TravelerReviews

In Freedom's Footsteps: Philadelphia to Washington, DC

review_img

imalemon

A Discovery of Revolutionary War and Civil War History

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

The tour goes back and forth in history from the Revolutionary War to the Civil War. The Independence Hall tour was outstanding. We spent too little time visiting Amish and Gettysburg. Absolutely try to upgrade to the incredible Williamsburg Inn Hotel. I loved every aspect of the tour. The bus rides were relatively short. Lots of free time.

Most Memorable Moment:

The visit to Gettysburg Battlefield was the most memorable moment. One should absolutely watch Ken Burns' video about the war (or any other 100s of other videos) before arriving at the battle field. We had a foggy morning which simulated the effects of gun smoke. My only regret was the tour did not spend more time on the battlefield.

review_img

bull14

Great History Lesson

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2018

Great Itinerary by Tauck that provides a real understanding of our early days as a Country. Tour Director extremely knowledgeable, organized, and personable. Would have enjoyed having some time to see the Town of Gettsburg in addition to the Battlefield. Sofitel in Philadelphia far below usual Tauck standards, cleaning/renovation needed

Most Memorable Moment:

Washington D.C. Monuments provide very moving experience. Willard Hotel a wonderful home base for seeing D.C. The Trip in total is another wonderful Tauck experience.

review_img

JohnFriedman

More Time in DC

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

Very historical trip. Learned a lot about the Revolutionary and Civil wars. Excellent guide but two forgetable stops. Amish country tour and Richmond city tour way below Tauck standards. Excellent food stops but don’t like the restaurant lists provided on free nights. Too long and not enough info to make a good choice.

Most Memorable Moment:

Really enjoyed the Williamsburg Inn. Worth the upgrade. The Willard hotel was great, as well. Gettysburg was very moving.

review_img

cherylzabel

Educational and Beautiful!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

We had been to Washington, D.C. before, but everything else on this trip was new to us. The weather in April was perfect! We loved Philadelphia and Gettysburg, and all the history associated with both places. The hotels were great, especially the Williamsburg Inn! That was a high point!

Most Memorable Moment:

The early access to the National Archives was a real treat!

review_img

Joseph Matkowski

freedoms footsteps

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

we think there was a lot of wasted time; at both pick up in Philadelphia and return in washington your limo service people complained about how little they were paid, did not like Alfredo's in West Virginia, no choices, no doors on women's bathroom stalls, this restaurant not an executive decision, no escort in Wash for dinner

Most Memorable Moment:

we really liked all of Williamsburg

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I am sorry that this journey did not live up to your expectations. I have passed along your comments to our Guest Relations Department who will be in touch with you.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

YDD

Freedom Footsteps

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

I thoroughly enjoyed this trip, the experiences and the folks I traveled with. Our tour guide was very well versed and shared history and insights all along the way. Our bus driver was experienced and we traveled safely. The accommodations were great and what we packed into in 11 days was memorable.

Most Memorable Moment:

We had a private viewing at the National Archives with four very well knowing historians (guides) that stayed with us and explained the documents we were being allowed to view (U.S. Constitution, Amendments etc.). We also viewed the Magna Carta...I love history...this whole trip fit into exactly what I wanted to experience.

review_img

JoeHower

We had a great time!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

The tour was wonderful, the tour guide was great, accommodations were also generally great. We got an amazing history lesson on this trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Being in the hall where the declaration of independence was signed was truly memorable.

review_img

turnke43

In Freedom’s Footsteps October 2017

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

A very interesting tour taking in the Revolutionary and Civil Wars. I enjoyed returning to Philadelphia,Gettysburg and Washington. New to me were Monticello,Harper’s Ferry, Richmond,Jamestown,Williamsburg and Mount Vernon. We were lucky with the weather. Thanks very much to our Tour Director for his knowledge and both drivers for their skills.

Most Memorable Moment:

Finding a small exhibit at Constitution Hall about a distant relative. Of the places new to me, Harper’s Ferry,Monticello,Williamsburg and Mount Vernon,and it was great to revisit Gettysburg

review_img

booter

In Freedom's Footsteps

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2017

The itinerary showed dinner included both nights Charlottesville and 2 nights in DC. instead we were given cash for one dinner in each city that was a fraction of the the cost to have dinner in hotel we were staying at. Flexibility is great but only if you get enough cash to eat where you're staying.

Most Memorable Moment:

Realizing that the cash we were given would pay for water, entree and tip at the Willard DC. We have done a lot of traveling with Tauck and now wonder if included meals mean at your nearest burger joint.

review_img

T2017

Historical Over-view

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Overall, the trip was wonderful. It's a bit more arduous than I expected: lots of on and off the bus and LONG days! So be prepared. But the traveler takes in so much historical information. It was exactly what I was looking for. Maybe staying a day longer in Gettysburg, as we didn't get to explore the quaint little town.

