TravelerReviews

Norwegian Fjords & Coastal Treasures - Eastbound

review_img

Mira

Beautiful Fjords of Norway

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Although the weather during most of our cruise was rainy & cold (negating a scheduled stop in Alesund), we loved our days spent in Geirangerfjord, at Lake Loen and at the Kjenndalen Glacier. The three Tauck tour directors worked seamlessly together to make a fun & memorable experience. Local guide in Stavanger was great!!

Most Memorable Moment:

One of the highlights was viewing Pulpit Rock from the ship. Looking up to see people teetering on the edge of the rock (with no railing) was wild!! We also loved the gondola ride in Stranda. It was cold & windy, but beautiful!! A must-do is the chocolate factory in Geirangerfjord. Long line, but totally worth it. Best chocolate!! Ship's captain A+

review_img

longponder

Review of Small Ship Cruise - Norway

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

First of all, our Tauck directors were completely awesome. They should all get raises! They went above and beyond to ensure that everything was perfect for every traveler. They remained calm and professional at all times. Not your problem - bad weather caused cancellations of some events which was disappointing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Cruising into the fjords and the extremely welcoming greeting at the airport in Oslo.

review_img

WilliamF

Norway Fjords June 7

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Generally well run with 2 exceptions. They were the first and last dinners. The first dinner in Bergen was a nice setting, but the restaurant could not perform. The food was very late and not edible. The last dinner had a nice ambiance, but again the large group overwhelmed the kitchen. The ship was excellent. The tour directors were good.

Most Memorable Moment:

The view of the Fjords

TAUCK RESPONSE

We understand a number of guests were dissatisfied with both the Welcome and Farewell dinners. Tauck spoke to the management at both of the restaurants to convey our guest’s disappointment and made arrangements to remedy the situation for future cruises. As always, Tauck listens to every comment from our guests and makes enhancements to our journeys based on these comments. We look forward to hosting you on a future Tauck journey.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

pegnalezny

Mixed response/list of traveler's names incomplete (one hotel only)

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Everything about Pondant, Le Boreal, was excellent - captain who provided tours of the bridge & graciously wished us a pleasant day as we left the boat daily; staff; restaurant food (both downstairs & upstairs, especially liked the roast pig and the crepes suzette); comfortable room. Horrible inedible welcoming dinner; lack of historical lecture

Most Memorable Moment:

trip to a glacier

review_img

JCK2

Norwegian Cruise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

The Ponant ship and its crew were nice, with good food and drink. The scenery where we sailed was terrific. The excursions were a mixed bag. Some (hike to and from a glacier in Olden, bike riding in Alesund) were great. Others (walking tour of Arendal,bus tour of Goteborg) were weak. The opening dinner, with 200 people, was a disaster.

review_img

mesmith

Would have liked a smaller group

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Generally speaking the trip to the Norwegian Fjords and Coastal Treasures was good. We would have preferred going further north to Tronheim and skip Arendal and Goetzburg (sp). The fjords were the highlight. The guides did a bang up job handling all those people - 240 - but it was just too many people. We like "small group" guidance.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sorry to say our memorable moments were spent traveling on our own from Oslo to Bergen on the trains, ferry and bus through Fram. The Fram Railway and stay at the Freithem Hotel in Fram were delightful.

review_img

Musette Winton

I'm Disappointed

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

We have traveled with Tauck to China 2009, Spain 2015, Dalmatian Coast on Le Boreal 2016. Loved all past trips and were looking forward this trip . The boat , rooms, and food on Le Boreal were excellent. The Tauck staff on this trip did not operate with their usual precision. No whisperers on day 1, filling time wandering until lunch etc

Most Memorable Moment:

Dinners on Le Boreal The venison and salmon which the chef was kind enough to give me the recipe. The saddest part was we recommended this trip to a couple who were so disappointed they will not travel with TAUCK AGAIN. I believe that the problem was you had the whole boat and were not prepared to handle that many guests with your usual attention

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Small Ship Cruising team so that they can look into making changes based on your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

pfgriner

Norway's Fjords by Sea

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

We were on one of the new Tauck cruises up and down the Western coast of Norway,its fjords and coastal towns. The scenery was magnificent. Operational problems got in the way of an otherwise great trip. The unexpectedly large number of people signing up for the trip (about 180) exceeded Tauck's ability to provide its usual trouble free experience.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our visit to a museum dedicated to Norway's recent history of oil discovery was a highlight of the trip.

review_img

MILMARZ

Norwegian Fjords & Coastal Treasures

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

We thought it was very well thought out. We loved the sights. The Fjords and Glaciers were remarkable. Learned a lot at all the towns we went to. Thought the local tour guides were very knowledgeable and gave us an excellent perspective of their area, e.g., the Art Nouveau tour in Alesund. Loved the ship, captain & staff. Lots of fun!

