TravelerReviews

Classic Italy, Small Groups

review_img

Rosemary Porter

Classic Italy/ Small Group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Our trip throughout Italy far surpassed any of our hopes, dreams, and expectations! Our tour director was personable, attentive, knowledgeable, and considerate. All the local excursion guides who accompanied us on the walking tours were well informed, energetic and enthusiastic, and well spoken, speaking with accents, but very understandable.

Most Memorable Moment:

What moments weren't memorable?!? Was it the Sistine Chapel at night during our private tour? Was it the Vatican before the crowds? Was it St. Mark's Basilica at night? Was it the Almalfi Coast or the Cinque Terra and the natural beauty? Maybe it was the remarkable hotels or the fabulous meals! The whole trip is unforgettable!

review_img

ShirleyWentzel

Trip of a Lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

It was AMAZING. My life dream has been to go to Italy, and Tauck provided an experience that exceeded my expectations. From the minute we met our tour director, until we said our final good-bye, every experience was memorable. Our tour director was superb. She worked hard to insure we would have an unforgettable trip, and it was.

Most Memorable Moment:

While in Florence, we came around the corner and the beautiful Duomo reflected in the afternoon sunlight. It took my breathe away.

review_img

SandyA

Classic Italy-Amazing

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

We had such an amazing time; it was better than we ever dreamed it would be. Tauck really knows how to showcase the places on the tours. We loved the way most of the hotels were in the heart of where we were touring, to make it easy to go out and wander around by yourselves. Not having to deal with luggage the entire trip was a BIG plus.

Most Memorable Moment:

That is hard to say; we loved Florence; the artwork just boggles our minds. Rome and the Colosseum were amazing; Pompeii was mind-blowing too. Cinque Terre was one of our favs. Amalfi coast was beautiful..can't say enough about the trip.

review_img

JanetDudek

Classic Italy Small Group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

This was our first trip to Europe and the first time with Tauck. It was the best trip ever! Our guide was the greatest!!! All the tour guides and bus drivers were excellent. We loved getting to know everyone being in a small group. We already booked another Tauck tour to Alaska next summer and plan on doing more in the future.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to pick one thing out of so many special moments. I guess I would pick the private tour of the Sistine chapel and the light dinner in the Vatican.

review_img

BruceMilligan

Best of the best

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Second time we've taken this tour but with the grandkids this time. You cannot underestimate the value of a Tauck Tour. The meals, no slugging baggage, no tipping, best accommodations, best local guides. No other tour will get you into the Sistene Chapel and the Vatican with only 26 others. Very best all round tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Only 26 people in the Sistene Chapel and a dinner on site as well. WOW

review_img

LindsayGrimmer

Small group Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Organization was fabulous. Saw so many sights. Knowledgeable guides. Really great synchronization between travel, guides, meals. All hotels did a great job. Yes we were busy but there was free time too which you could use for more exploring or rest. I would not travel with any other group.

Most Memorable Moment:

The private concert, private tour times.

review_img

jaywinbourne

Classic Italy Small Group June 6 2018

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

If you've never seen Italy before this is he best 101 tour money can buy. Our tour director, and each local guide, was extremely knowledgeable and was able to bring things to light that a first-timer would never - ever know. Our TD had a backup plan for every scenario and we always had something excellent to do - or take some down time if needed.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many great things to list. I remember thinking as we visited an Italian 'Truck Stop' a guy and his date could pull into one of these with 25 euros and have a pretty good weekend getaway. Literally everything that one needed. Much better than ones located in the USA. Also, I will miss not having a great bottle of wine with lunch every day!

review_img

PVD

Best Classic Italy Small Group Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Great trip! With special private tours at the Sistine Chapel and Ufizzi Gallery and excellent Italian guides. Lots of delicious food, great hotels and an excellent tour director.

Most Memorable Moment:

The private evening tour of the gold mosaic sparkling basilica of St. Mark in Venice.

review_img

LarryKathleen

Our Dream Vacation came true.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Tour of a life time. Our every needs were taken care by our wonderful tour director. Daily itinerary provided upon arrival. We saw such beautiful sites throughout our tour. We ate and drank our way through Italy. The hotels and restaurants were first class. There are too many wonderful sites to describe here. You have to see it to believe me.

Most Memorable Moment:

The after-hour tours of the Sistine Chapel and St. Marks Basilica. With such a small group, you really had the time to encompass the beauty and breath taking wonders before you.

review_img

Gordon Kleinpell

Classic Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Where to begin?.....our Classic Italy trip was the best trip ever! Saw amazing sites from all over beautiful Italy. My favorite was Rome.....but Sorrento, Florence, Cinque Terre, Venice...all Breathtaking. Places I've only dreamed of visiting. And our guide was extraordinary too. He took such great care of us. Magnifico!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting Rome, St, Peter's Basilica, and Vatican and Sistine Chapel......all amazing. As a Catholic, I was deeply touched. Also powerful were Assisi, and St. Mark's in Venice. Such beauty, great sites. Food and wine very enjoyable!

review_img

roadhog

Classic Italy is Great Overall Tour of Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

We took the Classic Italy small group tour in May. The weather was cloudy and rainy with pockets of sunshine, but that didn't impact our tour at all. This is an active agenda, with lots of walking, touring churches and museums, siteseeing, and eating! You definitely need comfortable shoes and casual, layered clothing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything! But specifically the Amalfi Coast, Pompeii, driving through Tuscany, the after-hours tour of the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel, Cinque Terre, the gondola ride in Venice, and avoiding the crowds and lines.

review_img

Alphabunch

Classic Italy Small Group Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Our trip was exceptional. We enjoyed every moment. Being on a Small Group made the vacation extra special. Our Tour Guide did a great job. Thank you to her and Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable moment is very difficult to articulate as there were so very many but, I would narrow it to two; first, the after hours tour of the Vatican Museum particularly the Sistine Chapel and second, would be Orvieto. What an awesome country Italy is.

review_img

GeraldDriver

May 30, 2018 Classic Italy, Small Group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

We enjoyed our tour, our small group that are now like family and our tour director. No matter what happened, she took care of her Tauck family (our small group). Our luggage was taken care of from the time it left our room until it was in our next hotel room. Great time!

Most Memorable Moment:

The after hours tour of the Vatican.

review_img

Neve

Living the dream

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

Once again, Tauck had our trip planned down to the minute! Everything was carefully thought out to make our visit effortless! Even at the airport on our departure. A guide was waiting for us to walk us to our exact airline counter! We had a fun group of fellow travelers and our director was awesome. We saw all the major sites.

Most Memorable Moment:

That’s not fair to ask! Pompeii, Amalfi, Cinque Terre, Tuscany, Venice! Too many to just give one! The reason I gave 4 stars is because we are not city people and we would have liked to spend a day less in Rome and Florence. We felt like royalty the whole trip: rooms, transportation, food, local guides, special entrance to sites, AMAZING!

review_img

ibstone

Classic Italy Small Group - A MEMORABLE EXPERIENCE

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

We enjoyed the trip immensely. It was our first time to Italy and we had never been on a tour before. There are really no negatives to report, except for the crowds at some of the venues. The variety of activities was enjoyable & there was enough time where we could explore on our own. Our guide was fantastic. We were never late to anything.

