TravelerReviews

Legends of the American West

review_img

Medurm

Legends of The West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

This was our first Tauck tour and it was wonderful. Such a variety of activities. Tour director was enthusiastic, well organized and informative. Bus driver was a real part of the team and kept the bus immaculate. The trip was broken up into easy segments with lots of bathroom breaks and photo opportunities. Can't wait to go on another one.

Most Memorable Moment:

Visit to a ranch where we got to go horseback riding, a Buffalo Jeep safari where we got up close and personal with the herd, and a river raft trip down the Snake River.

review_img

Elaine Bickham

Legends of the West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

My husband and I traveled with another couple on this tour. All four of us enjoyed the trip and look forward to taking another Tauck trip in the future. Our director was very knowledegable and provided us with a vast array of interesting facts about the sites we visited. Her sense of humor was great and we felt comfortable and welcome.

Most Memorable Moment:

One of the highlights was staying in the historic Old Faithful Inn. We could actually see the Old Faithful geyser erupt from the window of our room which was very special. The wonderful group we traveled with also added to the enjoyment of the trip.

review_img

GarryR

Treasures of our northern National Parks

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Our 8th trip with Tauck was everything we've come to expect from Tauck. The itinerary was interesting, full of lessons in native American history, geology, geography, flora and fauna. Our travelling companions were delightful to be with throughout. Our tour director and driver were always professional.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Bison traffic jam when about 200 Bison leaped over a fence north of Jackson, WY on their way to cross our path; the afternoon at the ranch with horseback riding, wagon rides, a songteller, and the "taste of WY" dinner; the amazing Buffalo Bill museum in Cody, WY;seeing the rainbow at the Lower Falls in Yellowstone canyon at the perfect time.

review_img

Mags1

Another great trip!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Apart from The Rushmore Hotel in Rapid City, the trip was amazing. The Rushmore wasn’t a pleasant experience. It was full to bursting with tour buses and mealtimes were bedlam. The rest of the tour was fantastic! Our tour director and driver were excellent! Every day brought something exciting and our companions were all lovely too.

Most Memorable Moment:

Too many to pick from but we really enjoyed the day at the TA Ranch, so much fun! The raft on the Snake River was also memorable! Seeing Bison so close up and in such great numbers..wow! So wish we’d got to see a bear but maybe on the next trip! We really enjoyed visiting Cody. The Buffalo Bill Centre was so good!

review_img

SallyAyres

Another delightful tour with Tauck

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2018

Our tour from Rapid City, SD to Grand Tetons was nothing short of amazing. Our guide told wonderful stories as well as highlighting the history and geology of the regions. Thrilling sightings of bison, moose, elk and pronghorns. Fun day on the ranch with horseback riding and delicious meals, and a beautiful float ride down the Snake River

Most Memorable Moment:

We loved the small group of 24 who were so congenial, interesting and fun travel companions. Every day had its memorable moments. Loved watching an entire herd of bison jump a fence in front of our coach to cross the road— nearly 30 minutes of entertainment! Everyone should explore the West! Our Tauck Director and our driver ensured it was pure delight.

review_img

terrykk

Constructive criticism

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Fabulous. Enjoyed every minute. Would like to make a few suggestions. Call me iif interested in hearing about them. My number is on file.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mount Rushmore

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for travelling with us out West. I have asked our Guest Relations Department to contact you regarding your suggestions.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Gary Plotkin

Legends of the American West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Best Trip Ever. I have traveled with Tauck on more than ten occasions and what made this special was the knowledge and enthusiasm of our tour guide and our driver. They both had extensive knowledge of the tour, provided us with extra trips and made substitutions when necessary.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were may memorable events, including the Jeep Safari, Old Faithful, Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse and the TA Guest Ranch. Probably the best was the interplay between all of the guests who traveled together on this trip who were brought together by our tour guide and driver.

review_img

bteerlin

Legends of the West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Our tour director Steve was wonderful (the best we have had yet). The interaction between him and our group was unbelievable. We were always informed as to what to expect and the additional (non-scheduled) experiences were very welcome.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our Tauck Director ensured we saw as much as possible and then some. The views would have been spectacular had it not been for the smoke. The abundance of wildlife was remarkable.

review_img

WGH

Legions of the West - Nice Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Advised that this was not up to Tauck standards, we found this to be true, but staying right in the National Parks was part of the experience. Food was good, not great and service was somewhat slow. Trip required a lot of moving from hotels but was necessary to cover all of the sights and locations. Smoke conditions in August were a distraction.