Most Memorable Moment:

The full day in Williamsburg to get around on our own. Loved it. So much to see. Terrific actors in all the plays/skits, etc. The Willard is mis-managed and a big disappointment. The hotel itself is structurally gorgeous, but poor management. Problems there as opposed to other hotels.

review_img

Vieno

Fascinating

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

After all the American history classes in school, I was surprised and pleased to realized how much I didn't know, I had been to Philadelphia years ago but saw so many new things. The trip continued to amaze me. Each stop was filled with history and human interest stories. All the guides were knowledgeable. Bus trips are tiring but worthwhile.

Most Memorable Moment:

I especially enjoyed Jamestown and Monticello: Jamestown because of the archeology, history and human interest stories and Monticello because of the insight into a true American renaissance man!!!

review_img

Peppermint

not worth the $$$

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

In Freedom's Footsteps left much to be desired. We were with the general public crowds @ most stops, including the National Archives with people from other groups pushing & shoving to see documents. Many included meals had limited choices served in very noisy rooms. Not able to hear some local guides when out of the bus. Director unorganized.

Most Memorable Moment:

Great location of Willard in DC. Visiting memorials on our own was worth the extra 3 days we stayed there. We enjoyed last year's American Canyonland Tauck trip very much.

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry that this journey was not so extraordinary as you expected. I know that you have been in touch with our Guest Relations Department, and we look forward to having you travel with us in the future.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

JERRY DAVIS

HISTORY

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

THIS IS A VACATION THAT EVERYONE SHOULD TAKE

Most Memorable Moment:

ALL OF THE HISTORICAL SITES

review_img

DesertRatt

Just one thing......

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Great trip, we had an excellent tour guide but.... they really have to find a way to include Arlington Cemetery in the tour. Also, the new American Revolution Museum in Philadelphia is excellent and I'm sure it will be included in future tours.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to choose one moment, but the WWII, Korean and Viet Nam memorials were all very moving. I must mention that the guides at each stop were very good. The tour of Amish country, the Gettysburg battlefield and the Capitol building in Richmond were greatly enhanced by the quality of the guides. Our 7th Tauck tour and easily one of the best.

review_img

RGrauer

In Freedom's Footsteps

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

Excellent itinerary for the History buff. Highlights include Independence Hall, Gettysburg, Monticello, Mount Vernon, and Washington DC. Tough in the beginning with five hotels in five nights (pack light), but the sights are worth it and you end up with longer stays in Williamsburg and Washington DC plus time on your own. Loved it!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to mention

review_img

Paul Main

In Freedom's Footsteps

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

This was a brilliant consolidation of American political history for two Brits. Philadelphia, Gettysburg, Monticello, Shenandoah Valley, Mount Vernon, Williamsburg & the Washington National Archives were some of the many highlights for us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Current politics played their part, as apart from the US pre-election interest, we heard the very sad news of murder of the brilliant young British MP Jo Cox in the UK as well as the worrying Brexit result. We highly enjoyed our political discussions with other members of the group as well as other folk we met along the way.

review_img

Cookie14

Brits, Rebels, Blues and Greys

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Stunning and challenging introduction to American history. We were a group of like-minded people, who absorbed all the aspects of the War of Independence, Civil War, and the emancipation struggles. We ended the holiday as a close-knit group sad to part. Our Tauck Director briefed us each day and we were enlightened even more by the quality of the guides/docents

Most Memorable Moment:

Gettysburg, the archaeology of the Jamestown Settlement and the history of Colonial Williamsburg - it is too hard to separate them. This was history brought to life. Gettysburg left us charged with emotion, as did the tour of the war memorials on the National Mall in Washington.

review_img

CTLord

In Freedoms Footste ps

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

This was a great trip, even though we had many rainy days. Our Director was a real history buff and that added a great deal. We would highly recommend this trip to anyone who is interested in the civil war and our founding fathers.

Most Memorable Moment:

We particularly enjoyed visiting Montecello and Mount Vernon.

review_img

LeBaronet

Freedom history in depth.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

All you need to know, packed into ten intensive days highlighting the history of the fight for Independence and Civil war, with excellently crafted content.