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to say what was my favorite venue just because everything was so well organized and ran so smooth, although the private tours were really special: the Colosseum, Orvieto & Assisi, Vatican/Sistine Chapel, Venice. We were sorry that San Gimignano was taken off the itinerary. We would have loved to have gone there. It went too fast!

review_img

MarleneFran

Classic Italy small group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

It exceeded my expectation, and I had pretty high expectations since I had traveled with Tauck before. This trip was over the top! The hotels were in great locations. The itinerary was well constructed with plenty of time for independent exploration. Food and wines were fantastic. The tour director was the BEST ever. So many treasured memories.

Most Memorable Moment:

With so many special moments it is hard to pick just one.......but the after-hrs tours of the Vatican museum and Sistine Chapel in Rome and St Mark's in Venice were unforgettable. How will Tauck beat this?

review_img

Sue Duquette

The best vacation EVER!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

We had a perfect trip!! We had a funny, kind, knowledgeable guide who made everything look easy. Our group was very compatible. Hotels were stellar, food was wonderful, and the local guides added so much!! We cannot think of a single thing to complain about.

review_img

richmondroy

Classic Italy small group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

It's hard to find anything negative to say. The trip is a nice balance of travel and downtime. The local guides are all very impressive in their knowledge and level of English proficiency. The hotels are great--well located and very accommodating. The food is wonderful even for those on limited diets such as mine. And the tour leader is great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to single out. Maybe the private tour of the Vatican art works and Sistine Chapel.

review_img

DavidGoode

Classic Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Best hotels and restaurants. Above and beyond expectations. Our tour guide took care of us like we were family. She is one incredible person. My girlfriend contracted a cold. She went to a pharmacy and got just what my girlfriend needed. I left 2 pants and 2 shirts in a hotel and she saw to it I got them back.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being in the Sistine Chapel for our after hours tour.

review_img

Jeff Jefferson

One of the best trips we have taken with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

This trip exceeded my expectations. The hotels where centrally located and excellent. The touring was comprehensive and the local guides excellent. This tour was active but doable. Tauck used great restaurants and there was always enough good wine to go around. I took a coat and tie but never needed it.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Sistine chapel and the Vatican museum after hours tours.

review_img

Keith and Karla

Classic Italy -- Good Land Trip, Terrible Tauck Air Service

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Once we arrived in Italy, the trip was lovely. Good guides & tour director, nice hotels, good food. Be careful if you let Tauck handle your flights. Tauck booked us on a bankrupt airline through a budget carrier who did not check bags through to Italy. Bad Tauck customer service on this issue both on departure and return to US.

Most Memorable Moment:

Having to clear customs into Germany to retrieve the bags that were not checked through to Italy, find the airline that picked up our flight to Italy due to bankruptcy of code share airline, and then running back thru security to the terminal to catch the flight. Very stressful beginning to what should have been a restful and luxurious trip.

review_img

Jacqueline Walker

Classic Italy with Tauck

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Best trip ever. What made it so special was our incredible guide. She took care of me when I came down with bronchitis, made sure I saw a doctor, ordered herbal tea with honey and lemon and the best minestrone soup I had ever had. She coordinated every outing and sightseeing perfectly. She made every day very pleasant with her knowledge

Most Memorable Moment:

Every day was wonderful, just as in a dream. Rome all cleaned up. The Colosseum was black when I first saw it 40 years ago. Now it was all cleaned up just as new. Being able to see the Sistine Chapel not crowded was a big plus. Seeing Cinque Terre from a boat and not having to climb a thousand steps was just fabulous, so beautiful.

review_img

Les VanStone

Classic Italy Small Group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Our 1st time to Italy was amazing. Tauck handled all the details and made travel so easy. Meals included were always very good. When we had time on our own, our excellent tour guide provided us with a list of suggestions of things to see and places to eat. Virtually no waiting in lines at visited sites, always priority entry. Our group was great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Not able to select just one. Each stop was amazing. Tauck taking all the hassle out of travel like handling luggage, super comfortable coach, knowledgeable tour guides and more made the entire trip memorable. The after hour tours are icing on the cake.

review_img

Jim and Paula

classic italy...small group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

A memorable trip with a small group of 20. Our tour guide was excellent. Tauck did a great job handling all the logistics...moving luggage, hotels, transfers.....it was painless from our perspective. We saw many of the must sees with a local expert guide and several in private e.g. Vatican Museum, St Mark's in Venice.

Most Memorable Moment:

Once again seeing the Pieta in Rome along with our private tour of the Vatican Museum which included the Sistine Chapel. Florence is the best because it is manageable and our session with Elaine Ruffolo was one not to be missed. The small towns of Orvieto, Assisi were pearls along with wine tastings and cooking lessons. The group was great.

review_img

SteveP

Italy Trip To Remember

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Great trip overall. Many top spots visited and much great food enjoyed. Tour guide was knowledgeable and helpful. While great location of the hotels, a few were less than expected by way of cleanliness and usefulness.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many but a few stood out: Amalfi Coast, Vatican Museum & Florence.

review_img

LorriVDW

A few disappointments

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

This is our third Tauck trip.The boutique hotels were excellent. I will address most of my feeling to Tauck directly, but I need to mention that the Cinque Terre boat ride was so disappointing.We were told a private boat was not available.We were stuffed into a public boat, it was major chaos. No English interpreter,had no idea what we were seeing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Pompeii, our private guide was excellent. Swimming in the Mediterranean Sea and the promenade at night at the Seaside Resort. The Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's wowed me for the second time. I was moved by the tomb of St. Francis in Assisi.I would highly recommend taking a day before for Capri, it was wonderful.

review_img

PRothen

Wonderful experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

I travelled with my daughter and 15 year old granddaughter. All three of us enjoyed the trip immensely. Although my granddaughter was the youngest member of our group, she enjoyed meeting and getting to know our fellow travellers. We loved the small hill towns of Tuscany and particularly enjoyed tour of Pompei and the Sistine Chapel.

Most Memorable Moment:

Having dinner on the rooftop of our hotel in Sorrentino looking out to the Bay of Naples. Magical. This was my fifth trip to Italy and fourth Tauck tour of this beautiful country

review_img

Tracyandken

Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

The small group tour of Italy was phenomenal. We had a great time. The tour was very thought out by Tauck. The tour group leader was delightful,informative and awesome. We felt very taken care of. The sights were perfect. The only criticism was the food. Overall it was good. Some of the restaurants and food choices were just not good.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moments were in Cinque Terre. I loved that little village and the final dinner which was bitter sweet. We had a great tour made friends and now we had to leave.

review_img

Bookladies

Classic Italy, small group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

My first experience with Tauck exceeded every expectation I had. The trip was extremely well planned and all accommodations and meals were outstanding. This was a trip of a lifetime and I chose it because I felt the itinerary allowed me to experience the best Italy had to offer. Again, all my expectations were met and exceeded.