Most Memorable Moment:

Besides Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse Memorial, visiting the Wild Bill Cody Museum, and the Buffalo Safari were high points. The sights of the Black Hills and Grand Tetons were spectacular. Would also like to commend Darcy from Jackson Lake Lodge activity desk for going out of her way to pick us up after returning late from boat ride.

review_img

RoanneBarron

Legends of the West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

We visited a part of our country that is vast and beautiful. We loved seeing history come to life. Our guide was knowledgeable as well as entertaining. Our driver was an expert. We thoroughly enjoyed the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Viewing the Grand Tetons on the Snake River float.

review_img

MildredMittleman

Legends of America West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2018

Guide and driver were outstanding 5 stars.Grand Lodge,Rapid City : Food was terrible. Mt. Rushmore was very good. TA Ranch in Sheridan. Lunch was terrible. Spent 5 long hours. Ate dinner,also terrible. Holiday Inn in Cody was good ..Rodeo was horrible. Young children, teenagers performing. See "memorable moment"

Most Memorable Moment:

continued from "tell about trip" Stayed in a different hotel 5 days in a row. 4 hotels had no cell phone service, no Wi-Fi, no newspapers, no TV. Yellowstone Hotel had soiled bed linens. Old Faithful INN had sink next to bed. Food,except for Jackson Hole, was unacceptable . Highlights were Mt. Rushmore, Yellowstone and Old Faithful.

review_img

SidneySapakie

First Tauck trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

Not a fan of bus tours. This trip was the exception. The small group made a big difference. Lots of new friends. The trip was seamless. The hotels were very good, the food, not so much. Saw much more than we could have on our own in same time frame. Tour guide and driver, exceptional. Custer Park,Big Horns, Yellowstone, Jackson Hole amazing.

Most Memorable Moment:

Wildlife viewing in Custer Park, Grand Prismatic in Yellowstone, Snake river float surrounded by Teton mountains

review_img

Darlene 2016

room for improvement

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2018

This was a "bucket list" trip. I wanted to see Mt. Rushmore, the Wild West, and Yellowstone. As an experienced Tauck traveler, I knew I would gain access to accommodations not easily secured. I also knew unusual activities would be incorporated into the trip's itinerary. The distance between sights was simplified with a Tauck professional driver.

Most Memorable Moment:

The hotel at the Grand Teton National Park was perfectly positioned for sunrises, sunsets, and day dreaming! The food in the main dinning room was outstanding!

review_img

Margot O'Donnell

Big adventure in the Old West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

My first Tauck trip, recommended by friends, and I hope to go on more. Places we visited were amazing, and everthing about the trip was so well planned as to maximise our time and and allow us to see as much as possible. Our TD and our driver ensured our safety and helped with anything we asked for. All in all an amazing time.

Most Memorable Moment:

Everything was more that I imagined, that said the day at the TA Ranch will stay in my mind for a very long time. Yellowstone, Mount Rushmore and the Rodeo in Cody were places I had only seen in movies. Our hotels were excellent and food delicious. The planning was done with care and expertise. Just "Awesome" as my fellow tour members would say!

review_img

Ron Tessitore

Legends of The American West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Overall trip was good, guide was very knowledgeable. One major issue was that there were no headsets due to an administrative snafu with Tauck. With such a large group on the tour it made it difficult to hear and understand what the guide was saying. No excuse for this to happen

review_img

57 vette

Legends of the American West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

This tour is our 5th with Tauck and once again I must say they really know how to do it right! Fun activities all along the way from South Dakota and Mt. Rushmore to the beauty and wonder of Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons. Our director and driver were a great team spotting wildlife and so knowledgeable of the history and science.

