sets,with tours,sidetrips,walking tours,river cruiseds,concerts,and special visits. Great fun but exhausting. This was my 15-20 trip with Tauck over the years and I found this more exhausting than India which I did last year .

Most Memorable Moment:

So many ,hard to decide

TAUCK RESPONSE

We appreciate your taking the taking the time to give us feedback on our Warsaw, Budapest, Vienna, and Prague tour and take your comments seriously. Your feedback will also be shared with our Product Managers who use the information to make necessary adjustments and tweaks to each tour on a recurring basis. Lastly, we thank you for your patronage and hope you'll travel with us again -The Tauck Guest Relations Team

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

ellen mason

Worth the Wait

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

I have been researching this trip for a few years and it turned out to be better than I ever expected. I traveled alone and met the most interesting people. I had plenty of wonderful conversation, interesting sights, museums and terrific tour guides that really knew what they were talking about. The hotels were simply outstanding. I loved it!

Most Memorable Moment:

Two moments, exploring the Jewish Heritage in each city and also going native and spending a memorable afternoon at the Szechenyi Baths. It was fun and full of local color. Vienna the morning at the museum of fine arts was simply a memory that will stay along and the Mozart/Strauss Concert at night and the Strahov Monastery in Prague.

TAUCK RESPONSE

So glad you enjoyed your tip and thanks for sharing your wonderful experience.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Katharine

History of the Past, Cities of Today

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Fabulous trip of beautiful cities: the architecture, history, music, food! Such variety - the illumination of Budapest seen from a Danube cruise, somber exploration of Auschwitz, views of Prague from the Charles Bridge and the pure joy of walking everywhere, made so convenient by staying in magnificent centrally-located hotels.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many but ... a Tauck exclusive tour of Municipal Hall in Prague, including the salon where Vaclav Havel and Madeleine Albright met.

review_img

cmhaan

WP tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Most incredible historic tour I've ever taken. Our Tauck guide was fantastic. His history of the area was unbelievable. He kept the Bus trips interesting.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching my fourteen year old grandson play the triangle with the Vienna Philharmonic Chamber Orchestra at our special recital.

review_img

Wendy R

A poignant and powerful journey

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

We loved every minute of our journey to Warsaw, Budapest, Vienna and Prague. While the trip was not billed as "exotic" it was every bit as captivating and enlightening as our Tauck exotic journeys, in that we not only saw several beautiful cities but experienced our heritage firsthand. Our guide, Stephen, was extraordinary in every way.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had multiple memorable moments--the food, the music, our amazing local guides, the heritage tours, and the extras our guide made available (including the tour to Terezin and going to Friday night services in Budapest to name a few).

review_img

Susan F

Wonderful Central Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Tauck experiences are always wonderful! This part of Europe has so much interesting history, musical culture, and lots of fun surprises. If you have not been to this part of Europe, it is a must. Warsaw and Budapest were new destinations for me. Our tour director, Blake, was the best and was a great story teller. It was fantastic. Ciao Susan

Most Memorable Moment:

The dinner cruise on the Danube in Budapest. There were many more as well!

review_img

Ron Sandler

Central Europe Education

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

In addition to the wonderfully organized and executed tour, our guide provided significant literature and historical information as we progressed from city to city. So not only did we see beautiful and historically significant sites, we received a great supplement to our education.

Most Memorable Moment:

Attending Friday night services in Budapest.

review_img

Charles Zipkin

Warsaw to Prague, 2012

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

Our guide, Stephen, made this a wonderful journey teaching us about the history, culture, people and architecture of Eastern Europe. The hotels were great, we had a fun group of like-minded people and the city tour guides were excellent. We learned so much--it was really an educational trip, not just a tourist vacation

Most Memorable Moment:

Auschwitz.

review_img

Alan Bell

Excellent History Lesson on Eastern Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