Most Memorable Moment:

Each day included memorable moments so choosing one is difficult. However, the private tour of The Sistine Chapel was almost surreal. The opportunity to experience this without the hoards of people allowed for deep reflection and tremendous awe.

review_img

karpet

Wonderful Classic Italy Small Group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This trip was chosen by our granddaughter as her HS graduation present and was our fifth trip with Tauck but her first. We all agreed that the memories created will last us a lifetime. From the beginning in Sorrento to our final day in Venice we enjoyed every moment and would highly recommend this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our after hours visit to the Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel filled us with awe. We will also never forget our guides knocking on the giant doors of the Doge's Palace in Venice and them swinging open just for us! This trip was memorable from start to finish.

review_img

Rose Trips

Amazing Classic Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This was our first Tauck tour after hearing so many great things about Tauck from friends. We were hoping the trip would help us visit many of the famous places in Italy that were on our bucket list to see while traveling in a fist class manner. The small group Classic Italy tour exceeded our expectations!

Most Memorable Moment:

We had many memorable moments with new friends and our wonderful Tauck Director made on the tour, however the private tour of the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel was a life changing experience.

review_img

gentleben

Classic Italy Small Group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Phenomenal. Outstanding Tour Director, mostly excellent hotel accommodations fabulous food and wonderful and copious amounts of Italian wine. Fantastic itinerary and private after hour tour of Vatican museum and Sistine chapel. This was my third Tauck small group tour and the best by far.

Most Memorable Moment:

The entire trip.

review_img

echappe

An Abundance of Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

My husband & I decided to go to Italy, & being retired, had plenty of time to research cities, narrow down destinations & companies, & create the ultimate experience to Italy. The one company that most matched our dream journey was the Tauck small group trip to Italy. Surprisingly, this trip exceeded our already high expectations.

Most Memorable Moment:

My most memorable moment was the boat to Cinque Terre, seeing all 5 of the cities by boat, & spending the day in Vernazza. My husband, for the first time in his life, starting drinking wine, red & white, everywhere we went. Together, our most memorable times were exploring cities together by foot & learning so much about art & history.

review_img

Gen

Perfect Overview of Italian Highlights

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

This 2 week Tauck trip was just the perfect overview of all the main highlights in Italy. It had the right amount of free time to either relax or explore on your own. We learned so much about the history and culture of Italy that we feel like we just finished a graduate course of study. Tauck also provided many unique extras all along the way.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being in the Sistine Chapel with only our Tauck group and an awesome guide to explain and interpret.

review_img

SueTimAltoona

Extraordinary trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Class Italy small group, May 7 - 20, 2017 exceeded our very high expectations. Every single day had its own wonders from beautiful scenery to magnificent churches to art and history. Our tour guide was fabulous, all accommodations were top rated and well located, and local guides were enthusiastic and well versed. The trip of a lifetime!

Most Memorable Moment:

The private Sistine Chapel tour with less than thirty people was the biggest highlight. The Pieta at the Vatican and Orvieto, my baked anchovies in Vernazza and the boat trip along Cinque Terre, David in the Academia, St Francis' crypt in Assisi, Birth of Venus in the Uffizi, the private Doge's Palace tour in Venice, the Orvieto cathedral.........

review_img

kkigel

Classic Italy Small Group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

This was the first Tauck trip for my wife and me. The trip exceeded expectations. We were so pleased with all aspects of the trip. Great itinerary, hotels, meals, guides, great planning and care taken to make this work. I'd especially like to thank our tour leader. She did an awesome job! Glad we chose the small group!

review_img

GaryB

Classic Italy small group, one of the best trips that we have ever been on

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

The combination of a well organized itinerary, the small group experience and an incredible tour director made this one of the top tours that we have ever experienced. Tauck just keeps coming up with ways to make these tours fun and unique. We will seek out other Tauck small group tour opportunities.

Most Memorable Moment:

The private Tauck tour of the Sistine Chapel at night has to be one of the most memorable travel experiences we have had. We were allowed plenty of time to just stand and take it all in without all of the crowds. It was very moving.

review_img

Glorianne

Wow!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2017

This trip, by far, exceeded all expectations. Our small group of 18 allowed for fast friendships and opportunities to interact with our WONDERFUL tour guide, [Employee Name]. Her knowledge and kindness enriched our trip immensely. The Tauck itinerary and "private tours" provided an experience that would have been impossible on our own.

Most Memorable Moment:

Every moment was "memorable", but the the private access tours were outstanding. Crowd free access to the Vatican sites was amazing. Wow. Tauck Small Group Tours...the only way to go!

review_img

Anna Tedone

Classic Italy, Small Groups-October 2016

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

Though this was not my first time in Italy, it was my first tour with Tauck. Everything was amazing! Our tour director was fabulous. She went above and beyond for everyone in the group. From the hotels to the excursions and free time included, everything was point on and well worth all invested! I can honestly say that I will use Tauck again.

Most Memorable Moment:

After hours tour of the Vatican and meeting Vittoria Ferragamo.

review_img

Servais

Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

Itinerary was very good. Guide was knowledgeable and supportive. Hotel accommodations were very bad in Rome. My toilet did not flush. Carpet was black in walk areas and stained in other areas. Food was OK. Musical presentation in Rome with opera singer, accordion player and tambourine was an insult to anyone who enjoys music.

Most Memorable Moment:

After hours trip to Vatican and Sistine chapel. Also Boat ride to Cinque Terra.

review_img

wandawri

Classic Italy-Small Group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

This trip was the trip of a lifetime, truly made memorable by all the special features only Tauck has. The after hours access to the Sistine Chapel, and front of the line access to museums, private boat ride along the Cinqua Terra just to name a few. And 5 stars to our guide. She went out of her way to provide for us in so many ways.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's hard to pick one memorable moment but the Amalfi Coast scenic ride and Rome at night were a couple. We were so impressed with the level of knowledge of our local guides in Rome and Pompeii especially. Not to mention all the details included by Florence. The hotels were beautiful and well located. Good balance between guided and free time.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. We are so glad that you appreciated all of the special touches Tauck provided for you. We look forward to having you travel with us again in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

MCDO

The Best!!!!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2016

Our first experience with Tauck and we can't praise you enough! Your customer service extends far beyond five stars. We can't possibly tell you in this short space how much we appreciated Tauck and all that you delivered so we will have to write a letter! In the few short days since returning we have praised you to many only to hear the same!

