TravelerReviews

Red Rocks & Painted Canyons

review_img

pwehr

America's natural beauty needs to be visited.

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

A wonderful Tauck week visiting Arizona's and Utah's Canyonlands. So beautiful to see with new friends, and an awesome tour director and coach driver. Lodging was great, food was superb, and we gained much knowledge of the creation of the canyon surroundings. Our memories are filled with our recent adventure to a place that everyone should visit.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hiking a short distance down in the Grand Canyon, horseback riding in Bryce, float trip down the Colorado River, flying to and viewing Monument Valley up close, sailing on Lake Powell, eating at Bryce Canyon Lodge, meeting new friends, Jeep ride in Sedona, the whole trip was memorable.

review_img

Guitarkathy

Red Rocks and Painted Canyons

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

We took this trip with our 11 year old grandson. We all had a wonderful time. We were lucky we just missed the super hot weather. The hotels were either luxurious or were right in the parks and had a spectacular view. Our grandson loved the Pink Jeep tour and horseback riding, which made us happy.

Most Memorable Moment:

The raft ride on the Colorado River. We saw things we could not have seen from the rim of the canyon.

review_img

StephanieAscari

Best Family vacation ever

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2018

We loved every moment of our tour through the Grand Canyon all the way to Zion. Absolutely wonderful. Our guide was knowledgable and a joy to be with. Her ability to relate to both the adults and children did not go unnoticed. My kids are actually missing her upon our return home.

Most Memorable Moment:

Most memorable moment was flying over and rafting thru Glen Canyon.

review_img

david eskra

Red Rocks and Painted Canyons

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

This was a great family generation trip. We ranged in ages from 9 to 76 and a wonderful time was had by all. The Canyons are majestic and our guide educated us with information on our surroundings. The lodgings were terrific and food delicious. Tauck does not miss a trick. This was our second Tauck and another coming in September. Very happy!

Most Memorable Moment:

Zion Canyon. It is a very special place and it was the favorite of all seven of us. None of us wanted to leave. Great memories.

review_img

Rkomitor

Red Rocks/Red Hot

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

Because of timing...we went on the July 2nd trip...it was extremely hot and left us no choice but to look for AC whenever possible...the bus rides were looong...the food just adequate...and our tour guide did not really engage the kids or encourage introductions...I have been on Tauck family trips before but would not recommend this one...

Most Memorable Moment:

Yes we did have memorable moments but they were pre planned...e.g...scenic plane ride..Lake Powell..Float ride on the Colorado river...beautiful Bryce...lovely Zion...

review_img

CandL

Beyond our wildest expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

From the first day in Phoenix to the last day in Las Vegas everything was fabulous. The high quality of the itinerary (no detail left to chance), the transportation, the lodging, the meals and the Tauck staff (tour guide and bus driver) was amazing. This is a trip of a lifetime and must be experienced. Tauck is the absolute best way to go there.

Most Memorable Moment:

Floating down the Colorado river amid the towering sandstone cliffs.

review_img

Margaret DeFilippo

Wonderful family trip

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Your Bridges Red Rocks and Painted Canyons tour was a wonderful trip for grandparents, children and grandchildren to share. It gave us all great joy to discover the beauty of our amazing country together. Tauck, as usual, did a wonderful job planning it all. Highlights included rafting in the Colorado and trail ride in Bryce. Will be back soon.

Most Memorable Moment:

Rafting

review_img

Ruebob

RED ROCKS and CANYONLANDS

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

My husband and I have traveled with Tauck for 40 years but this is the first time that we took a "Bridges" tour with our 13 year old granddaughter and it was more than we could have imagined. From the very informative and professional tour guide to the wonderful hotels that we stayed in, it was great.

Most Memorable Moment:

The pink jeep ride and the float trip down the Colorado River was awesome.

review_img

Snowday

Red Rocks and Painted Canyons

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

Our first trip with Tauck and we look forward to many more. Through the seamlessly run tour - we were able to relax and enjoy, and see much more than if we had done it on our own. We had an excellent guide and driver, as well as great local guides. Staying at the coveted in-the-park lodges was super convenient. A+ experience and itinerary!

