TravelerReviews

Cape Cod, The Islands and Newport

review_img

SuzanneTripp

Best vacation ever

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

My cousin and I traveled for the first time together and we were a little anxious about two women traveling alone. Tauck took such good care of us from the time we got to the airport till the time we left. I don't think I will ever take another tour company. It was excellent!

Most Memorable Moment:

We were able to meet our favorite author, Susan Branch, who lives in Martha's Vineyard. We were thrilled.

review_img

Linda Morsani

Nice overview of Cape Code and surrounding area

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

This trip is perfect for viewing the architecture, culture and atmosphere of the New England coast and islands. It is mostly a bus trip with little walking required. However, lots of opportunity for walking on your own while exploring the towns where we stayed. Of the 4 hotels, 2 need a little refurbishing but were acceptable.

Most Memorable Moment:

While the whale watching was canceled due to weather, we, along with our fellow travelers, enjoyed the alternative: exploring the sand dunes of the Cape by 4 wheel drive enclosed vehicle. Totally unexpected and delightful.

review_img

Donald99

Cape Cod, The Islands and Newport

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

We were somewhat disappointed with aspects of the tour. Initially it took me 2 calls to reach the person assigned to pick us up at the airport making us even later to dinner. The Harbor View in Edgartown was inhabitable. We changed rooms due to an ant invasion, also having ants in the next room and a toilet that was not working this place may have

Most Memorable Moment:

Not a memorable moment (from above) Missed 2 excursions due to the weather and the tour included way too much time for shopping. Very disappointed! Our Tauck Director and driver were excellent. The visit to the Breakers home in Newport was excellent. We would recommend Tauck to friends but definitely not this tour.

review_img

JohnFulcher

Cape Cod 2018

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

This was our first Tauck trip. We had heard a lot of great things about Tauck from friends and online research. Our tour representative and bus driver were excellent. Unfortunately, our accommodations throughout the trip were sub-par. I might consider Tauck in future only because others on trip said it was not typical of Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

Just the overall experience. Things went very well with no problems. I would be sure to research hotels and venues more throughly prior to my next Tauck trip. Despite the poor accommodations we had a good group of people and we had a great time.

review_img

Cindy Girl

My first Tauck trip is over

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

The food was delicious. The sights were fabulous. The various modes of transportation were exciting. My favorites: Nantuckett, whale watching and the Newport harbor. The Tauck Director and motor coach driver are a great team and made my trip great. I met such wonderful new friends.

Most Memorable Moment:

The wonderful new friends I met.

review_img

M Joseph

A bit more quite time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

I really enjoyed the tour but felt our director, who was great, could have given us more quiet time on the bus. Sometimes less is more.

review_img

Arfy

Great Time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

This was our 16th Tauck tour and, as always, no disappointment. The choices of sights, accommodations, and food were all terrific. A little too much time on the bus, but it’s the only place to see the beautiful areas we visited. Great views from most rooms where possible. Everything of importance was pointed out and we could take photos.

Most Memorable Moment:

Going to Martha’s Vineyard. It was on my bucket list.

review_img

merriman

Best vacation ever - I'll be back

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This trip was the most relaxing, enjoyable and beautiful trip with seven of our family members ranging in age from 71 to 10. All of the guests were very congenial and the experience could not have been better.

Most Memorable Moment:

Whale watching with our grandchildren and walking through the streets of Edgar Town at Martha's Vineyard.

review_img

miatax

Wrong Time of Year?

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

The hotels in Boston and Martha's Vineyard were old and run down. One of the two elevators at the Lennox was not working. We had no heat or hot water in Martha's Vineyard. It was too foggy to get to Nantucket, our prime reason for going on this trip. Arrival instructions were very confusing and incorrect.

Most Memorable Moment:

The glass museum, a substitution for Nantucket, was marvelous, as was the whaling museum in New Bedford. We loved our guide and our driver.

review_img

Zoggie

Good and varied trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

Everything went smoothly on trip from start to finish, well organized. Great small group, everyone friendly and got along well which started at the reception night. Our trip was towards the end of the season’ unfortunately there were places closed we discovered this on free time this could have been avoided with research from tour guide.