Most Memorable Moment:

Without a doubt the private tour of the Sistine Chapel. But it was our tour guide that made it so very special. We could have seen the same thing with another guide and it would not have meant as much. The only one that topped him was our Tauck Director. Thank you Tauck for hiring such amazing people!

review_img

JamesPantelios

Classic Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Each day was a fascinating pleasure with a fun group of fellow travelers.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Sistine Chapel a private tour was moving.

review_img

ctklingel

Unimaginable Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

From beginning to end exceeded expectations. So grateful for Tauck's connections, the care and detail taken by Tauck from choosing the routes to accommodations through to transportation not to mention the tour director as well as the tours featured on this trip. Never having been to Italy, I cannot imagine doing it any other way! We loved it all

Most Memorable Moment:

There were too many to count but seeing the Sistine Chapel at night with so few people inside had to be a big one. Seeing David and the Pieta were also too incredible to describe. Experiencing the different landscapes, the churches, the art were all amazing but really just being there and experiencing Italy can't be put into words.

review_img

MichaelRaffia

Classic Italy Small Groups

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

First the Tauck itinerary for our Classic Italy Small Groups,was most memorable. Each and every step of our journey through Italy guided by our Tour Director, was a total pleasure; he is a most effective, knowledgeable and caring professional.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to select only one, however our excursion to the Cinque Terre traveling by a combination of bus, boat and train, then on to Florence, was a most exciting and enjoyable charm packed day.

review_img

Marilyn Nuber

Classic Italy (small group)

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

We loved every minute. Years ago I travelled with Tauck to Lugano,Lake Como,Venice, Florence and Rome. This trip covers a lot more ground. The fellow travelers and the Tour guide were terrific. The tour guide had her hands full with a few travelers that were not physically suited for this trip. She handled everything with grace. Loved her.

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved the Amalfi coast, Cinque Terre, the private tours of The Sistine Chapel and the Doges Palace. The hotel in Venice and the Gondola ride were wonderful. It was my husband's birthday while we were in Venice and the tour guide surprised us with our own vocalist on the Gondola ride. She was a gem!

review_img

Mel Hughes

Another Outstanding Adsventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

This was our 12th Tauck tour and our 3rd small group tour. As usual, everyone was very friendly and by the end of the second week we were like family. After two weeks it was hard to say good bye. But we are still connected, sending digital photo files and e-mails back and forth and talking about our next Tauck adventure.

Most Memorable Moment:

As usual Tauck had lots of special events, but we will never forget our after hours, private tour, (just the 25 of us) in the Sistine Chapel. It was wonderful! It is these special touches that Tauck adds that no other tour company matches, that makes their tours so wonderful. That is the reason we have already booked two more tours for 2017.

review_img

David Carson

Wonderful trip to Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

We did the Classic Italy Tour, which we enjoyed immensely. Our guide did a very good job coordinating the trip and all the local guides along the way provided excellent commentary. We were lucky to have a small group on the tour, who we had a lot in common with, so we enjoyed their company. The old saying "you get what you pay for" applies.

Most Memorable Moment:

Night time trip to the Vatican

review_img

LDK

Small Group Classic Italy Tour Delivered on its Hype!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

This trip rates right up there with three other Tauck International trips I've taken. Starting with the our fantastic Director, the variety of activities/tours (medieval towns, cities, resorts, bus, boats, trains), private accesses, local food, accommodations, opera singers, gondola rides, this trip had it all; The best way to experience Italy!!

Most Memorable Moment:

It is difficult to choose just one memorable moment, but the opera singer and accordion player who entertained us during a delightful dinner will be a lasting memory. Our entire group laughed and sang and thoroughly enjoyed the evening! Our tour Director, who filled the travel time with history and great stories, will stay with me for a long time

review_img

Naturally Unique

Small Group Classic Italy was wonderful

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

This was our 4th Tauck trip. It was wonderful. We enjoyed the boutique hotels because they were close to all the sights. The tour mixed big cities and remote small towns so perfectly. A lot of walking and steps involved but was well paced. Free time was nice ! Florence, our director was the best ! She took care of us like family. Perfect tour !

Most Memorable Moment:

I enjoyed the art in Florence, especially David. The small towns were so relaxing and picturesque too. We ate at a lot of unique restaurants that we loved. Great travel companions and the best director made the trip a special journey. A terrific itinerary that everyone will love ❤️ Small group is a good choice on this tour.

review_img

PatriciaWalter

Classic Italy - Small Groups

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

We had an unbelievably wonderful, stress free, informative, awe-inspiring trip to Italy with Tauck. The accommodations were wonderful and the food was incredibly good with some of the meals being in small local restaurants. Our tour director was fantastic, guiding us to the front of long lines, securing a private boat for a tour of Le Cinque Terre

Most Memorable Moment:

When the lights were turned on in the after-hours private tour of St. Mark's Basilica. My jaw literaly dropped open. It was beautiful beyond words.

review_img

jeannemkell

Classic Italy Small Group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

Wow! We are still pinching ourselves to see if this trip was a dream or reality! The special touches that were included on this tour made it so special - the 5 Star hotels, delightful restaurants that we never would have found on our own, local guides, private tours & boat rides… Our Tour Director was THE best!

Most Memorable Moment:

The private, after-hours tour of the Vatican Museum and Sistine Chapel is so memorable. Spending 45 minutes with just our little group in The Sistine Chapel along with our local guide allowed us to look carefully at the paintings, learn how to "read" them, and just take it all in. There was no rush, no crowds, just pure awe!

review_img

bkandy

Classic Italy,small groups

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

A WONDERFUL time....really got to get a taste and feeling for many different parts of the Italian country & culture. As always, well organized and worry free !

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the Sistine Chapel after hours.

review_img

Abby2016

Classic Italy Small Group Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

This is one of the best trips I have taken. I have traveled with another tour company and found that while I had the same amount of expense with Tauck, I received much more value for my money. The Tour Director was extremely knowledgeable as well as the docents from each city we explored. The food was excellent and accommodations were first rate.

Most Memorable Moment:

Each place was memorable on this tour. Many memorable moments were experienced when I didn't have to haul my luggage anywhere. I absolutely love this company. I have talked my neighbors into a tour of Australia and New Zealand which they are currently on and my friends have booked a Safari in Africa for 2018. We have booked an additional 3 trips!!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. This is a great overview of Italy. We look forward to hosting you on your future journeys that you have booked with us!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

bntucker

Classic Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

A fairy tale inside a gorgeous coffee table book of Italy. Absolutely wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

They were all memorable since every place we went has something special. And all that fabulous food and the gelato.....

review_img

Margie B

Italy small group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

A BIG negative: There was a couple who could not walk as required by Tauck policy and was clearly unfit for this trip. Due to this, we lost considerable tour time and our enjoyment was notably diminished. She tried her best, but our tour director's focus was unfairly consumed by this problem. This is unacceptable and I worry about future trips.