5/5/12. Bit depressing due to history under Nazism & Communism but also a tribute to the human spirit. Outstanding Tour Director/ local guides. Rich music history; many private/delightful music recitals greatly enhancing tour. Disappointed: often had to make tour choices in AM. Prefer both be scheduled AM/PM. Do both or choose free time.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing LaTraviata at Vienna Opera House

review_img

Coachjoel

Warsaw, Krakow, Budapest, Vienna, and Prague

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

This was the tour director's last tour before vacation. I think he worked 147 straight days without a day off. Because we had been on other Tauck tours(this was our 5th trip), we could compare him to other directors. He was a nice guy but his nerves were shot and he had zero patience. Too long without a break. He probably is a great director; we just didn't see it. The itinerary was good. Bus rides too long. More free time needed. Too much walking for older people.

Most Memorable Moment:

Birkenau Concentration Camp service at the train tracks where people came in on packed "cattle cars" to go to their deaths at the hands of the Nazis. A Cantor was on our tour and he led the service and singing. Very very moving. Have you ever thought of doing a Baseball Tour? Go to 4 or 5 cities and see 5 or 6 baseball games and also tour the cities during the day. My wife and I would do that for sure.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Although this Tour Director has been with Tauck for many years and normally does a very fine job, we are sorry you were disappointed with his performance. We are continuously striving to provide the most competent and personable Tour Director on every tour we operate. The Supervisor of the Guest Relations Department will personally be reaching out to speak with you regarding your concerns, as we take your feedback very seriously.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

dulim52

A little disappointed

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

This is our 5th trip with Tauck. We have been on Essence of Japan, Thailand/Vietnam/Cambodia, South America and India. I believe we were spoiled by the quality of all these trips, such as superb accommodations, very good food, fantastic itineraries, and most of all, highly knowledgeable Tauck directors. With this trip, we felt that our director is just average. We cannot say that she is outstanding, just average. In fact, our director with Trafalgar in the past was much more superior.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moment we had was the Chopin piano concert, surprise Opera singer and the Mozart concert in Vienna.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for the loyalty you have given us! We feel privileged to have hosted you on many adventures to different parts of the world. I am remiss to learn that your Tauck Director did not add the value that we expect, and have noted your feedback as part of on-going management and training opportunities. We hope that despite this shortcoming, you came away with cultural enrichment and many memories.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

GKass

Warsaw to Prague 2011

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

We had an excellent, informative, educational, moving and fun time on this trip. Our Tauck coordinator on the trip was terrific and the guides in the individual cities were equally wonderful. We covered six cities in five countries and would never have had as rich an experience if we attempted to do this on our own. Our hotel accommodations were wonderful and we benefited at every turn by the connections that Tauck has made in each venue. To add to all of this we had a great group of travelers,

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the ancient cemeteries and synagogues in Poland, Hungary and the Czech Republic were memorable.

review_img

McCarthyFamily

Central Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

This tour was great and full of music, art and history. Blake, the tour director, is amazing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Honestly, I can't narrow it down to one moment as there were so many memorable moments.

review_img

Silverhart

Eastern Europe Surprise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2011

We went to Eastern Europe without any preconceptions and were pleasantly surprised. I connected with my Jewish heritage, about which I knew little and was charmed by the capitals and the beauty of the countryside.

Most Memorable Moment:

Vienna. Everything about it!

review_img

substitute

great trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2011

Fantastic time, great hotels, tours, eateries

Most Memorable Moment:

Prague

review_img

Will Barrett

Eastern Europe 2011 (June 22-July 10)

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2011

We loved our trip to Eastern Europe. All hotels were **** and we thoroughly enjoyed all local tours as well as our "general guide" who stayed with us throughout the trip and gave us lectures/information each and every day! We were totally impressed with Tauck and the special events which occurred each and every day!

Most Memorable Moment:

The musical "surprises" through the trip!

review_img

schragenm

Eastern Europe

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2011

We have taken about 20 tours. This was the best ever. An excellent itinerary, great hotels, and exceptional tour director.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to Auschwitz.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button