Most Memorable Moment:

Whale watching

review_img

whisker

A Wonderful Trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

We enjoyed the tour very much. The tour director set the tone, which was very positive & provided amazing commentaries that seemed like informal conversation. We felt very safe with our driver at the wheel for the whole trip. He showed the same respect & good humor as the tour director. The hotels were in superb locations and had their own charm.

Most Memorable Moment:

The other passengers were polite, pleasant and congenial. Meals provided by Tauck were first class. The lobster feast at Chatham was very special and the service there was particularly efficient. The plane ride from Martha’s Vineyard and the whale watching were highlights of the trip.

review_img

GaryVA

Beautiful Cape Cod

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

We had a great tour with Tauck. Met some wonderful people from all over the world. Our tour guide was fantastic, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. One traveler in our group was taking his 32nd Tauck tour. Speaks volumes for the company.

Most Memorable Moment:

Whale watching off Provincetown. One whale breached about 25 times for us. Great show. And of course the lobster feast Tauck provided in Edgartown.

review_img

Bruce Angle

Fantastic Small Group Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

We had a great small group tour with Tauck. This was our first tour with Tauck and we really didn’t know what to expect. We were pleasantly surprised by the entire experience. The tour director was superb - knowledgable, fun and attentive. The driver was outstanding. The other guests were nice and we mixed well.

Most Memorable Moment:

The whale watching was interesting but a little slow, so the most memorable moment for us was visiting the John Adams home in Quincy, Mass. and getting a glimpse into the lives of people in the early 1800’s.

review_img

One Old Friend

Great sights and significant history!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

This tour includes many amazing historical and natural experiences. We saw whales, dolphins and seals outside Provincetown. Fall colors had just begun to turn. We walked through history going back 400 years. Our tour director was fun and knowledgeable. Our motor coach driver drove our bus down impossibly narrow streets. The whole trip was a pleasure!

Most Memorable Moment:

Whales, whales and more whales!

review_img

laabspm

Cape Cod

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Miserable weather (hurricane Jose) stopped what might have been 'special' times. What we got was something I thought I could have done myself.

Most Memorable Moment:

None

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry the weather was not what you were hoping for. I have passed along your comments to our Guest Relations Department who will be in touch with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Ruth L Kern

Cape Cod, The Islands and Newport

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Living near Asheville NC and the Biltmore Estate, I was really interested in seeing the homes that some of the other Vanderbilts had built in Newport. The Breakers was included as part of the tour but there was plenty of time to see Marble House on our own which we did. Martha's Vineyard was also very interesting. Thank God Obama wasn't there!

Most Memorable Moment:

The two homes my sister and I saw in Newport. We met such lovely people on our tour but then we always do. It was my sister's first Tauck tour but I don't think it will be her last

review_img

NanceNeal

Gloria + Pete were great

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Excellent tour. Great overview of all parts of Cape Cod. We liked the smaller group. Tour restaurants were especially good. Best tour guide and driver we have had. Our Tauck Director was very informative, funny and professional. Our motor coach driver was pleasant and funny, too. We appreciated the extra touches provided to help us celebrate our honeymoon.

review_img

Raymond Wong

Cape Cod, The Islands and Newport tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

This trip was well managed by the tour director. She wass very efficient and highly experienced, the itinerary was very good except the hotels which all have some little issues, it could be these are the best available in the areas we traveled, we as the customers are willing to pay for the higher grade hotels if there are any better ones.

Most Memorable Moment:

Touring the areas of Newport mansions.

review_img

J L K

One of the Best!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Weather was great (Jul 29-Aug 5)so the scenery was beautiful. Hotels and restaurants were excellent. Saw lots of harbors, mansions, pretty towns, and history.

Most Memorable Moment:

Probably the first stay, which was in Edgartown on Martha's Vinyard because I didn't know what to expect. It was a good introduction to all the wonderful stuff to come!

review_img

Deb Coletta

It was Great!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

I had a wonderful time. The weather was a bit cool but that made it better in my mind. It was terrific. The town of Falmouth was my biggest disappointment. There was not enough to do there.