Most Memorable Moment:

We enjoyed the private boat to Cinque Terra (fortunately the tour director realized that the non-walking couple could not join us on this excursion) and after-hours in the Sistine Chapel (although we lost precious time dealing with the HUGE delay arranging for the couple to use wheelchairs) and the Doge's Palace.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are sorry you had the inconvenience of fellow travelers who were not up to the rigors of this tour. We let our guests know in advance of the physical requirements of our journeys, but sometimes they do not always clarify their level of fitness to us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Wtca

Best first trip to Europe/Italy possible

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

My husband, not a natural traveler, and I decided to take our first European trip ever to Italy. We chose Tauck Classic Italy Small Group tour and could not have had a more perfect experience if we tried. In fact, can't see how any other trip can ever measure up. Italy was wonderful, the people with us were wonderful and the weather was wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Although the we really loved all the small towns we visited, ending up in Venice was thrilling!! Here we were in this iconic place, seeing all those scenes we've seen all our lives in books and movies. Staying right on the Grand Canal was certainly a plus, as we watched the water traffic while gathered on the terrace of the hotel.

review_img

Essy

Getting to know Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2015

Having never been to Italy this was a superbly planned and executed way to accomplish that goal. The hotels were all luxurious and well-chosen to be close to the most desirable sites. Every detail was taken care of and in the Tauck style, there were superb special access where the crush of other tourists would have been a problem.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Sistine Chapel at night with just a few additional tourists. And the first glimpse of Pompeii.

review_img

Pchadderdon

Italy Was Great

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

We loved every place we visited in Italy. The hotels were amazing and the food was great. We particularly liked Florence and Venice. The afterhours tour of the Sistine Chapel was wonderful. We didn't have to fight the daily crowds.

Most Memorable Moment:

The best part was the private tour of the Sistine Chapel.

review_img

CAK

Small Groups Classic Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Group of 25 covered ages 9-90; friendly, easy to talk to and dine with. Logistics of the trip were very well laid out. Hotels and restaurants were much better than I could have chosen on my own. Trip itinerary hit all the key spots. I was concerned about amount of free time but it was a welcome respite. Lots of walking!

Most Memorable Moment:

Visiting the Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel after hours. What a wonderful perk of this trip! Also seeing David and the gondola ride.

review_img

drkenk

Small group Classic Italy- Best Group!!Best Guide!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Toured Italy with 23 well matched and compatible people ranging in age from 17-83. Felt very comfortable and easy eating, walking, or sitting beside any of them.. Our Tour Guide was equally compatible and easy to be with! What she didn't know about Italy- obviously hasn't been experienced yet!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Somewhere between touring St Peter's Basilica and riding along the Grand Canal in Venice!

review_img

SunnySC

Classic Italy - Small Group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

My wife and I had a phenomenal trip to Italy. Our first Tauck experience was fantastic - and our Tour Director was outstanding. We loved our experience - and were able to see so much of Italy in a relatively short period of time. The behind the scenes experiences with exceptional local guides and not waiting in lines was a real bonus!

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything - we enjoyed every aspect of our 14-day trip - our tour colleagues, Tauck attending to every detail, the ease of travel, the handling of our luggage and tips, the unbelievable food... We could go on and on. Our overall experience was five-star!

review_img

Gary Alan Smith

Italy Love

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Fabulous, wonderful, amazing, beautiful, delicious, inspiring, fun! We truly had a grand adventure. Trip was well planed and paced. Great balance of time in the city and time in the country. Hotels were lovely and food delicious - though there was too much of it! We were well taken care of. Met many interesting people. Just go!

Most Memorable Moment:

I enjoyed being in the countryside. My husband enjoyed the cities. His favorite was the Sistene Chapel. Mine was seeing the natural beauty of Italy - Amalfi, Umbria, Tuscany, Cinque Terre, Assissi, Torgiano, and Orvieto.

review_img

Tomconnell1948

Classic Italy, small groups

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

It exceeded our expectations. We had a great time. The hotels and planned meals were wonderful and the recommendations of places to eat when we were on our own were fabulous. I have a gluten allergy and the tour director made sure I have gluten free pasta wherever we ate. The bus was very clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the boat and train rid

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many it is hard to pick just one. The guides tours of the Vacatian museum and Sistene Chapel, the Doge Palace and the Uffizi Gallery, and Pompeii were most helpful. To try and do this on own own would have been impossible.

review_img

Kris McKittrick

Small Group Classic Italy June 7, 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

This was a fantastic trip & our first Tauck tour. We loved the pace of the tour, the beautiful hotels, having free time on our own, all the wonderful food and getting to know our fellow travelers. Our guide was fantastic. We took a wonderful vacation that was relaxing and educational - learned a lot about art, Italian culture, history.

Most Memorable Moment:

There are too many memorable moments to list all of them. The highlights for me were the boat ride along Cinque Terre, the Almalfi Coast drive, the gondola in Venice, Rome at night tour, Vatican and getting to know our tour guide and traveling companions.

review_img

Dad8780

Italy Small Groups

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Overall this was a nice trip. We were able to see all the major sites in Italy. We could have used a little more down time. We brought our adult children (20's) and would not recommend others do this. Our guide was awful. Condescending and did not handle any situations for anyone in our group.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was seeing the Vatican Museum at night on a private tour.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have shared your comments regarding our Tauck Director with our Management team.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Joe Molinari

Classic Italy Small Group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

This was our first trip to Italy and first tour. Our Tour Director did a very nice job handling all details with tour guides hotels etc. We were also fortunate to have a student in training helping, she was also very helpful. Tauck experience was everything we epected.

Most Memorable Moment:

Private tour of Sistene Chapel

review_img

LarryandMary

Classic Italy Small Group 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

We just returned from our Classic Italy Small Group Tour. The Tauck experience was so wonderful, we immediately booked next year's vacation to Ireland with Tauck. This trip to Italy had it all: amazing local guides to augment our fabulous tour director, delicious regional foods, wonderful hotels, and an amazing view of cities and countryside.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many! The after-hours private tour of the Sistine Chapel was astonishing, as was the amazing tour of the Pompeii ruins. The local guides brought the history and significance of both to light in a very impactful manner. We loved every minute of this trip!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your wonderful memories of this extraordinary journey! Italy is a magnificent country, and we were glad you shared it with Tauck. We look forward to hosting you next year in Ireland.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JanieQ

An Amazing Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

My husband and I took the 14 day Classic Italy tour and thoroughly enjoyed it. Everything was so organized, our tour guide was so knowledgeable and caring, and the people in our group were just so congenial. The hotels were just beautiful and the restaurants we ate in were excellent.

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring the Ruins of Pompeii; our guide was wonderful and the tour was so interesting and informative. Equally wonderful was our private, after hours tour of the Sistine Chapel.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your wonderful trip to Italy! One of the advantages of travelling with Tauck is the special touches that you cannot get on your own, such as the private tour of the Sistine Chapel. We look forward to having you travel with Tauck again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

lensfocus

A feast in every way.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

The food, oh, the food. And yes, the wine. And a little first-batch olive oil. Mamma mia! The tour director was helpful in every way; a source of quality information and personal care. The tour gave me a comprehensive view of Italy's past and present. The drivers were expert, the local guides were committed to excellence and integrity.

Most Memorable Moment:

I love the ocean, so Amalfi, Viareggio, Cinque Terre and Venice touched my heart. And did I mention the food?

review_img

jmpanz

Dream Realized

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

An Italian appetizer of a trip! Just touching on enough of Italy's major highlights to leave you wanting more and more!

Most Memorable Moment:

Taking a private boat tour up the coast of Cinque Terre, just an amazingly beautiful trip!

review_img

STUDIO/RJM

Classic Italy small group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

Very well done, managed and directed by Tauck and our tour guide.