Most Memorable Moment:

Riding the mules in Bryce, rafting down the Colorado River, ending in the Vegas Four Seasons felt like a luxurious mini vacation (we added an extra night)

review_img

THazan

A trip that every grand parent should take with grandchildren

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

This was our first Tauck Bridges tour. We traveled in the month of August when our two grandchildren where of age and out of school. It was a trip well worth it for us and our grandchildren. The opportunity to learn about the geography and the geology of the Grand Canyon was well worth it for all.

review_img

dudley11

Bridges Red Rocks - Rocks

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

Traveling with our grand children and their parents, along with other families with their respective children and grand children, made this trip thoroughly enjoyable for everyone. A wide variety of experiences and the famous red rocks pictures will be lasting memories for all of us. The accommodations were spot on.

Most Memorable Moment:

Rafting down the Colorado River and seeing big horn sheep, and the polar bear dip in the cold river on a hot day.

review_img

Villa Family

Once in a lifetime family experience!!! Simply spectacular!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

This was an amazing trip!! From the moment we arrived at the Four Seasons in Scottsdale, to our last moment in Las Vegas - this will be a trip for the record books! If you want to see the Grand Canyon, Bryce Canyon and Zion National Park, up close and personal, this is the trip to go on as a family!! Nothing short of amazing!!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many memorable moments that it is hard to pick just one. We traveled with our 13 year old daughter and her sisters - 23 and 25. Overall, we all loved rafting down the Colorado River in Lake Powell, the majestic views of the Grand Canyon at sunrise (make sure to wake up to see it), and Zion National Park! Bryce Canyon was great too!

review_img

CalKat

Fabulous trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2016

My husband and I went on this trip last minute without kids. Everyone else on the trip had kids with them, a great mix of parents and grandparents, so we fit right in. We enjoyed all the parks and activities. Our national parks are truly amazing. Great pacing and something for everyone.

Most Memorable Moment:

Rafting through Glen Canyon.

review_img

Cecily E

Bridges Red Rocks and Canyons

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

This trip, enjoyed with two teenage grandsons, was wonderful. The itinerary was well planned without being regimented, and our tour director was informative, pleasant and organized. Three generations of travelers enjoyed each other and it was especially nice to see all the children happy together. A beautiful way to enjoy our country's treasures.

Most Memorable Moment:

Bryce Canyon was breathtaking! In a trip filled with beauty, this stood out for our family. I look forward to another Bridges tour.

review_img

Doug Baker

Red Rocks

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

We spent 8 days in the national parks, including the Grand Canyon, Bryce, Zion and Lake Powell. All were terrific experiences. Lake Powell less so. Accommodations were fair to good, just fair at Lake Powell. As well, there was a lot of down time at Lake Powell that was difficult to fill, as the pool facilities were inadequate, and the service poor.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Grand Canyon is awesome! Bryce and Zion beautiful as well. But, none others compare to the Grand Canyon.

review_img

Matisse1

America's Canyonlands

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

I went on this trip with my Mon and 18 year old daughter. My Mom and I thoroughly enjoyed it. My daughter, however, got tired of getting on and off the bus and getting up early to go everyday. We thought the trip was very well done. We got to see so much. Because of Tauck we were able to stay in great lodges at each of the canyons.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many! For myself, it was the courage to go on the trail ride at Bryce Canyon. Although I have ridden, I was quite nervous about the height. Not to worry, the mules/horses know what they are doing and the guides were terrific! Bryce Canyon was my favorite!

review_img

HealthyEconomist

A whirlwind tour of the Southwest

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

This was the first time I've toured with Tauck. My 9-year old and I had a blast! I was thrilled that we could visit so many well-known national parks, and that special tours were waiting for us at each site. All the kids on the tour played well together. The only downside is that it was a bit too hectic. One less site would have been fine with me.