Most Memorable Moment:

I'm torn between the whale watching and the small plane ride.

review_img

Rigs

Cape Cod joy!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

The trip was conducted flawlessly by our tour director. Using a bus, ferries, both high speed and regular, small planes and boats for whale watching and a harbor tour took tremendous coordination. Nantucket, Chatham and Newport were great stops. Plimoth was a great learning experience. Would love to return with grandchildren.

Most Memorable Moment:

Whale watching were we saw 10 whales! Chatham was charming and our stay there was highlighted by a scrumptious lobster dinner. Prior to dinner we were surprised by the "Chatham Acapella Boys Club", who enchanted the group with their talent. You need to actually see our Tauck Director's lobster apron to believe it!

review_img

HarVal

Cape Cod Tauck tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

This tour was only our second tour with Tauck and I thought none could be better than our first tour of the Canadian Rockies but the Cape Cod tour was just as incredible. Our tour director was just amazing. We were very fortunate to have good weather the entire tour which really helps for this tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

The tour of the Breakers mansion was just incomparable.

review_img

C.C.

Cape Cod and Islands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Tour itself was excellent, except bad weather. Tour director was most excellent. Because of bad weather, we didn't get to see much of Nantucket but over all pretty good. You guys always put fantastic tour, I enjoy very much, thank you. CC

Most Memorable Moment:

Sight seeing through Martha's Vineyard and Whaling Museum.

review_img

Maryjim

Cape Cod

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

We are not big fans of bus tours but Tauck did an excellent job planning and executing the tour. We had a couple glitches because of the weather and our Tauck Director did an excellent job of implementing a non-existent "plan B." One suggestion, which we also heard from others, spend the morning in charming Chatham rather than Provincetown.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most conversation was about the number of whales we saw even though we had 6 to 8 foot swells. We also enjoyed the beauty of Newport and the quaintness of Edgartown.

review_img

jcampbell723

FABULOUS is the Word!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Our trip to Cape Cod, the islands and Newport was a life-changing experience. The most moving part was being surrounded by feeding, humpback whales in their natural habitat in Provincetown. The weather was perfect for the whale cruise; we had a great skipper, and the narrator was passionate and informative. Tour director and bus driver were great!

review_img

PatCal

Impressive 1st Tauck experience

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip. Once we got off the plane, we didn't worry about a thing. Our iteneraries were well planned and we enjoyed activities that we would not have planned on our own. Accommodations and staffs greeted use pleasantly along the way. We felt special. We came away feeling that we had gotten to know this area. Good job, Tauck!

Most Memorable Moment:

Loved them all, but especially whale watching and Newport Cliff Walk.

review_img

repeat tauck traveller

Wonderful Tour of the New England Islands

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Would highly recommend this tour. Except for one day when it rained in Martha's Vineyard, we had perfect weather which enhanced all the beautiful ocean scenery we saw along the way. Especially enjoyed the plane ride to Cape Cod and touring the Breakers Mansion in Newport R.I. Hotels were top notch (other than the Haborview Hotel which was o.k.).

Most Memorable Moment:

Sitting on the patio of the restaurant at the Newport Marriott enjoying the company of some of my fellow travelers as well as the beautiful scenery of the Newport Harbor.

review_img

Rjones3500

Great Cape Cod and Islands trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Our first Tauck tour was great. My parents have taken many and they have always recommended. Our expectations were high based on their recommendation and Tauck certainly met them. Our director was great and knew her stuff. She always was looking for ways to make our trip better.