Most Memorable Moment:

Private tours or the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel and Doges Palace in Venice.

review_img

berlitzvp

Tavck Classic Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2015

One of the most memorable trips we have ever taken. Every aspect was handled professionally and our tour guide was extraordinary.

Most Memorable Moment:

After hours visit to the Sistine Chapel

review_img

LoriandGary

Classic Italy Small Group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

We had a wonderful time! Our tour guide made our trip so special with her pleasant demeanor and her stories. The weather was perfect. All of the hotels were beautiful and central. And the food?? So good! It was amazing to walk through Italy and all of the history. We'll never forget this experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

It was all amazing. The best part of the trip were the local guides - and our Tauck Director, too. It meant so much to have the history and the stories behind what we were seeing - giving it so much more meaning. You truly have special people working for Tauck!

review_img

Seeke

Classic Italy Small Groups

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

To sum it up in one word "magnificent". From the beginning to the very end every detail was taken care of and we had the best tour leader ever. She did a fantastic job. Her organizational skills, knowledge and love of the area made it special. We were also lucky to travel with such a great group of people. Truly a dream come true.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many memorable moments from the Isle of Capri to the gondola ride in Venice. Most memorable was seeing "David"

review_img

soho72

Classic Italy - What a Great Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

The small group was well worth the extra money. The group was congenial, and our tour guide was outstanding. Tauck absolutely goes the extra mile - great hotels, knowledgeable tour guides, wonderful food. Most impressed with the care taken in getting us back to the airport in Venice. Can't think of a better way to see Italy.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching the glorious sunset from the Pontevecchio in Florence.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you enjoyed your small group experience with Tauck. Italy is an amazing destination with something for everyone!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

ninna

Classic Italy Small Groups

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

This was a wonderful trip. It was active but pace needed to be fast in order to cover so much of Italy. Our guide was very helpful and all local guides were excellent. Boat ride, gondola ride, group dinners all a lot of fun. Hotels very conveniently located and hotel in Sorrento was beautiful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to pick just one but after-hours visit to Sistine Chapel was special.

review_img

Wonhof

Italy, Small Group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

Our first Tauck trip and we will be back. Fantastic itinerary. Pace was just right. At least one or more attractions a day and all of the important sites. Plenty of free time. The hotels were are fantastic and in great locations. The restaurants were also first class.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Sistine Chapel and Doge's Palace. Both after hours which made the experience so special and intimate. Every day and every city had highlights. We went a day early to go to Capri and that turned out perfect.

review_img

Chickie Babe

Dream Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

It was a dream come true. Tauck services were wonderful from the time we got off the plane until we stepped back on the plane. Michael, our tour director was wonderful, always smiling and helpful. The tours and tour guides were outstanding. This was my second trip with Tauck..hope to do another...Germany, Austria etc next goal. Thank you.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to say...liked Venus the best.

review_img

Virginian19

Classic Italy - Small Group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

This was an extremely well planned, and well thought-out tour. We hit all of the sites that were most important to me. Our tour director, Michael, ensured that everyone had a great time, and that we made the most of our two weeks. The logistics were phenomenal, from the hotels to the restaurants to the private tours. Tauck did an amazing job.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking into St. Peter's at the Vatican was my most memorable moment. The sheer size of the basilica, the grandeur of the art and mosaics, the marble walls and columns. It was almost overwhelming. But my favorite part was the gondola ride in Venice, and the accordion player and Italian singer who accompanied us - a very special 'Tauck touch'.

review_img

BullBaby

We loved every minute!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

The Classic ITALY Small Groups tour was even better than we expected it to be. Our tour director and local guides were knowledgeable, personable, fun. All we had to do was enjoy the scenery, the fabulous sites, and our fellow travelers. Everything was extremely well organized. We felt very well cared for!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the Doges' Palace in Venice at night--with only our small group. No crowds, no noise. It was an incredible experience.

review_img

David Clingman

Classic Italy, small group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

First and foremost, don't ever let [Employee Name], our tour director, get away from you. I've seen a lot of tour guides, and she is exceptional in every respect. Your selection of locations and events is excellent. You might want to consider some guided options as alternatives to free time, such as art, museums, galleries, etc. Rome hotel subpar.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cinque Terre from the sea in the early morning sunlight. Beautiful!

review_img

mcmurtrie

first time Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Outstanding trip, tour director was a great lady, guides provided well thought out information. The ability to access sites after hours was a strong concept given the large crowds in many locations. Super cross section of locations from the south to north that were visited.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many ,one after another but probably 2 stood out, the trip along the Amalfi coast and the visit to venice

review_img

BDPtravel

Classic Italy Small Group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Itinerary was perfect. Kept us moving. Director, Florence, was the absolute best. Knowledgeable, friendly and couldn't do enough for everyone.Great meals in small resturants. Hotel D'Inghilterra was 3star not a 5. Should be removed. Sistine at night had restoration workers with bright lights,many large Tauck groups at the same time.Dissapointing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cruise along Cinque Terre. Fantastic. All the tours were great.The art in Italy truely spectacular. Guides are excellent. Small group is the ONLY way to see Italy. Florence our director made the trip perfect.

review_img

flyboy

Classic Italy-Small Groups

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This was our third Tauck tour, and I'm sure there will be many more. We especially liked the balance of large cities like Sorrento, Rome, Florence and Venice with the beautiful villages like San Gimignano, Orvieto, Assisi, and the villages of Cinque Terre. And Pompeii will stay in my mind forever. Couldn't have seen all this on our own!

Most Memorable Moment:

So many to choose, but for myself it would have to be our visit to Pompeii. It was so real for us, I could almost see the people walking down the streets.

review_img

DKRI1

Classic Italy - Small Groups

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

This trip was a fabulous experience and we loved every bit of it! The tour director was very knowledgeable and passionate about her tour, Italy and about Tauck. This was the first tour we have taken with Tauck and we will definitely be back for more, thank you so much!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to choose just one memorable moment, when you have seen the Vatican Museum, the Colosseum, and the Grand Canal in Venice, along with other fabulous sites. But if we had to choose just one, it would be the gondola ride in Venice.

review_img

Florida Address

Classic Italy Small Group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Tauck is all about detail and no one can appreciate the behind the scenes effort to insure a seamless experience. The Tauck staff is totally committed to each member of the group down to the smallest detail.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our tour director Florence Hoag deserves special appreciation for going over and the command of duty insuring that each participant of the tour was able to enjoy the tour. Her wealth of knowledge is just remarkable.

review_img

Matuslin

First of many Tauck tours to come......

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Overall this tour was the best we've ever taken. If I was being totally critical I'd add the following: 1. Hotel in Rome, make a change 2. Was expecting a smaller group 3. Was expecting ALL participants to be physically active 4. Would have loved one morning to sleep in a bit 5. Offer a diet intervention Post-trip.....the food rocked

Most Memorable Moment:

St. Peter's Basilica is by far the best and Ricardo combined information with his brand of humor. It was great

review_img

FShartzer

Classic Italy..small group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2014

Loved this 2 week tour with a small group. We saw all of the highlights of big cities and Tuscany.