Most Memorable Moment:

So many -- the Buffalo (Bison) Safari was a thrill being so close to the animals yet safe. The Rodeo was a hoot! the TA Ranch was a childhood dream for me (always did love the cowboys). The wonder of Yellowstone, the geysers and boiling pots and the grandeur of the Tetons -- mountains one never tires of looking at -- changing with the light.

review_img

MsHPJ

Exceeded Expectations

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2018

Reviews we read prepared us for the fact that some hotels and dining might not be up to Tauck standards. Aside from a meal or two this wasn't an issue. However, the experiences and the constant scenery on this tour were fantastic. Our guide put everything in context from a historical and cultural perspective. This is a trip well worth taking.

Most Memorable Moment:

There were so many moments. At the top - Seeing the Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone and the falls at Artist's Point. The Raft trip down the Snake River at Grand Teton National Park. The view from the lodge rooms at Grand Teton was worth the upgrade. Watching the colors of the night sky change while relaxing in your room was amazing.

review_img

Lewis Morrissey

Amazing tour of the American West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Thanks largely to our Tauck tour director, this was one of the best tours my wife and I have experienced. Our Tauck Director calmly and clearly spelled out our planned activities for the day and beyond, and handled unexpected developments (e.g. snow delaying our entrance to Yellowstone) with professionalism and courtesy. Very knowledgeable!

Most Memorable Moment:

A visit to the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone.

review_img

Rick1

Not Up To Tauck Standards

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Hotel and food was terrible first 2 days at Custer Resorts Creekside Lodge. Room was musty and food overcooked and dry. Next days the lodging and food got better. Lot of time spent on the coach.

Most Memorable Moment:

Yellowstone National Park, Mount Rushmore and the Grand Tetons were awesome. The food at the T-A Ranch was great. Also liked the Buffalo safari. Would recommend Tauck to a friend but not for this trip. We have been impressed with Tauck on our other 2 trips but not this one. Would tell friends to go on the trip another way.

review_img

K25

JH21

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

This was our first Tauck Tour and our first visit to South Dakota/Wyoming. The tour and area was amazing. We loved the jeep ride in Custer State Park seeing the bison in their environment. Mount Rushmore was breath taking. Our day at the ranch was relaxing; food delicious! We enjoyed staying at the lodges in Yellowstone and Grand Tetons.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Mount Rushmore for the first time - pictures don't do it justice.

review_img

edwardamajher

Legends of the American West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2017

Very positive experience with Tauck. The Director and Bus Driver were excellent. Made the trip more enjoyable. Commend Tauck on the superior selection of lodgings and excursions. Food was very good only negative statement is that on a few occasions the service was poor. But Tauck has no control over that. Overall very good.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Buffalo Safari and the raft trip on the Snake River.

review_img

Wofoosh

Great trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Loved this trip! Staying in Custer State Park was a real joy. Discovering the museum in Cody was a real treat...very nice museum. Yellowstone Park was my highlight. Absolutely thrilled with the tour. Overall a wonderful vacation.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the sights in Yellowstone. Fascinating!

review_img

Geib

Legends of the American West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

Pretty good trip overall that covered a lot of area and scenery. 3.5 stars. Fantastic weather, a fun group and a really good guide who knew a lot of the history of the area and the parks. The buffalo safari was incredible; a lot of time on the bus; the TA Ranch was just OK. Nice accommodations but sometimes spotty food/service.