Most Memorable Moment:

I think the whale watching. We had over 50 whales in the area which the boat guide said was unusual. Most times there aren't that many.

review_img

Vatravel

Mostly superior

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Amazing trip. Outstanding tour director and wonderful driver. Food was highest quality. The lodging facilities were wonderful with exception of Harbor View Hotel on MV. Harbor View food was extremely good with exceptional service but our room near the pool was very sub-par and definitely not Tauck quality and hurt star rating

Most Memorable Moment:

Whale watching trip, Views from small plane, harbor tour in Newport, and beautiful lighthouses. Beautiful trip except experience with Harbor View Hotel.

review_img

raymon

Disappointed in this trip in SO MANY WAYS!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

This trip was disapponting in many ways.Food throughout in ALL restaurants was not the quality it should have been and service in all was not even up to par.Lenox Hotel rooms too small. Could not go on whale watching due to rain, it should have been scheduled in the morning.Too much time on the bus,would have preferred more walking tours.Not good!

Most Memorable Moment:

Our most memorable moment was the day before the tour started we ate at a restaurant in Boston and had the best seafood of the entire trip with Tauck. There are not enough characters for me to write the disappointing parts of our trip. I abbreviated above in the "tell us about your trip" section some of the disappointing things about the trip.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Guest Relations team.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Gma

Cape Cod, The Islands and Newport

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

This was a great trip. We traveled by land, sea, and air. Had never been to that part of the country and was very impressed with the quaint villages, pretty homes and flowers.

Most Memorable Moment:

I guess whale watching. We saw a lot of them and got a lot of pictures.

review_img

Houghtown

houghtown

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

a good trip, saw everything that was advertised, bus rotation was good, motels good or as good as could be - historical, food real good, short time in buses, bathroom stops real good. Host good-knowledgable-bus driver real good. the handling of baggage was outstanding. Was kept well informed. Airplane from Vineyard to Nantucket real good.

Most Memorable Moment:

Just about everything on the islands particularly the Vineyard.

review_img

Joe - Jane

Rubbing Elbows Along the New England Coast

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Trip: Days 2 & 3 not great, but trip became excellent starting with the flight to Nantucket. Newport & Adams Home were super. Four times on the water, neat. Food: Menu options excellent. Fine food throughout. Rooms: Weakest point. No views. Faced parking lot & pool 3 times. Worst: Harbor View. Room & hallways literally stunk. Our 10th Tauck.

Most Memorable Moment:

Nantucket & Newport tours.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed along your comments to our Operations team who is always looking to make enhancements to our tours based on feedback from our guests.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Gwtw815693

Great trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2015

Everything was perfect including the weather. All hotels were top notch as was the food. The itinerary included all the "to see" places in the area. The guide and driver were always punctual, helpful, and pleasant.

Most Memorable Moment:

Probably a tie between the whale watching and the awesome coastline along the cliff walk in Newport.

review_img

tampa sherry

Not up to Tauck's standards

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Harbor view hotel room was filthy smelled like wet dogs. Tour director was no where to be found to resolve issue. We took care of it ourselves and they moved us to a clean room. Nantucket was a disaster as the first two groups got there too early, third group was kept waiting for three hours at the aiport waiting for the fourth group to arrive

Most Memorable Moment:

I have more to add to the above. Probably our last tauck tour. We could have done just as well with Globus or Collette for half the price. Tour director was an escort not a problem solver or take charge leader as we have expriended with other Tauck tours. She & bus driver enjoyed their final dinner while we were left waiting 45 mins for main

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I am sorry that this tour did not live up to your expectations. I know that our Guest Relations Department has reached out to you. I hope you will consider travelling with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Deej

trip to Cape Cod, The Islands and Newport

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Too fast!! Great tour director, wonderful, patient, organized, professional, informed, gracious. Too much packing/unpacking. Bags picked up too early in the morning. Wonderful places! Chatham was my favorite, and, of course, Newport. Met wonderful people that I would like to keep in contact with. Weather finally cooperated! Want to go back!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing where Jaws was filmed and Vanderbilt "Cottage." Views of the water and Chatham, of course.

review_img

barclay

WOW

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

This was my first but hopefully not my last. I was 7 hours late getting into Boston, due to airline problems. Who, but TAUCK was there at the airport to meet/greet me ? TAUCK !! Once my baggage was unloaded I visited the restaurant/bar area and my meal was covered by TAUCK. It is now 9:30 pm. Need more space to write !!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the whales

review_img

Razz

Cape Cod the island and Newport

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

perfect just perfect

review_img

Donald Apostle

Cape Cod and Previous Tauck Experiences

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

My wife had a knee replacement in March and we scheduled a trip in six months to Cape Cod. We got to Boston one day early and were able to walk to the Boston Common which was a very good walking test. The remainder of the trip was outstandingly excellent. We wanted to go to a place that was far away, unique, and educational.