Most Memorable Moment:

Free time in Florence....all of the great meals....not standing in long lines at the exhibits.

review_img

bdcook111

Italy for first time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Lots of great food. Awesome location for great European-style hotels. Loved wandering around on our own after outstanding orientation by our guides. Avoided long lines to see the "must see" sites like Sistine Chapel, Vatican, Uffizzi, Colesium Tauck handled all the logistics without a hitch: Planes,trains,boats,buses,tickets, taxis,luggage,keys.

Most Memorable Moment:

Tough question. So much variety, so hard to compare. For me, Sistine Chapel in awe. For Cherie, wandering through Orvieto.

review_img

Bobham

Classic Italy - Small group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

This was the most fantastic trip we have ever taken...... from the hotels, the restaurants, the cities and the sites visited. the tour guides and Especially our tour director, [Employee Name]. Florence saw to every detail, whether it was a planned event or a snafu that might have developed during the tour. She is the reason this was so great!!!!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

I can't say that there was any most memorable moment. Everything we did was magnificently planned and executed. Everything was wonderful.

review_img

Ron and Vicki

We love Italy (and Tauck)

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

It would be sad to splurge and be disappointed. We splurged and were delighted! Our capo gruppo (Jane) told us about history, art, etc. before we reached each destination. I had listed things I wanted to see. We saw most things with Jane, and we saw the remainder on our own during free time. Local guides were great! Especially Elaine in Florence.

Most Memorable Moment:

Turning around in a large room in the Bargello Museum and seeing Donatello’s bronze of David.It was not even on my list. After-hours tour of Sistine Chapel and Doge's Palace. The boat tour along the Cinque Terre, the gondola ride with musicians, walking among the pagan and Christian art/architecture/fountains in Rome.

review_img

JStem

Trip of a lifetime!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

I can't stop raving about my small group tour through Italy. I can't imagine how it could have been any better. The tour was well organized with great sight seeing, mini tours, wonderful food, beautiful hotels, and an outstanding a Tour Director.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our private after hours tour through the Sistine Chapel gave me chills. Our guide was not only very knowledgeable and thorough, he was fun. It was an unforgettable experience.

review_img

RFrigulti

Classic Italy - Small Groups October 12-26, 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

A grand adventure! [Employee Name] was a terrific tour director. She went the extra mile for her guests to accomodate all their requests,was very informative, knowledgable and entertaining. She is a definite plus to the Tauck Company. Every bit of the trip was wonderful from the Vatican to Venice. (Drop the Ferragamo visit-a waste of time and money)

Most Memorable Moment:

The Sistine Chapel

review_img

LisaS

Florence with Florence was Fabulous

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Trip was great. More physically vigorous than expected. May want to consider a lighter day in the middle of trip so participants can recharge themselves for second half. Also, would have preferred more meals to include fresh vegetables/salads and fresh fruits. Would travel anywhere with Florence and Juan Carlo our driver. They were both awesome.

Most Memorable Moment:

To many to name. Some were: private tour of Sistine Chapel, arriving in Venice, Amalfi coast, Pompei, and farewell dinner.

review_img

TravelDreamer22

Classic Italy-Small Groups

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Our dream trip to Italy became a reality with Tauck this year and the experience exceeded our expectations. From the ease of travelling, the individual care that was shown, the informative and educational level that was provided by our Director, [Employee Name], not to mention her wonderful sense of humor, we could not have asked for more. Meraviglio!

Most Memorable Moment:

There are just too many to choose from but perhaps, the best moment was sitting in an outdoor Ristorante along the Riva in Venice on our last day reminiscing about all the wonderful experiences we shared with our fellow travelers!

review_img

PPetrasek

Good, But Some Disappointments

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This is the third trip we have taken with Tauck. Having high expectations on this trip, during this two week tour we were disappointed with our Tauck tour guide. She talked too much - especially about problems she was having regarding the tour. We also experienced no "special surprises", as we had on the two other Tauck tours we have been on.

Most Memorable Moment:

The time we spent walking through the ruins of Pompey were so special as we recalled the history we had read. Hearing and experiencing the magnificence of Vienna was also special.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that some aspects of this trip fell below your expectations but very pleased you had some truly memorable moments. We will review your comments immediately and take corrective actions where necessary. Thank you so much for your patronage and do hope you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

GinaH

First Time but Surely Not the Last

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

I am a traveler but was leery of touring with a group. This was my first tour of any kind and how lucky was I to choose Tauck! Two weeks of travel in Italy and not one hiccup along the way - even the weather was perfect. I learned so much from our tour director and the local guides and I loved the small group. An over-the-top trip. Bravo!

Most Memorable Moment:

The private tours of the Sistine Chapel and the Doge's Palace.

review_img

GFranz

September 2013 Small Group Classic Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

The trip's accommodations and itinerary were delightful from start to finish. First class hotels, buses, trains, and local guides, as we have come to expect from Tauck. An unexpected plus was the warmth, great sense of humor, and incredible knowledge of our tour director, [Employee Name]. She added a wonderful extra dimension to our trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Walking through the Vatican Museum and the Sistine Chapel on our private tour. What an incredible experience. Ricardo, our local guide, brought the tapestries and frescoes to life with his deep knowledge and gift of story-telling.

review_img

BLack

Classic Italy Small Groups 9/15-9/28

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This was our third tour with Tauck (previously Canyonlands and Canadian Rockies). Loved the small group, well placed and appointed hotels, transport links, gracious hospitality everywhere. [Employee Name], our tour director made it all look easy. Particularly enjoyed the after hours and specialty events.

Most Memorable Moment:

At a group dinner that featured a wonderful musical accompaniment duo, the singer began a lovely Italian serenade with a natural focus toward one of the female guests. To his surprise, this seemingly casual gesture quickly evolved into a mini operetta that had everyone at the table practically rolling on the floor. Can't make this stuff up.

review_img

Robert Roche

Clasic Italy Small Group - Classic Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Fabulous Trip- Critique: Hotel in Viareggio very nice, however the cafeteria type dinner not up to Tauck Standards. Actually we would have prefered more "a la carte" type dinners at the hotels like we have experienced on previous Tauck trips. Too many group dinners, prefer more independance.Cooking class at Le Tre Vasselle just so so.Could forget

Most Memorable Moment:

One thing easy to overlook is the attention to detail by Tauck on this trip or any Tauck trip for that matter. From the pickup at the airport to the kiss goodbye everything handled. Loved the Sistine Chapel, the boat ride along Cinque Terre,and Florence. This Tour packed with gorgeous scenery, fabulous art, and intriging culture. loved everything

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry that your overall dining experience fell below expectations. We will look into your comments and take corrective actions where necessary. We thank you for your patronage and do hope we will have the pleasure of hosting you in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

scracraft

My dream vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Our small group Classic Italy tour exceeded all expectations. Our tour guide, Florence, was the best. She knew the culture and ethos of Italy and communicated it so well. It truly was the trip of my dreams.