Most Memorable Moment:

Jamestown ''dig' and our 'day off' giving time to look around Williamsburg re-enactments and history at leisure.

review_img

Talisker

Philadelphia to Washiungton

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

To read the complete story go to http://stevekathytravels.com/sitebuildercontent/sitebuilderfiles/philadelphia-washingtondcjune2015.pdf This was my first trip with Tauck, and I feel it is worth the money. The Tour Manager was very knowledgeable, and the accommodations were great

Most Memorable Moment:

Meeting a survivor of the Iwo Jima invasion in the Marine Corps Museum.

review_img

Pam Marsham

A memorable and informative trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

My first visit to the USA and one I will remember. It was an extremely interesting and informative trip learning about the history of the USA. The hotels were excellent and the coach extremely comfortable. We had a superb tour director and an excellent driver. They gave me the feeling that Tauck was a company that cared for its guests

Most Memorable Moment:

It is hard to choose. The drive through Amish Country with our excellent guide was fascinating. However I particularly enjoyed our day in Williamsburg - it really gave me a feel for what life was like there in the 18th century. I would have liked to have spent another day there. The candlelit dinner there was also most enjoyable.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you found your first trip to the United States such a memorable one! Thank you for travelling with Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

PhyllisPostlewait

Williamsburg & Washington D.C.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

It was one of the best historical trips I have ever experienced. The guides were excellent and knowledgeable about their specific subjects. The accomodations and service were 5 star. the bus was comfortable with plenty of rest stops. I am a vegetarian and my only complaint was the food served in Lancaster and the dinner at Williamsburg.

Most Memorable Moment:

Attending the Candlelight Concert in Williamsburg.

review_img

MCKallie

Williamsburg to Washington DC

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: October 2014

My husband and were 1st time travelers with Tauck. In previous years, I have traveled to 36 countries. I enjoyed Mark, our tour guide more than anyone previously!! If I could add anything to the trip, it would be more on the farm experience with the Amish. I heard this comment from some of the other travelers also. Excellent overall ratings!!!!

Most Memorable Moment:

Gettysburg. It was so moving and I learned a lot about this famous war.

review_img

John Reiss

Great Trip!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2014

If you are looking for a trip that goes back to the beginning of this great nation and steps you through time to understand the battles that have been won to bring us to this moment in time, then this is the trip for you. Our guide, Mark was a wealth of information and made this trip a memorable one.

Most Memorable Moment:

We so enjoyed the tour of the battlefields at Gettysburg. You really have to be there with a knowledgable guide, and we had I think one of the best, James Cole. He truly enabled you to vision the battles that took place there. What a memorable experience!

review_img

Jim Barley

Washington D.C.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

This was a marvelous trip. We got to see so much. And there was probably more to see with so much history, but there is only so much time, right?

Most Memorable Moment:

Arlington Cemetery - My husband served in Vietnam and it was pretty impressive.

review_img

CEckert

Trip of a Lifetime

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

I was amazed at how wonderful the Tauck travel experience was. It was my first time, and even though I knew they would take care of everything once I got to Philadelphia, it was still a wonderful surprise how well I was treated. I had wanted a trip that would show me the history of our country, and Tauck certainly delivered in a big way.

Most Memorable Moment:

Standing on Little Round Top in Gettysburg. Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain is a hero of mine!

review_img

BTallent

Philadelphia to Washington DC

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

Every day of the trip was interesting, educational, fun, and enjoyable. Making new friends with fellow travelers was a blessing. Gloria was a superb Tauck tour director and Rychard was an excellent driver. All our accommodations were great, as were the meals and the pace of the trip. I feel like I just completed an American History course!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many wonderful sites that it's difficult to choose, but I especially enjoyed riding through the Amish countryside. I enjoyed the meal there also. The dinner at Caroline's Tavern in Williamsburg was one of the most entertaining and fun evenings, plus a delicious meal.

review_img

REngler

History and suprise

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

We had no idea how interesting our trip would be so much history in a small area. Beth our tour guide was very knowledgeable and kept us moving from one story to another. As usual the rooms and service at the Hotels were great. We enjoyed the variety of food and places to eat. There was also just enough fee time to see things on own.

Most Memorable Moment:

The most memorable moment for us had to be when we totally surprised a couple the first night at the reception. We have been traveling with Bill and Carol for over ten years but this time they did not know we were going to be there. They walked down the hall and there we were. So being with them all week made the trip even more enjoyable. Thanks

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so pleased you enjoyed your journey! What a great surprise to meet up with your friends!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Aussie mate

Williamsburg & Washington, DC

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2012

This tour was good, it covers a far bit of the Civil war period, the stories our tour director Mark told were very interesting, ( true of course) There is some time spent out in the Amish country side. This tour is about the beginnings of the USA in its darker times, very interesting for people from other counties.

Most Memorable Moment:

On this tour we thought it all faired well, the accommodation was good all round our tour guide was helpful, a very good tour.

review_img

hartsterman

Williamsburg & Washington, DC

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2012

As usual, Tauck always delivers. We booked this trip because we wanted to go to the historical sites of the Civil War, and experience some of our nations history. Beginning in Philadelphia, and taking us to Gettysburg, Amish Country, Williamsburg, and Washington, DC. All were very exciting to experience. Our tour director was wonderful.

Most Memorable Moment:

That is easy for us......no question, Gettysburg. To see and hear what happened there during the days of the Civil War were very emotional for us.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we are very pleased to learn your experinece was a memorable one!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button