Most Memorable Moment:

Float trip down the Snake River or the huge herd of buffalo crossing a river

review_img

imalemon

Parks, South Dakota and Wyoming on the Run

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2017

This was a very active trip with little free time. Four one night stays were especially hard. BUT all I can say is WOW! Mingling with Buffalos up close on the Buffalo Safari, Attending a Rodeo in Cody, A private concert of Western Songs, Yellowstone Park, Old Faithful Inn and the Teton Mountains. All incredible, all Beautiful and lots of fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

I really enjoyed the Buffalo Safari at Custer State Park, South Dakota. On this adventure one was nose to nose, almost, with Buffalos. Seeing these animals in their natural herds, hearing them talk to each other and enjoying their grandeur was my memorable moment.

review_img

DavidHill75

Awesome Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

It was an amazing trip and we saw so many things during the eight days. Our tour director's knowledge and experience added an to our experience. I would definitely recommend The Legends of the West tour to anyone who is looking to see Yellowstone National Park, Mount Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park and Teton National Park.

Most Memorable Moment:

Our favorite moments were seeing the buffalo herds and the float trip down the Snake River.

review_img

juliarachel

Almost perfect, with warnings!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2017

An amazing trip, but not for everyone! You're living out of a suitcase, with many one night stands. Long bus rides, even with frequent stops. Our guide was incredible. Her knowledge had no end and she managed to entertain us with wonderful Ken Burns' videos on the bus rides. Three of the hotels had no A/C, internet, or TV.

Most Memorable Moment:

The breathtaking scenery in Yellowstone and Grand Tetons. Actually being at Mt. Rushmore. The rodeo in Cody, Wyoming--a slice of American life. Can't pick one!

review_img

Futrell

Bucket List Tour

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Great Trip, small group, bucket list items included Mt Rushmore, old faithful and the Grand Tetons. Scenery amazing

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing Mt Rushmore, truly stunning

review_img

Joe - Jane

Best of the West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Three brief notes on this special trip: 1. The Buffalo Safari in Custer State Park in the gorgeous Black Hills is a highlight. 2. The Tetons are awesome. Book early and get a mountain view room in the Lodge. It is absolutely worth it. 3. If you are older and not in great health, be careful. The altitude affected a good number of us.

Most Memorable Moment:

Simply gazing at the view from our mountain-view room in the main Lodge at Jackson Lake. Who woulda thunk one could look for so long at one thing?

review_img

KellyG

Legends of the American West - Small Group - Great Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2017

Wonderful itinerary, great Tauck Director (really knew his stuff and was entertaining as well). Small group is the only way to go.

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing 2 mama Grizzly bears with cubs - just amazing.

review_img

J and P

Too fast a pace

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2017

Enjoyed Yellowstone and Grand Tetons. It was too bad we hardly got to see enough of them by wasting our time at the TA ranch and wondering off to the mormon "barns". Looked like filler items to the folks on the tour. Hey, we're 70 plus years old. Bags ready by 7:30 and rooms 10 minute walk to the resort ain't user friendly

Most Memorable Moment:

Grand Tetons at sunset.

review_img

bobmo

T A RANCH DISASTER, JACKSON LAKE LODGE CLEANINESS

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

T A RANCH- THE WEATHER WAS COLD,RAINY AND RANCH HAD NO HEAT. THE LUNCH WAS SPARSE & FOOD WAS COLD, EVEN THE COFFEE! WE WERE THERE ALL AFTERNOON & DINNER WAS MEDIOCRE!! THEY KNEW THE RAIN WAS COMING FOR SEVERAL DAYS PRIOR & STILL NOT PREPARED FOR BAD WEATHER! THIS STOP WAS NOT TAUCK STANDARDS-VERY DISAPPOINTING. JACKSON LAKE LODGE COBWEBS.