Most Memorable Moment:

We enjoyed Martha's vineyard and flying to Nantucket. Who would've thought we would see about 30 whales! Each of my three granddaughters has been on a Tauck Bridges trip and my son and I went to Cooperstown this past August. My wife and I are looking forward to the New York City Event next year going to Ellis Island where I received my last name.

review_img

DWS

Cape Cod, the Islands and Newport

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

We had a wonderful trip with great hotels, scenery and a very good tour director. It was our 5th Tauck tour and we will be doing more. However, You should be aware that at our farewell dinner in Newport, those of us who chose "scallops" received 3 (that's right) as a MAIN CHORUS. Those who chose beef received a filet. Not good!!!! We were shocked!

Most Memorable Moment:

Whale watching.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your overall journey but disappointed that you were the farewell dinner fell below expectations. Rest assured your comments will be looked into and so that this type error will not recur. Once again thank you for your patronage and we look forward to hosting you in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Marian

Cape Cod, The Islands and Newport

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

The itinerary was varied and interesting, the accommodations comfortable, and the food yummy. Our tour guide, Debbie, was knowledgeable and prepared with a list of her favorite restaurants whenever we were on our own. Damon, our bus driver, was friendly and always ready with a cool bottle of water in addition to being an excellent driver.

Most Memorable Moment:

When I walked into my room at the Wayside in Chatham, MA, my luggage was waiting for me and classical music was playing on the radio. I could have stayed there longer.

review_img

Tarheel 58

Three top things

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

As other people have commented on, the trip is made by the wonderful Tour Director, Gloria; her driver Pete; and the other was the weather (wonderful). It was one of these tours that you can say that you have been there, done it, and will look for other wonderful Tauck adventures. Nothing was truly outstanding.

Most Memorable Moment:

Coming back sick from sickness transmitted by other tour patrons. Whale watching and dining at the Forge in Newport.

review_img

Joe and Mary Kujawski

Cape cod

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

The trip was great. The director was excellent. The people we met were very enjoyable, and this is for us always a great part of the Tauck tours.

Most Memorable Moment:

1: Singing as a group to our director, thanking him. 1A: Seeing whales breach

review_img

Jean Cheryl

Cape Cod--The Islands--Newport Sept. 2014

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

Our recent trip was "excellent" in every way and a terrific experience for our first-time to tour with Tauck! Our tour director was informative, fun, efficient, and top notch who worked diligently to assure his guests got the most out of the trip. This is a trip everyone should make!

Most Memorable Moment:

Whale watching boat trip in open water.

review_img

JGardner

5 star review

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

This was an A + trip! Wonderful travel guests; fabulous tour director and very well planned and executed. Fabulous bus and driver. Never felt "car sick" which was unusual for me. The schedule was always interesting with many stops, several spots of free time; and always good food! This trip was a big learning experience too. I definitely

Most Memorable Moment:

The final dinner at the Chandler Mansion in Newport R.I. Stunning building, Fantastic views, and A + dinner. A perfect ending treat.

review_img

Debones

Where the Rich and Famous vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2013

Traveling with Tauck is always very organized, informative, and top notch. This was our seventh tour and it met all our expectations. The scenery was quaint, which we enjoyed. The ferry and small air plane rides were different for us being from Central Fl. We always meet such great people from all over the US, Europe and Australia.

review_img

Anma

Cape Cod in October.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

It was a wonderful trip as always with Tauck. Cape Cod was our third trip and we would't go with any other Co. The hotels and food were great.