Most Memorable Moment:

Heading down the Angel Rim trail at the Grand Canyon at sunrise. I wish I had checked a map before we started. We went past the 1st tunnel, but I didn't realize until afterwards that we could have easily made it to the 2nd tunnel and back out before breakfast.

review_img

dor4300

Wonderful trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

My husband and I took our two older teenagers on the Red Rocks and painted canyons bridges trip in June. This was the easiest and most relaxing trip I've ever taken because Tauck took care of all of the details. Our guide was so knowledgeable, enthusiastic, and Fun!! I cant wait to sign up for another Tauck tour. Lots of value added.

Most Memorable Moment:

Flying over Lake Powell and rafting on the Colorado River and riding horses into Bryce Canyon

review_img

NZSki

A fantastic week in the National Parks

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2015

This was our best family trip ever. It was well planned and seamlessly coordinated. I was not sure whether our kids would mix well but they had a great time with the other kids. The scenery was breathtaking. There is a lot of travelling on this tour but our fab tour director was constantly keeping the interest levels up. I highly recommend.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Bryce Canyon for the first time, the view over Lake Powell, and the trip to Monument Valley

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you loved these beautiful National Parks! Thank you for travelling with Tauck.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

slou3buck

Red Rocks & Painted Canyon - Just Excellent!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2014

I took my son with me for a first time visit to the Grand Canyon. I could not have saved for, or experienced a better time. Our guide, (and Ken Burns) gave us just enough historical and anecdotal stories and information to enhance where we were. It started just us two, but ended a big group of friends. Can't wait to book our next vacation.

Most Memorable Moment:

For the first time during our trip, in Zion National Park, it rained. But we learned that when it does rain, you can see waterfalls you can't see any other time. So we hiked in our rain gear and saw something special in the quiet, misty morning. Water fell hundreds of feet, clouds drifted across the canyon and snow fell up high. Wonderful.

review_img

Pjds

Red Rocks and Painted Canyons

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

This was our first trip with Tauck (2013) and it was a fantastic experience. Each day was filled with the perfect balance of amazing sites, educational/fun facts and relaxation. Tauck's Team effortlessly guided us through so many breathtaking experiences which we would never have been able to do on our own.

Most Memorable Moment:

Having never traveled to the canyons or out west before it is impossible to pick one memorable moment when every day Tauck delivered us to another amazing Natural Wonder which words alone cannot express the majesty and awe of the experience.

review_img

lakerman

Best Vacation EVER!!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Tauck did a FABULOUS JOB!!! with organization and time management of the entire trip. Bus rides were from one place to another were planned with great talks by our guide and interesting TV footage of the places we had just visited. The individual tours at each place were planned meticulously allowing us to avoid crowds, and enough time to enjoy!!

Most Memorable Moment:

There were many memorable moments of our trip, but I think we really LOVED the horseback riding the best.The boat trip down the Colorado and flight over Lake Powell were AWESOME!!!

review_img

jim/dan

Painted Rocks and Canyons

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

I took my 10 year old grandson on this trip. He loved it!!! The tour was interesting to him and all of the activities were appropriate for all of the kids - ages 8 to 17. Events were wonderful for all of us. I highly recommend this tour for all grandparents and their grandchildren.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing my grandson's face when he first saw the Grand Canyon!

review_img

MWNP

Family trip Red Rocks Painted Canyons

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2013

Great family experience with lots of different activities from horse-back riding to hiking to floating down the Colorado River! Kids were 9 and 11 at time of trip - the 11 yr old only complaint was that it was very fast paced and not enough time to "just hang out". Loved that luggage and all details were already taken care of!

Most Memorable Moment:

Horse-back riding in Bryce Canyon - fabulous views and thrilling descent down the first part of trail!! I was convinced we were all going to go over the edge!

review_img

gail20

Red Rocks

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Super trip. Enjoyable for kids and adults. Well paced. Children are engaged in activities, grownups too. By the pool and pizza party night all the kids had bonded. There is adequate free time for family interaction. Our kids (7 & 10) loved this trip and can't stop talking about it.