Most Memorable Moment:

ENJOYED JACKSON LAKE LODGE,SNAKE RIVER RAFTING GREAT. BEAUTIFUL LODGE BUT CABINS WERE NOT VERY CLEAN-COBWEBS. HAD TO CALL HOUSEKEEPING FOR CLEANING AT 3 PM-COBWEBS ALL OVER CEILING. THE IVY HOTEL WAS VERY NICE (CODY).ENJOYED MT RUSHMORE, CRAZYHORSE ETC. OUR TOUR GUIDE WAS GREAT AND VERY KNOWLEDGABLE AS WELL AS OUR BUS DRIVER.

review_img

Shambarger

Legends of West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

I would rate it 3 1/2.stars. There were many wonderful things about the trip, but also some disappointing things. The day touring Custer State Park, Crazy Horse Memorial and Mount Rushmore was hurried. Day at T A ranch was not good. Food mostly good at all stops. Rooms at Jackson not clean.

Most Memorable Moment:

The view of Tetons from windows at Jackson Lodge

review_img

atmodeen

All Around Great Trip

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: September 2016

We had never been to South Dakota/Wyoming before. My new saying is "You don't know what you don't know". Our tour guide was fabulous. He is a wealth of knowledge. His narrations and explanations just reinforced all that we saw. Our bus driver was great as well. We loved the trip and will book again with Tauck

Most Memorable Moment:

A herd of Bison traveled right through our Hotel grounds on day 1 at Custer Lodge.

review_img

DkMj

Legends of The American West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2016

This tour/trip was an awesome and historical experience with majestic sights. It offered a variety of "bucket list" national park visits and our tour guide added so many bits of history and side points. Every stop seemed to top the last in awe of the sights and wonder with a great mix of activities and fun.

Most Memorable Moment:

Viewing and being present at Mount Rushmore, and seeing Old Faithful. Staying at Lake Yellowstone Hotel was truly a unique & historic experience. The buffalo safari was so amazing.

TAUCK RESPONSE

We are so glad you had an amazing time in this magnificent part of the country! We are so proud to be able to take so many guests to the wonderful National Parks, especially during their 100th anniversary!

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

Hardy

legends of the old west

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2016

While we both enjoyed our trip, some comments are in order1) the TA ranch was way too long and not worth 5 hours time.2) This tour needs to be longer and organized around two or more night stays in fewer cities, to lessen the amount of early morning wake ups and departures AND the number of hours on the bus per day.

Most Memorable Moment:

Watching the sun set over the grand Tetons

review_img

Jackdog7

A Great Trip Out West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2016

Wow! What can I say? this was our first trip with Tauck and we were so impressed we have now booked 2 more,.... so far! Tauck provides various and multiple experiences that you would not think of doing on your own

Most Memorable Moment:

The rodeo and Buffalo Bill Museum in Cody were just great. The visit to the ranch with the Johnson County war tour place was quite interesting. And Yellowstone and Teton Parks were out of this world. Our tour director was most knowledgeable of not only the history of the area but also of the animal and plants...he was fantastic!

review_img

Just Us

Wow: can we say "why did we wait so long to discover the Tauck difference?

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2016

Our fears of group /bus travel were diminished to 0. From the moment we stepped off the plane and was greeted by a Tauck person. Every day came with surprises, great itinerary pleasant smiling guide and our fantastic driver. We were all on time every moment we had "wheels up" Thank you Tauck. We can't wait to travel with you again.

Most Memorable Moment:

So hard to choose but the raft down the snake river, the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone and the architecture of the Old Faithful Inn. Our meal times with our new found travel companions, and our Tauck Director. Everyday her smile and genuine care for each of us.

review_img

AngeloFernandez

Inspirational Reality

 

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

A lifetime of documentaries and photographs to learn about the Great Plains, Rockies, Grand Canyon, and Montana skies paled in comparison to the majesty and breathe of the trip's inspirational experience. The awe-inspiring beauty of our western nation and the walking paths of natives, greats as Lewis, Clark, and Crazy Horse await you. Go for it!