Most Memorable Moment:

When we took a gondola up a mountain in Stranda and went above the clouds. It was breathtaking and spiritual. Will never forget it.

review_img

PeteS

Room for improvement

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

A beautiful, amazing country. Tauck took us to see the best of it. There were a few disappointments though. The opening and closing dinners both ran much too long. The venues were not able, or at least prepared to handle 200 people. At the opening dinner at our table of six, no one ate more than half of their steak. Like shoe leather.

Most Memorable Moment:

The fjords were all beautiful and the towns equally so. The people were friendly and did their jobs, but they were so comfortable in where they are in life. Proud of their life and happy to share it.

review_img

Bob_In_FL

The ONLY way to see Norway, BUT....

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Scenery: spectacular as Alps. Oslo and Bergen wonderful. Otherwise too many people and boring, boring and boring boat experience. Off ship excursions except to view fjords "a nothing burger". Way to many people for the Tauck "personal" service one would expect and pay for. Tour guides were good. Norwegian people friendly and all speak Eng.

Most Memorable Moment:

Up close walks in Fjords. Everywhere in Norway is clean and the FRESH air memorable.

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry that this small ship cruise to Norway did not live up to your expectations. I have passed along your comments to our Small Ship team who will make adjustments to future cruises based on your feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Jean white

Norwegian fjords

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This was our first Tauck trip. Our expectations were high based on your marketing and what we had heard from others. I would say that, while the scenery was spectacular and the boat was lovely, we were, overall, disappointed. Specifically, the first night welcome dinner was an organizational nightmare with really bad food. Group too big, guides sub

Most Memorable Moment:

First night welcome dinner

review_img

krisdavefitz

Norway Fjords

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Fantastic scenery--the waterfall, mountains, quaint and historic sites, great food onboard the ship, wonderful service on board, and staff were friendly and very competent. Our group leader was especially friendly, kind, and all around terrific. The ship lecturer was priceless.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sitting on the stern deck, watching multiple waterfalls, and music of Grieg from the sound system. Magic!

review_img

njtravelers

Norway Fiords

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Our Oslo hotel was beautiful. I would suggest staying later at the hotel, rather than the jam packed day we had before we boarded our ship. Our 1st 4 ports were on the boring side, no stores or sites that were OMG. Once we entered the fiords was when we felt our trip began, just magnificient. Our room at the hotel in Bergen was very disappointing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our tour director, who we knew from another tour, went above and beyond, she's fabulous. The food on Le Soleal was topnotch. I would have to say the fiords, esp. the 7 sisters waterfalls was our favorite. You really have to be a nature lover to enjoy this trip.

review_img

Drbud

Western Baltic

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

The Tauck people continue to do an excellent job at all levels. The problem was the French. The wine steward decided on many of afternoon snack times and frequently that Savion Blanc was to be served not Chardonnay. My wife does not like Savion Blanc which required me to purchase the Chardonnay. The service on Grand Dinning Floor, 2, was poor

Most Memorable Moment:

The sites and people especially the Norway speaker. Would love to visit with someone in your organization. We are currently scheduled to do another tour this Sep 17. Should I purchase the Chardonnay going through customs? The Tauck group was treated as second class citizens. I hope you have other options on small ship cruises

review_img

MikeMcZ

Norway Fjords

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This was the first time that Tauck had this tour. While it was wonderful and I would consider doing it again, there was more down time/unscheduled time that on any other trip we have taken with Tauck. I hope that in the future, this is fixed.

Most Memorable Moment:

The beauty of being on the ship and seeing the fjords from the perspective of the water. I think there is no other way to be able to see the fjords.

review_img

Williamsburger

The Spectacular Norwegian Fjords

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

The fjords of Norway were fantastic. There was a picture postcard view around every turn. The tour had just the right blend of cruising, bus trips into the countryside and city walking tours.

Most Memorable Moment:

Sailing into the fjords and seeing the waterfalls is unbelievable.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button