Most Memorable Moment:

Totally the mule/horse ride down into Bryce Canyon. (if you are afraid of heights, think twice) Also don't miss the slot canyon excursion.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you so much for your feedback; we are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your journey to this magnificant region.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

BBerkowitz

Red Rocks and Painted Canyons

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2013

Wonderful trip for both children, teens and adults. Tauck director did an excellent job of juggling the needs and expectations of all ages. We could have been given a little more information regarding the difficulty of the horseback riding in Bryce Canyon. For those of us who do not usually ride 2 hours was way too much especially for grandparents

Most Memorable Moment:

My personal memorable moment was the flight seeing of Lake Powell.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are very pleased you and your family enjoyed you !journey to this magnificent area

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Norman D Goldman

Bonding with Grandchildren

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2013

We brought our three grandchildren together with us - one from California - 11 years old, and two from Maryland; 11 and 13 years old and we all had a wonderful time. Julie, our tour guide, was outstanding and kept all the children busy even on the coach. There were 20 children and 17 adults on this tour. Even with the hot weather the trip was fun!

Most Memorable Moment:

Riding in the Pink Jeeps and taking a 10 seater plane over Lake Powell..My husband riding a mule with the rest of the group.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are you pleased you and your family enjoyed your journey and returned with so many memorable moments!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

John H Family

Wonderful Adventure

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: April 2013

Our family really enjoyed our experience going to the Canyons & especially Zion Nat'l Park. Tauck gave us a first rate experience-staying right on the rims of canyons & inside the parks. Guides were excellent! Before going on this trip, realize there is quite a bit of driving from place to place. It's handled well & our driver was awesome.

Most Memorable Moment:

Driving into Zion National Park and seeing all the once sand dunes now formed into mountainous rocks. Second was hiking through Bryce Canyon-never seen anything like it. Our second trip with Tauck...will keep coming back.

review_img

toady

The West with beauty

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

Bridges Red Rock & Canyon tour was informational without overload. The young adults/children all seemed to find friends to be with. National Parks are a treasure. Traveled with adult daughter & grand daughter (14). Stops were interesting and hotels varied but always clean. Quite a trip for all ages.

Most Memorable Moment:

The flight over Lake Powell was more than I had expected. Rainbow Bridge in the middle of nowhere, among all those rock formations. The view was endless.

review_img

Tom's Mom

Red Rocks & Painted Canyons ~ They ROCK!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2012

This was the perfect trip, with the right mix of information, history, sights, and fun! I would highly recommend going on the optional Monument Valley tour, as it was just an unforgettable experience. None of us wanted to come home!

Most Memorable Moment:

My most memorable moment was hiking part of the narrows in Zion National Park at 6:30am with nearly our entire group. As I turned to shoot a photo of my new friends and all our kids laughing, waist-high in 50-something degree water, I thought to myself "Does it get any better?" It did, when my nine-year-old told me it was the best hike EVER.

review_img

Jim and Linda Baratte

Rave reviews for Red Rocks and Painted Canyons

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2012

Once again, the Tauck experience exceeds expectations. This was our third trip with Tauck but our first Bridges. We appreciated the fine balance between honoring the presence of our ten year old grandson with activities that he and his new peers would enjoy while still keeping sacred the chance that we had to travel with him and create memories.

Most Memorable Moment:

Riding the mule train into Bryce Canyon. The majesty of all the parks we visited was beyond description, but this was a true highlight. We appreciated the Tauck touch of the stay at the Visitor Center while our luggage was taken to the hotel at each park, where we had the privilege of access to the best rooms! Food was surprisingly delicious too.

review_img

Ron Sandler

Red Rocks/Bridges Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2011

Exceptional tour leader; did extremely well in relating to both kids and adults. Our grandson soon became fully involved with other kids on the trip, to the point that all the kids moved to the back of the bus where they could interact without worrying about adult intervention. An active trip with lots of hiking and great scenery.

Most Memorable Moment:

Entrance to Zion was awesome.

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button