Most Memorable Moment:

Martha's Vineyard was my favorite place and I would love to go back for a week. The hotel was a beautiful and very large house with porches all across the front. A white picket fence in front of the house was covered with roses . Our view from the porch was a lighthouse on the beach front.

review_img

Salad1166

A great trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We enjoyed our tour director, [Employee Name]. His sense of humor kept us amused at many times during the trip. Many of the times traveling from one place to another, he would fill in with lots of interesting information and humor. I think that is what a good tour director should do.

Most Memorable Moment:

The boat tour of Newport harbor.

review_img

TDrogosz

A Wonderful Time

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We were very impressed by the good planning and services provided on our trip. The weather cooperated for all our outings and gave us the opportunity of enjoying all the outdoor activities. The food was delicious and The Lenox Hotel and Chatham Inn surpassed our expectations for our comfort at night. We will definitely take another Tauck Tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

The plane ride to Nantucket.

review_img

Gary Ziegler

Fantastic in Every Way!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

We took our first trip with Tauck to New England. The service, emphasis on fine hospitality, the hotels, the food, and the tour guide were terrific. We are signing up for the Canadian Rockies Trip for the Spring of 2014. We have travelled with other touring companies, but they do not compare to Tauck. We look forward to future trips.

Most Memorable Moment:

The whale sight seeing trip was spectacular. One whale came right next to the boat and blew water from his air hole. Truly amazing! The air flight to Nantucket was beautiful. The pilot flew slowly so we could appreciate the beauty of the area.

review_img

Nurse Rose

First Tauck Tour: Cape Cod, The Islands and Newport

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Have never traveled to New England area, and after reading reviews, decided Tauck Tours was the way to go. Really first class treatment throughout this trip. Delicious food, gracious hosts at the Inns, hotels. Never felt hurried, and tour guide Dick always had suggestions for spare time in the towns we visited. It was exactly what I wanted!

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to say, but the Harbor at Newport was gorgeous. The cliff walk on a brisk September morning was really awe inspiring. Dinner in a mansion looking out over the ocean and a full moon will be forever etched in my memory bank of beautiful moments. The last minute decision to tour John Quincy Adams home en route to airport was a perfect ending.

review_img

JLSimpson

Spectacular Cape Cod/Newport

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

What an amazing experience! Everything was fantastic and 100% First Class. Our tour director was so informative and delightfully witty that I looked forward to each and every day. The lodging was wonderful and the meals superb. Kudos to the driver and his "luggage magic"! I found Tauck the perfect way to experience this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

I never dreamed our final evening together would be so magical. The beautiful CHANLER Mansion Hotel by the Sea was beyond any expectation. It was the perfect end to a perfect vacation.

review_img

WShehan

1st Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

This was our first trip with a tour. It was fantastic. There was never a dull moment. The secnery was beautiful. Our tour guide and bus driver were exceptional. It also was a very educational trip. I would recommend for older children as well. Everything was the top of the line, from accomadation to food. We were very pleased with everyting.

Most Memorable Moment:

The whale watching trip was the best. At first we thought it wasn't going to pan out, but than we saw them. It was worth the wait.

review_img

HFelton

comprehensive tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2013

Tauck made connecting to the Islands seem easy and effortless. Our tour guide kept us informed and entertained throughout the entire trip. I/we felt "guided" not herded when touring and all the hotels and restaurants were wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

Viewing Nantucket as we approached in the small Cape Air plane.

review_img

JPyles

Excellent Tour to Cape Cod, The Islands and Newport

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

From the starting welcoming reception to the farewell dinner at The Chandler Spice Pear restaurant every detail was well-planned and executed with perfection. Choice of Tour director and Driver could not have been better given their care and concern that this tour was for the guests' pleasure and enjoyment. Great vacation! Jim and Vernease Pyles

Most Memorable Moment:

Practically impossible to single out one moment above and beyond so many delightful experiences.

review_img

DMumby

Exceptional experience, but not surprising for Tauck.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Our fourth Tauck vacation and the very best so far. We met new friends, had great adventures, relived some of America's founding history, saw how the super rich lived in the late 1800/early 1900's and eat so much lobster that we will probably take the next twelve months before we're able to look a lobster in the eye again.