Most Memorable Moment:

First morning at the Creekside Lodge, looking out the window and seeing a herd of hundreds of Bison surrounding us. Once outdoors, we closed within a prudent distance to watch, photograph, and admire them graze, grunt, and pass onto their choice of destination. We were thrilled for the rest of our tour, not expecting more; we were wrong!

review_img

David M

Tauck can do better

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

The scenery was fabulous the attractions are world class. Tour director was great and bus driver was excellent. The hotels and meals ware another issue. Hotels had only 3 nights of good rooms the other 5 nights were subpar. The food also had 3 good days and the other 5 were marginal to not edible.

Most Memorable Moment:

Rafting the snake river. Was a unique experience to enjoy the grand Tetons and the surrounding area.

review_img

deedahs5

Legends of the West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

Beautiful scenery - great locations. Enjoyed all of the stops that we made from Rapid City, SD to Jackson, WY. Have traveled overseas many times and it is refreshing to take a trip in our own United States that was just as beautiful and breathtaking as our oversea's trips. The places that we stayed were super locations.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to say. Loved the buffalos in Custer; Mt. Rushmore; Old Faithful and the other geysers; the Tetons. If I had to choose, I guess I would pick Yellowstone with the Buffalos in the road and all the geysers, steam vents, and various pools.

review_img

Jonijf

A Fabulous Trip!!!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

What a WONDERFUL trip we took with Tauck!!! We could not have been happier or more impressed with the quality of the tour and therefore the quality of Tauck Tours. It was a 5 Star trip in EVERY way, hotels, food, site-seeing, guide and driver. We loved everything about this trip! We will absolutely take another Tauck Tour. Rating: A++

Most Memorable Moment:

The Safari Ride through the Buffalo herd. It was AMAZING!!!

review_img

eporsche

America West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

As usual, Tauck planned an awesome trip to the American West. We lodged in the best places in the area, ate the best food and saw the most important sights for that part of the country. Custer State Park, Old Faithful, Yellowstone, Bryce Canyon and the Great Tetons were magnificent. Made lots of new friends too.

Most Memorable Moment:

There is not just one memorable moment. I think getting so close to the herd of Buffalos on the safari was incredible! But the thermal grounds in Yellowstone were amazing and of course the Grand Tetons were spectacular. Great, memorable vacation.

review_img

maXie B

Cowboy country

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: August 2015

We totally enjoyed our tour and were very lucky to have a congenial group to share experiences with. Our guide was very informative and our bus driver was excellent. However, changing hotels every was a chore. I believe a trip to the badlands should be included. We did it with a private tour at the beginning of the trip.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mount Rushmore was what I most wanted to see. It totally enjoyed the stop in Coty and the Museum. The day at the ranch was pleasurable with evening entertainment as was the show in Coty. We enjoyed the entire experience. *recommendations to friends has two sides: we loved the trip but the one nighters were difficult to recommend.

review_img

evybaby

legends of the american west

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

Our tour guide was excellent. The hotel in Cody,Wy. was excellent, BUT the room where dinner and the following breakfast was served was horrible, as was the food. Prime rib was room temp. at best FOR EVERYONE, all dinners were sent back; then when served again the meat was all well done- obviously nuked to get them hot.Bkfast small choices

Most Memorable Moment:

Mount Rushmore and jeeps in Custer Natl Park. Had major problem with my hotel room in Jackson, Wy. The Tauck Director said she sent notice to home office. Very disappointed I have not received a response to date.I extended my vacation to Aug. 12. I will write a follow up letter in a few days.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have forwarded your comments on to our Guest Relations Department.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

cyoung1

legends of the american west

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

I thought the trip was just average. We spend lots time on the road. The best hotel we stayed at was the Lake View. The other hotels were a disappointing. I felt were lack in security and when asked for additional towels and supplies I was not accommodated. The TA Ranch was a waste of time and worth the stop. Wagon ride/horseback riding was poor.

Most Memorable Moment:

The Teton National Park, but again one day would of been enough.