Most Memorable Moment:

I was stunned by Orvieto. Actually liked that church better than Sistine Chapel. San Gimignano was a favorite. Cinque Terra more amazing than I imagined. But, oh, Venice! The wonderful surprise of singer and accordion player on gondola ride. Tauck knows how to make trip amazing. I remain dazzled!

review_img

TGrimmond

Classic Italy for small groups

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This trip was fantastic, but I liked Ireland better. My favorite days of this trip was the two spent in Tuscany. It was absolutely beautiful and very peaceful. I love people but Rome, Florence and Venice were jammed packed. The only thing Tauck could do to better this trip is find another restaurant for the last night's dinner. It was terrible.

Most Memorable Moment:

This trip had the best collection of guests ever. The people and our guide, Florence, all just seemed to get along fantastic. I really loved the gondola ride with the serenade. Totally awesome. We smiled and sang and took a million pictures forever. Wonderful. Just lose the last restaurant and the trip was perfect.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey. Your comment regarding the Farewell Dinner venue will be shared with our Product Team.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

DVitale

great Italy trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

trip well planned with variety of sites visited-large cities, small towns, cathedrals, countryside.

Most Memorable Moment:

statue of David

review_img

SBurke

classic italy small group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Roberta was great as were all the guides. Planning was as expected, top notch, rooms were ,for the most part good except for Florence which was HORRIBLE. not 1 drawer in the entire room to unpack and with the suitcases opened, you could not get into bed. No room in the bathroom either. If the trip was half the price it would have been tolerable

Most Memorable Moment:

and the "king" bed was 2 small beds pushed togeather but would not stay togeather...they slid around whenever you got in or out. We just signed up for London and Paris next year and HOPE the rooms will be better.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your overall journey with us. We will be sure to share your comments regarding your room in Florence with the manager who is responsible for this journey.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Val

Classic Italy is a Classic!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Great from start to finish. Excellent diversity of cities and sights was sure to please everyone. Good mix of planned activities and free time to explore on our own. Hotel locations were perfect for proximity to the things in which we were interested. You even provided perfect weather from beginning to end! As expected everything went smoothly.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Vatican Museum and the Sistine Chapel out of hours, unrushed with no crowds, was great. This gave us time to fully enjoy all the masterpieces we saw without being rushed to move on. This also applies to the Doge's Palace in Venice.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey with us and look forward to hosting you again in the near future!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

SRasmussen

Tauck Italy Small Group - June 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

This was probably one of the best vacations that we have ever taken. The private tours of the Sistine Chapel, Vatican Library, and the Doge's Palace were exceptional. Loved the smaller boutique hotels. The pace of the trip was just right - a great mix of relaxation and hectic activity. I would add one day to the tour so that we had 3 days in Venice

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments that it is hard to pick one, but favorites include the ride along the Amalfi Coast, the Sistine Chapel, the Cinque Terre town of Vernazza, the gondola ride in Venice, the optional night tour of Rome, and everything to do with Florence and Venice.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so very pleased you enjoyed your journey and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

BParmelee

Italian Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Every part of the trip was first class beginning with our tour director Tina [Employee Name]. Wonderful guides, food and hotels topped off with the fabulous gondola ride and dinner. The private tours of the Vatican and palace will be fond memories.

Most Memorable Moment:

The gondola ride with singer--great!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed our journey!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

LScruggs

Classic Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Awesome

Most Memorable Moment:

Florence

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very happy you had such an awesome experience!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

A2couple

Perfect overview and trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

It had been suggested to us to do this trip through Tauck as a first trip and we were so glad we did! It was first class all the way! Itinerary was incredible. It was a wonderful mix of touring as a group and having ample time on our own to explore Italy as we wanted. Highly recommend this itinerary & Jayne our guide the best! What fun!

Most Memorable Moment:

Can't pick a most memorable just to many! However, we had a blast on our gondola ride in Venice as we had a singer and accordion player on our boat - some pretty funny video of 4 of us singing along I can tell you that! :-). We had 24 of the nicest people in our group as well made the trip so much fun and we are still in touch with many of them.

review_img

Jody Porta

Classic Italy, small group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

Amazing! Magical and unforgettable! Everything from a tour guide with a wealth of information about the country to delicious food and sights. We celebrated our 36th wedding anniversary in Florence and our tour guide set up a special dinner with special surprises. It was a trip of a lifetime.

Most Memorable Moment:

After hours tours were very special. Only Tauck guests inside the Vatican...NO crowds! An incredible experience.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so very pleased your enjoyed your journey - the Private Vatican visit is a wonderful experience!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Chris D

Classic Italy, Small Group, May-June 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

First Tauck tour - and definitely not our last. They provided first-class service throughout and offered a perfect blend of free time (with helpful hints) and structure, big cities and small towns, very active and more relaxed. Extraordinary trip guide and fabulous individual tour guides at all sites. Small group was absolutely way to go for us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Great question but unfair. Too many to mention.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased you enjoyed your journey with us and look forward to hosting you on another adventure in the near future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

RGagnier

Classic Italy Small Groups

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

It was the trip of a lifetime! People were the best, from our tour director, to our drivers and guides and our tour group. From the south to the north we hit all the highlights of the beautiful Italian country and sites. We had the right amount of planned time and free time. Food was the best and so were all the hotels. Highly recommend it!

Most Memorable Moment:

The gondola ride with musicians and Prosco!

TAUCK RESPONSE

Dear Ms. Gagnier, We are so very pleased you enjoyed your journey so much and appreciate your feedback. Edel K

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

eea

Classic Italy

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2013

This trip was amazing! A wonderful mix of fabulous experiences, highlighted by the best guide ever, Florence. We would go anywhere with her!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Private tour of the Vatican, without the crowds, and having incredibly knowledgeable guides.

review_img

Fotobud

Classic Italy - Small Group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

Fantastic trip. [Employee Name] our Tour Director was the best. The Hotels put us in the middle of everything and the service was always first rate. The included meals were great and local tour guides were warm and informative. We are looking forward to our next Tauck Tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

[Employee Name] was warm, witty and firmly in charge. At the welcome reception she had us anticipating the next 14 days. Each day had something special to enjoy and file away for fond rememberences. We extended our stay at the end in Venice and Tauck made sure that our travel experience was good to the last minute.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are thrilled you enjoyed your overall journey and returned with so many memorable moments!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Soccer

Classic Italy Small Groups

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

Absolutely wonderful!! Needs to be on everyone's "bucket list"!!! I splendid mixture of different venues! Go for it!!!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Sharing the trip with my family.

review_img

FABR

Wonderful Vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

My wife and I had a tour that we will remember as one that offered us an opportunity to sample different regions of Italy. It required a great deal of walking and climbing of stairs but well worth the effort. After hour tours of Sistine Chapel and Doge's Palace a plus. Impressed with tour director and local guides.

Most Memorable Moment:

We enjoyed the visits to Pompeii and Florence. Viewing of David and Sistine Chapel, just walking around cities.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button