Most Memorable Moment:

Whale watching had to be the pinnacle of the tour. We were blessed to see a lot of whales, smaller ones as well as the big hump backed variety. I took over 80 photos of the event and capped it with a view of a whale's tail as it was about to dive. While all previous Tauck tour directors were good, [Employee Name] & driver Peter were exceptional.

review_img

JKress

Cape Cod in August 2013

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time. In particular, in true Tauck fashion, the guide and driver worked as the most convivial (the tour guide's favorite word) team. We are already reviewing the brochure for our next Tauck vacation.

Most Memorable Moment:

Best part?....whale watching and the short flight from the Vineyard to Nantucket.

review_img

westtexas

New England at its finest!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

My husband and I have traveled through much of the United States through many years, but somehow we had never been to New England. This was our first Tauck experience, and we certainly were not disappointed! We were blessed with incredible weather and a great group of "new friends"!

Most Memorable Moment:

It's impossible to pick out just one!! Loved seeing that part of the country; enjoyed FRESH seafood; scenery was incredible!

review_img

JWeick

Our New England Vacation

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Tauck really knows how to plan a vacation. From being picked up at the airport at baggage and driven to your hotel in a luxury car to providing first class accomadations in each city. Gloria our guide was extremely knowledgeable and met all our needs with a smile. Peter the bus driver kept the bus spotless always had water and got us everywhere.

Most Memorable Moment:

Whale watching was awesome. The Cliff walk and tour of the Vanderbilt's mansion were right up there. An unexpected treat was visiting the oldest synagogue in Newport (1763). Gloria our guide quickly found this after a rainstorm cancelled a boat tour..very historic and interesting. This trip provided perfect amount of tour time and time on your own.

review_img

PBirnbaum

Our trip to Cape Cod and the Islands, and Newport

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Our tour director, Gloria, did a great job (which we expected). The weather was very cooperative, with only 1 rainy day, day 7. Even then, we got to Touro Synagogue instead of the harbor cruise, and our farewell dinner was sheltered from the rain/fog. Gloria and driver Peter were very courteous (as we expected).

Most Memorable Moment:

I can think of a couple: on the evening of day 2, I walked out from our Harbor View inn toward the Edgartown lighthouse, and, as a storm had just passed to the north, I saw a beautiful rainbow in that direction; also, of course the whale-watching cruise off Provincetown was great, because we saw many whales!

review_img

TThompson

Nantucket Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

My recent tour to Nantucket, was the most wonderful trip. This was my first organized tour & met all my expectations. I want to tell you how wonderful the director, Gloria & driver, Pete were. They made the trip organized, fun & stress free. All 31 of the guests were treated like family & we got along beautifully.

Most Memorable Moment:

As we drove along the route, Gloria not only pointed out places of interest, she told the back story & after 10 days, I felt like I had lived the locations. As a Realtor, where my job is to reduce stress & make people happy, I recognize people's efforts. Gloria & Pete went over & above everyone's expectations to insure a smooth experience.

review_img

JGoings

Cape Cod

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Gloria and Pete were awesome. Harbor View hotel not up to Tauck standards...musty odor ...could hardly sleep. Whaling museum was so so....needed a docent to guide me through.

Most Memorable Moment:

Whale Watching cruise.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are sorry that some aspects fell below your expectations but we will be sure to share your comments with management.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

CTaylor

Capecod, the Islands and Newport

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

The weather was perfect, with rain only at night. The hotels and meals were outstanding, especially the farewell dinner at The Chanler Inn in Newport. The whale watching trip and the Whaling Museum in New Bedford were two of the highlights for us. Our tour director and motor coach driver were superb.