TAUCK RESPONSE

Thank you for taking the time to write a Trip Review. I have passed your comments on to our Operations team who is always enhancing our tours based on guests' feedback.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

EPKP

Legends of the American West - July 2015

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: July 2015

This was our 4th trip with Tauck and again Tauck delivered an interesting itinerary with a Director well acquainted with this area. Two directions are available for touring this region. Starting in Rapid City SD and ending in Jackson WY gave us Floridians more gradual acclimatization to the altitude change and also saved the best for last!

Most Memorable Moment:

Seeing the vista of the Tetons for the first time from the Jackson Lake Lodge was stunning! Jackson Hole so impressed us as an area that we are seriously considering renting in this area next summer.

review_img

JerryW

The West is Truly Legendary

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We weren't sure what to expect on this trip, but found every moment to be spectacular. Even though we live in the Western US the scenery on this tour can only be appreciated in person; the scale is so big photos can't do it justice. Since we were also born in the west, the openness and big skies let us breath fully and made our souls sing.

Most Memorable Moment:

It's hard to single out one moment so here are some highlights; we enjoyed the Buffalo Safari in the Black Hills. The Horse Whisperer at the TA Ranch was a special treat, not to be missed. Yellowstone is spectacular, but the Snake River Float Trip was a show stopper! As usual , the Tauck Tour Director was so knowledgeable and personable.

review_img

SVB

Legends of the American West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

This was my fourth Tauck tour. We experienced great weather and really enjoyed Mt. Rushmore, Yellowstone, Grand Tetons and the history of the Indians, western settlers, ranchers, Buffalo Bill, etc. Yellowstone geothermal activity seemed like a visit to another planet. Both Yellowstone hotels were great. Did not enjoy Custer State Game Lodge rooms!

Most Memorable Moment:

Driving through Yellowstone and viewing the Yellowstone Grand Canyon.

review_img

Rigs5375

Legends of the American West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

Overall our trip was a disappointment. This was our 14 trip with Tauck and the day at the R-A Ranch was the worst day we ever spent on a Tauck trip. We arrived at the Ranch at noon and had a terrible lunch. By 2:30 all the so called activities were finished and now we had to wait additional 4 hours doing nothing to eat dinner at the ranch.

Most Memorable Moment:

Mount Rushmore, and the Grand Tetons

TAUCK RESPONSE

I am sorry you had a disappointing experience at the R-A Ranch. I have shared your comments with our Operations team who is always striving to improve our tours. We hope you will travel with us again.

-The Tauck Guest Relations Team

review_img

visualmarv

Legends of the West

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2015

We thought the itinerary was terrific except for the T-A Ranch afternoon. After lunch and horseback riding, there was not a great deal to do in between lunch and dinner. OTHERWISE, we loved the trip!

Most Memorable Moment:

Sunrise at the Grand Tetons which the Ken Burns video recommended. Thank you, Ken Burns and Dayton Duncan!

review_img

halffass

The American West: Wow

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: June 2014

The land, the mountains, the parks, the overwhelmingly beautiful sights left us amazed, & grateful to live in such a magnificent country. The tour guide & bus driver were absolutely wonderful, sharing an abundance of fascinating information throughout our trip. And they are so personable--after just a few hours together, we felt like old friends.

Most Memorable Moment:

Hard to choose just 1…a tie between seeing Mt Rushmore, Grand Canyon of Yellowstone, and the geysers at Yellowstone. Plus the sunrise over the Grand Tetons was nothing to sneeze at!

review_img

Owlbe

Treatment like a person, not a tourist!

Overall Rating: 1 2 3 4 5

Verified Review

Travel Date: May 2014

Everything is always superior! Don't let the price scare you---nearly everything is included---tips, admissions, meals and some surprises! You can relax; no thinking and worrying allowed. Worth every penny!

Most Memorable Moment:

Really cannot pick one---everything is fabulous!

AN INVITATION TO

Customize YOUR TAUCK
WEBSITE EXPERIENCE

Tell us a little about yourself and we’ll make sure
you get the most relevant information.

  • I am...
  • New to Tauck

  • A Past Tauck Traveler

  • A Travel Agent

CUSTOMIZE
close-button