Most Memorable Moment:

The view from the Chanler Inn lawn along The Cliff Walk.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased you enjoyed your overall journey and thank you for your feedback!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

CJoyce

Cape Cod, the Islands and Newport

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

I think this is my 11th trip with Tauck. I rank this one among the best. We were disappointed with the dinner at the Harborview Hotel but I'll bet the next group will be satisfied- Tauck does not accept inferior food or service. The pace of this trip was wonderful. I like my evenings free after dinner. I need time to recharge. Great trip!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey with us. Thank you also for your loyalty and patronage to Tauck.,

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

crkeys

An Adventurous But Also Relaxing Journey

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

This trip truly has a lot of diverse activities. We traveled by bus, plane, ferries and charter boats. Each hotel is different in ambiance and character, very pleasant. All four communities we visited were also different; yet they were all less than 100 miles or so apart. Activities are historical as well as unique experiences. Informative and fun!

Most Memorable Moment:

Farewell Dinner at The Chanler @ Cliff Walk AND excellent commentary from our tour director, both informative and funny! Also many highlights: Newport Cliff Walk; View from relaxing rocking chairs on porch at Harbor View Hotel, Vineyard; Marconi Station on Cape Cod; Lobster 101 Class at Chatham Wayside Inn; The Breakers.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed visiting this wonderful area!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JEwers

Fog Happens

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

Our trip to Cape Cod proved the wonderful resourcefulness of the staff at one of our hotels. There was a wide area power outage where our Boston hotel was located. The staff at the hotel drove outside the area to find coffee and hot water and prepared a pleasant breakfast buffet in the lobby.

Most Memorable Moment:

"Fog Happens" and when our small plane couldn't land at Nantucket it was diverted to Hyannis. Tauck redirected our bus to pick us up at the Hyannis airport and take us to our Chatham hotel. It was a good recovery and we enjoyed some extra time in Chatham to explore Chatham Light, the colorful local shops and distinctive Cape Cod architecture.

TAUCK RESPONSE

What an adverture! We are very pleased you enjoyed your journey - even with the set backs!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

SSmith

Cape Cod, The Islands and Newport

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

At the end of a Tauck tour I'm always amazed at how many pleasant surprises are packed into a week. We hadn't traveled to that part of the East before and enjoyed seeing a different lifestyle than we have back here in Kansas.

Most Memorable Moment:

Martha's vineyard was beautiful. Nantucket was quaint, loved the whale museum there. Lunch at the Tennis Club in Newport was neat!

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your trip!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Bill Kelley

Another Fantastic Trip with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

As expected from start to finish we were cared for and pampered. The tours and locations were all interesting and high quality. We had a good amount of down time to go with the tours. Our family and friends got tired of hearing us rave about our trip when we got home, it was that great. If you have never been to the east coast this is the tour.

Most Memorable Moment:

Whale watching!!!! Got hit with whale breath! The whales were that close. It was a trip to remember!!!

review_img

stearns1

Cape Cod experinces

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We saw 15 whales and lots of Dolphins. Had local food we had not had before. Guide was very knowledgeable with all parts of the trip. In Provincetown the guide said we must try a food(malassada) at the portugese bakery, it was great. Lots history,beautiful scenery, and lots of light houses. We over indulged on sea food!

Most Memorable Moment:

We saw 15 whales and lots of Dolphins

review_img

Jimmy Cahill

fabulous trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2012

We enjoyed this trip more than any we have taken. Everything from the accomodations to the great cuisine - the bus / the bus driver - the details attended to daily for us...........was PERFECT. CAN'T WAIT TO TRAVEL WITH TAUCK AGAIN! LINDA AND JIMMY CAHILL

Most Memorable Moment:

MY HUSBAND LOVED WATCHING THE WHALES AND VISITING THE WHALING MUSEUM. I LOVED THE BEAUTIFUL MANSIONS, ARCHITECTURE, ETC..............

review_img

Beryl Bogan

Lovely Cape Cod

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2011

We enjoyed the fascinating city of Boston and all its history. Plus what a pleasure to see the lovely islands of Martha's Vineyard and Nantucket - such different architecture. As always on a Tauck, tour great hotels and a very knowledgable Tour Director made this tour a favorite,

Most Memorable Moment:

Flying in a nine seater plane at 1,000 feet between islands.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button